We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Breeze Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Breeze Resort to your Saves list
Tropical Breeze Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Columbus Blvd, Siesta Key, FL 34242   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights recently for a beach break. The location is excellent, being only a minutes walk from the centre of Siesta Key village and a five minute walk from the end of siesta key beach. It is at least a mile from the beach facilities around the life guard stations further down the beach. The staff were friendly and the rooms offer good value for money. I stayed in a small studio which had a kitchen and bathroom which were clean.

Overall recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Tropical Breeze Resort. We appreciate your comments and hope that you will visit us again during your next visit to the U.S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    126
    43
    33
    27
See reviews for
123
164
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed in the King Suite. Had a full kitchen (but bring pots, pans and utensils if you wish to cook).

Pros:
The room was very comfortable and clean with a nice screen porch. Each section of rentals had an exterior common area with BBQ grills, and a tiki hut type of shelter. We chose Tropical Breeze based on location as it is literally located within a couple of minutes (walking) to Siesta Village. The other benefit is the quick walk to the beach. We stayed four days and never used our vehicle.

Cons:
Three pools but all three are extremely small.....Very small. They also needed to be cleaned. I could see if it had been busier, the pools would have been usable by adults if there were more children. Luckily, the Gulf in this area is a great place to swim so most of our time was spent in the ocean verses the pools.
The grounds were landscaped in a tropical theme with plenty of brick pathways. Unfortunately, the grounds do not appear to be a priority.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the Tropical Breeze Resort and will likely return to the same place.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 1-bedroom King Suite. The couch is also a sleeper so two children or two adults co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Tropical Breeze Resort on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I will address your comments regarding the amenities in the suites. I'm sorry if you were missing items. All of the suites are to be fully equiped with plenty of pots/pans/utensils for cooking. We appreciate your business and hope to see you on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Siesta Key is a perfect place to enjoy a beautiful beach and a sweet small town where you can walk to most anything you want to do. Tropical Breeze is the perfect place to enjoy this town from. The rooms are very nice, several pools to choose from, and your own special spot on the beach with umbrellas and beach chairs, set up every morning. We loved it! The rooms are not right on the beach, so the price is right, but you are only a block away from it. Then another couple of blocks from the hot spots in the village for shopping, eating and drinking. The staff was excellent, and they have lots of rooms with kitchens in various configurations, so lots of options.

Room Tip: Call them to discuss exactly what you want & they will help you find the best fit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments about Siesta Key and the Tropical Breeze Resort. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monkton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have vacationed here for the past 10 years in various units. We love the units with the screened porches. Tropical Breeze offers the best location on the Key. One can take a short walk to the Village for restaurants, shopping, grocery, bars, etc. The beach is an even shorter walk. We like that the units are located in a residential area and not in a gated resort. On the downside of that positive is that when the bars close the morons who have stayed until closing then decide to visit the beach in the middle of the night. Unfortunately, they're not there to quietly watch for sea turtles. Usually, those activities are limited to holidays thankfully. Jose, Manager of Maintenance, is such a hard worker and the master of customer service! Housekeeping, we have Sylvia, is always accommodating and pleasant. Tropical Breeze feels like a second home to us. And pet friendly too!!!

Room Tip: The units with the screened porches are our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Wow, 10 years at the Tropical Breeze Resort! We really appreciate your continued support of our resort. We love to welcome back our repeat guests! I'm sure you have seen some changes over the years and we continue to upgrade the property. Thank you for staying with us again and again. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I was not sure we were going to like it here, but it grew on me with each day. The biggest negative was the sofa bed. You could feel the springs in the ultra thin mattress. I asked for blankets (which I never received) to try to pad the mattress. Jose who seems to be everywhere on the property brought us a mattress pad. It helped a little. Jose is the hardest working employee we ran into all week. Another negative is having to check out beach towels at the front desk. I don't think anyone is it itching to steal these shabby, discolored towels. The positives were the central location to the restaurants and beach. They were both about a block away. We stayed near the pool house. The pools are really small. Our pool at our house is larger. The rooms are clean. I would suggest a broom and dust pan in each room. The floors tend to get sandy.

