We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Variety” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Breeze Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Breeze Resort to your Saves list
Tropical Breeze Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Columbus Blvd, Siesta Key, FL 34242   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

TBR offers a variety of room choices to choose from all conveniently close to Siesta Key Beach and very close to the local eateries. Food, drink and live entertainment.
Our first visit and we were not disappointed. Room was smallest they offer but we didn't mind because we didn't spend much time there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Tropical Breeze Resort. I agree, I don't think guests spend that much time in their rooms, but we do offer many different size rooms and suites. Maybe next time you can stay with us longer and choose a suite with a fully equipped kitchen. But really with all of the restaurants nearby, who cook? Thanks again, hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    125
    42
    33
    27
See reviews for
121
163
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Spent a weekend here, and enjoyed the accommodations. The hotel is actually multiple buildings of different styles, from efficiency rooms to palatial villas. The staff were awesome, and even thought our thermostat broke, they quickly had someone out to replace it and cool us back off. The area and beach were paradise, *and* the hotel was pet friendly. It's typical Florida small town beach, and the motel does not disappoint.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments but more importantly we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again when visiting from Gainesville, maybe next time you can spend more than a weekend at this beautiful location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This place takes up a whole block, close to everything, walking distance to beach, shopping & eating places. You have your choice of what kind of room you want, clean, great service, friendly staff. Pricing is appropriate for what time of year you are staying, so a bargain on off season.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was our third visit to Tropical Breeze and we can't wait to go back! We arrived on Memorial Day and the resort was packed with guests. We reserved a king suite and when we went in, we did not care for it. Being repeat guests, and after staying in the Honeymoon Suite we expected more. It was not a remodeled room. I picked up the phone and the nice girl in the office said that she had only two other suites available and to go take a look. We chose suite 101 near the office, it was small, but clean and lovely. The next day I spoke to Trista and she offered us any other suite that was available as the resort quieted down from the holiday weekend. We were already settled in our room and although it wasn't as big as the other suites we stayed in, again, it was lovely. Tropical Breeze has it all, great staff, the best location, and that private beach. If you need to have a relaxing, beach vacation, this is the place to stay!!!

Room Tip: Go for the King Suite with porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We had two nights here and enjoyed every minute..perfect location and our suite was beautiful..full kitchen..one bedroom..full bath..very very clean and you can't beat the location. We will be back..already making reservations for October ..thanks to the staff..high fives all around!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Tropical Breeze Resort and for your glowing review. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return! Call us directly for a repeat guest rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I forgot some of my groceries that I left in the car. It was 11 pm. The room key was a credit card type that you swipe, and was working fin all afternoon and evening. I put the card in my pocket and went to my car, when I got back the card key did not work. I did not have my wallet, phone or glasses on me. I tried the windows to see if one was open not that lucky. So I walked down to the office that was closed. They had numbers to call but were to small to read without my glasses. I was up all nite Mosquitos and all. It was a living hell. I was furious!!!
Finally the maintenance guy got there at 7am he let me in and I asked him if this happens much and he was honest and told me yes all the time. So when the manager got in she said that the number was posted (I needed glasses to see it) and that she could not refund money for that day so this is fair warning.

Room Tip: Don't do it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We are so sorry that you were locked out of your suite after the office was closed. It happens very rarely and we have an emergency number posted to assist our guests after hours. Someone would have been here in a matter of minutes. With the constant police presence and proximity to the restaurants next door, I'm so sorry that someone couldn't have helped you read the emergency numbers. We will make sure that all of our emergency information is clearly readable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is an interesting little place, with a variety of properties of various sizes within close proximity of the beach and the shopping and restaurant areas. This is easily one of the most beautiful beaches in the world and it is literally a 5 min walk away from the resort.

Because I stayed at this place 20 year and loved it then and have now returned, I wanted to be able to give it a higher rating. But while we found our accommodations comfortable, I think I struggled with a couple of things. First, the overall condition of our unit felt a little dated and/or worn. Not in disrepair, but not quite as "fresh" as it could have been either. For example, the grout in the shower stall was stained with a bit of mould in the corners, not a lot, but still it could have been cleaner. And our bath towels looked they had passed their expiry date a while ago and/or could have used a good hot water wash with bleach.

The efficiency unit was stocked with everything we needed, pots and pans, utensils etc. including a toaster and a blender and a bottle opener too. The stove was a good size and so was the fridge. The air conditioning was excellent and so were the three ceiling fans.

The courtyard was really nice but I also felt that the walk ways good have used a daily sweep from the housecleaning or grounds staff. The fact that they did not get swept during the 4 days we were there was rather surprising to me.

Oh, and the pool was really nice. The kids and I really enjoyed taking a dip in the pool after a swim at the beach.

As for customer service, the ladies at the front office were professional and efficient at check in, but not overly friendly or very welcoming either. I thought maybe I'd caught them at a bad time, but they were equally cool when I went to get beach towels and at check out. Maybe I was spoiled by Disney's customer service on this trip, but the ladies in the office could take a lesson or two from the Disney folks for sure.

I really like Tropical Breeze Resort. It is in a perfect location, close to the beach and everything else you need in a "beach holiday". And the resort itself has a lot of potential. I'd definitely consider going again too, but I hope that they will pay attention to some of the finer details in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Tropical Breeze Resort. I appreciate your comments. You will be happy to know that guests' suggestions don't go unnoticed and we are doing exactly what you pointed out, we are updating all of our units so everything will be "fresh" and not "dated". You can feel confident when making your future reservations that the items mentioned have been addressed and corrected. Thanks again for your continued patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Breeze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Breeze Resort

Address: 140 Columbus Blvd, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Breeze Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your ideal choice for Sarasota & Siesta Key Beach Hotel and vacation rentals, the Tropical Breeze Resort on Siesta Key provides lodging directly near Siesta Key Beach. Choose from our unique accommodations featuring efficiencies, one bedroom and two bedroom suites with full kitchens. We're also "pet friendly!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tropical Breeze Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Breeze Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Breeze Siesta Key
Tropical Breeze Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Breeze Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.