We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach bound” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Breeze Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Tropical Breeze Resort to your Saves list
Tropical Breeze Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Columbus Blvd, Siesta Key, FL 34242   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Siesta Key
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beach bound”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Tropical Breeze is a typical beach resort in a town full of condos. I'm glad they are there. It's one of the few places on Siesta Key where you can just stay for the weekend (most places want you to stay a week or more). It's located steps from the town center and the beach. My only complaint is that some of the units really need some updating and renovation. It's not a cheap place to stay so one would think they could work on some upgrades. I do like the units with the kitchens and I will continue to stay here when visiting Siesta Key because of all of the pluses which still outweigh the negatives.

Room Tip: Get one with a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Tropical Breeze Resort! Your comments are always appreciated. Good News.....we are updating some of our units near the beach beginning in April! We continue to upgrade various units all throughout the year. So, come back and stay with us again and again! We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    116
    39
    30
    26
See reviews for
115
151
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was our first time staying here as it was a recommendation from a very good friend. we had a nice room with a view of the beach, so watching the sunsets was fantastic, and the soft, sugar white sand on Siesta Key is just beautiful. The staff at the resort were all very friendly and responsive to our request's. This is a place where you can just park your car once you arrive and just walk to everything, including all sorts of bars and dining establishments and convenience stores as well. We did go in February, which I won't do again, as the place was jam packed with people from Canada, all over the northern U.S. and Europe. Now I don't have anything against any of these folks having a great time here in my home state, it's just that I prefer to go in the middle of the summer when it is much less congested and I don't mind our summer heat. I have already booked another stay for May of this year and will probably go back again in July or August. I love the resort and do highly recommend it to anybody who wants to be so close to a wonderful beach.

Room Tip: Tell the staff that you want to see the beach from your room and you will be closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, Tropical Breeze Resort. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon.....maybe after high season is best! We are so conveniently located, but it's true, Siesta Key Village is always busy in February and March. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I do not recommend this place. Nice, friendly staff, but that did not make up for the physical plant and its deteriorated condition. The lack of privacy was a serious drawback. Screened patio was next to neighbors and we could hear all of their conversations, even when they were inside their room.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. No privacy. Roaches in bathroom were a definite negatrive. Pools were about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Tropical Breeze Resort. I'm sorry if the lack of privacy was an issue during your stay. The units with the screened porches are the most sought after, however they are right next to each other. We appreciate your comments and hoped that you enjoyed your time on Siesta Key.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirton, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I spent a week at the Tropical Breeze Resort and was very pleasantly surprised at the beautiful resort as I booked it online and knew nothing about it. I booked a standard room as I am a single traveler and was pleased at the cleanliness of the room. The walk to the beach was short and enjoyable and my room was situated on the side of the office. My room was located on the street behind the Village where there is an abundance of restaurants and shops, there was even a small grocery store. I never had to move my car during my entire stay. I would recommend this resort with the cute cottages to anyone who is looking for a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us at the Tropical Breeze Resort. It's hard to know what you are going to get when you book online. I'm glad that you appreciated our unique resort and it's great location. A car is definately not a necessity here. Please come back and stay with us again when in the Sarasota area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeastern US
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

If you want to stay in a modern hotel, do not go here. You will be unhappy. If you are willing to put up with some flaws in return for an excellent location, friendly service, and other plusses, do stay here. There are good and bad points to this place. It is old-style and looks like it may have last been updated in the 60's. We had a one bedroom suite. The bedroom was tiny but on the plus side, there was a full kitchen and plenty of space in the kitchen/living area for two people. The bedroom had no comforter or bedspread, just a flimsy blanket. On the plus side, the heat and air conditioning worked really well. The floors were none too clean, but there were plenty of big soft towels. The location was perfect, one block to either the beautiful beach or to a number o restaurants and shops. The mattress was terrible but it was nice and quiet in the suite. There are a few things that could be done inexpensivley to improve this place. Add hooks to the doors or walls in the bathroom and bedroom, hang a shower organizer, put reading lights over the bed, and hang a mirror in the bedroom with a shelf below for those of us who put on makeup (there was only one mirror in the entire suite). And please cover the bed. Beds look so sad with only a cheap blanket. Upgrade the mattress. Mop the kitchen floor! And keep being as polite and friendly as you are.

Room Tip: This resort has a variety of rooms and suites. Ask for a good description.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We really appreciate your comments and will address some of your concerns immediately. I think it goes without saying that every bed deserves a comforter/quilt etc. Housekeeping must have removed the quilt and it wasn't put back on. We will also look into the other items you mentioned, our goal is to make our guests comfortable during their stay and I apologize for inconveniences your experienced. I hope that you will stay with us again when in the Sarasota area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort lauderdale, FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here to attend a wedding. I wasn't sure what to expect as all the reservations were made for us. We had a one bedroom suite with full kitchen and livingroom. Absolutely loved the location! A short walk to the beautiful beaches of Siesta Key as well as Siesta Village. Once we parked the car we never had to drive anywhere. It's the perfect place for a relaxing beach trip. Our room was very clean and housekeeping did a great job of making sure we had everything we needed. It is not a luxury hotel, so if you are expecting that type of experience, this may not be the right place for you. The area is beautiful and clean with great restaurants,bars,shopping within walking distance. Our unit had a little BBQ area in the courtyard for outdoor cooking. The full size kitchen made it great for storing food for the beach. We will definately be staying here again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of the Tropical Breeze Resort. You summarized our resort beautifully.....not the Ritz but we provide clean comfortable rooms, friendly service and the best location between the Gulf of Mexico and Siesta Key Village. We look forward to your return to the West Coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed 2 nights here for a mini getaway before he starts spring training in Clearwater. It was excellent. I didn't know what to expect because yes, the reviews are all over the place. We stayed in 172. It was like a mini apartment with dishes, microwave, fridge, coffee maker with coffee, dining room table & a separate bedroom (king size) and bathroom. The room was very clean and neat. We were a 2 second walk to the beach. Yes, you need to wake early to get chairs - but there are also always some chairs left on the beach that were unoccupied to use which was nice. The beach wasn't crowded and it seemed almost private. If you walk a ways down towards cresent it's VERY over populated and not as nice. This was PRIME location. Walk to the beach and walk to the market, restaurants and shopping. The staff was very nice. We will def be back. For the price - you can't beat the location. For people who compain that things are "outdated" get over it..... If you want fancy and brand new- stay at the Marriott. This is a true gem/beach find. We will spread the word and def keep coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your positive review! I am very happy that you enjoyed your getaway at the Tropical Breeze Resort. It's true, we are nothing fancy, but we provide clean and comfortable accommodations our location can't be beat! I'm glad that you appreciate our little "slice of heaven" and look forward to seeing you again when visiting Siesta Key!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Breeze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Breeze Resort

Address: 140 Columbus Blvd, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Breeze Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your ideal choice for Sarasota & Siesta Key Beach Hotel and vacation rentals, the Tropical Breeze Resort on Siesta Key provides lodging directly near Siesta Key Beach. Choose from our unique accommodations featuring efficiencies, one bedroom and two bedroom suites with full kitchens. We're also "pet friendly!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tropical Breeze Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Breeze Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Breeze Siesta Key
Tropical Breeze Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Breeze Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.