Room Tip: We stayed in the green building, room 137
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback. We are constantly making improvements to the rooms, in fact, we just replaced all of the mattresses, but we will look at the conditions of the sofabeds. I will pass on your kind words to Jose, he really provides our guests with the ultimate service. Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Having been and stayed in Siesta Beach close to Sarasota, FL we liked the area and the
incredible Siesta Key Beach voted #1 beach in all of America in 2011. After spending a good deal of time looking at various resorts and reading others reviews on the internet we decided to book for six days at this resort. We were not sorry we did. It was low occupancy when we were there so we enjoyed the quiet and did not have anyone else booked near us during our stay.The staff was excellent and friendly. We had beach chairs at the beach each morning but you had to be there before 8:30am or they would all be taken quickly. Our room was clean and adequate and had a large screened in patio which we enjoyed. The convenience cannot be beat one block
to the beach and a block or two in the oposite direction to all of the restaurants and night life available on the Siesta Key strip. The morning comp breakfast was nice as it offered in addition to coffee and pastires fresh fruit and juices If there was any negatives they would be questionable noise level during high occupancy of the different sections of the resort complex. It is pet friendly. When we went to a particular pool each afternoon of which there are three pools
there was a dog left alone in a unit on the second floor overlooking the pool and it never stopped
barking each time we were at the pool. When we arrived the refrigerator in the room was frozen over quite badly and we had to defrost it and then was able to have and make ice in it.
One of the sections of the complex consisted of unit with screened in porches in a row. I have
read other reviews that at night this would be a problem with other occupants next door who might sit out late and talk and make noise. If we stay again at least we know the lay of the land.
Our overall rating - Very Good value and an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Try and avoid units in a row that have screened in porches and mostly avoid being booked next to a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Tropical Breeze Resort! We appreciate your feedback. We are always trying to improve our services, and I think we need to review the beach chair situation. Unfortunately we can't put out enough chairs for all rooms due the city restrictions. But, I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was accommodating! Please come back the next time you are visiting beautiful Siesta Key!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My friend and I went to Siesta Key for our annual girl's trip, and we stayed at Tropical Breeze Resort. Overall, I think it is a good hotel. We stayed in room 110, and it was perfect for us. The couch bed that my friend slept on was not the most comfortable, but the bed was comfy and the room was clean and comfy enough for what we needed it for. It was really nice having a kitchenette, and we had a picnic table with a giant tiki umbrella in the common area outside of our room. The hotel's locations is awesome, and one of the main reasons we will absolutely stay here again. We were ridiculously close to the village (we walked everywhere), and the beach is a short walk in the opposite direction. My biggest complaint is the beach chair/umbrella situation. My friend and I found it to be quite stressful that we had to be at the beach at a certain time to reserve one of the five umbrellas (and I absolutely needed one because I had sunburn from two days before). The man that got the umbrellas and chairs is very nice and personable. Our housekeeper was also a very nice girl, and very pleasant to talk to. The hotel itself was very quiet, and relaxing. We will definitely be returning, as we really did have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Location, Location, Location!! Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We appreciate your comments about our accommodations and friendly staff. We appreciate your business--Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Breeze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Breeze Resort

Address: 140 Columbus Blvd, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Breeze Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your ideal choice for Sarasota & Siesta Key Beach Hotel and vacation rentals, the Tropical Breeze Resort on Siesta Key provides lodging directly near Siesta Key Beach. Choose from our unique accommodations featuring efficiencies, one bedroom and two bedroom suites with full kitchens. We're also "pet friendly!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropical Breeze Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Breeze Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Breeze Siesta Key
Tropical Breeze Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Breeze Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.