We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tale of two owners.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Breeze Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Breeze Resort to your Saves list
Tropical Breeze Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Columbus Blvd, Siesta Key, FL 34242   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“A tale of two owners.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

After staying at this hotel I can see why the reviews for it are all over the place. The hotel has two owners and they redo the hotel differently. I got an excellet one bedroom suite with a full kitchen and living room. The hotel room is more like a small house. It was really nice. I would get that room again if I could. (they do not let you request room numbers) I saw other small rooms and did not like them as much. My room was smell free. My friends stayed there for one night and I did not care for the way thier room smelled. The hotel allows dogs. Some of these dogs bark all day and night. The main pool deck was under construction. It looked nice. The jacuzzi was broken. We could not go to the beach due to the worst red tide in history. There were thousands of dead fish on the beach. That had nothing to do with the hotel at all but the deck of the pool being under construction and the jacuzzi being broken meant there was no need of unpacking a swimsuit at all. This hotel has the best location between Siesta Key beach and Siesta Village. The Village is loaded with excellent restuarants, bars, cafes, shops, I could go on. I just think the hotel could be better if all the rooms looked as good as the one I had. Oh they have this crazy thing that you have to call the front desk the night before to get a beach chair. Then the next morning you have to get the beach chair by 8:30am! I know crazy right? How do I know the night before that I want to go to the beach and who wants to get up on thier vacation to get the beach chair by 8:30am? Why not just leave two chairs on every porch? This way people will have a beach chair. They also do not have enough chairs around the pool. All this said I would stay there again if I was in the Siesta Key zone. The people that work their are really nice and they try hard to make you happy with the rules they are left to work with.

Room Tip: Would leave you a room tip but they do not let you request a room number, so why bother?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Tropical Breeze Resort. I'm so sorry that you were here during Red Tide. It's such a nuisance and I know it's a real inconvenience to our guests who are looking for the wonderful beach experience. We appreciate your feedback on some of our policies.. Our main goal is to provide our guests with the best customer service and guest accommodations in a relaxed atmosphere. I hope that you will visit us again when in the Siesta Key area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    136
    44
    34
    27
See reviews for
134
169
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights, great location. The staff were really friendly, and the apartment was very clean. The furniture could use some updating, but for the price and location, you simply can't complain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Tropical Breeze Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate your comments and hope that you will visit us again when looking for a vacation spot on Siesta Key!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I love Tropical Breeze. We have made it a summer tradition with friends and family. The location is great and prices affordable. I love that is feet away from the beach. I will recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our first stay here and we will definitely return!
Great location in Siesta Village and very friendly front desk staff. The room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable and the facilities were adequate.
We were only there one night, but wish we had made it longer

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkesburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This resort is very nice. The staff is always pleasant and accommodating. They are very welcoming of our pet and the rooms are very nice. We have stayed 3 times in as many years and have had an overall wonderful stay each time. They have beach lounge chairs and umbrellas you can reserve which is great! The area of the beach, just a short walk from whatever room you get, is private and they are so close to everything in the village. Great place!

Room Tip: Reserve your chairs and umbrellas as soon as you can, they go fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumont, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Excellent rooms you could easily live comfortable in for weeks at a time. The cottages are located perfectly in walking distance to the beach to one side and the main strip with all the bars and restaurants on the other side. Screened patios as well make a very comfortable atmosphere in the mornings. The bed was a little too soft but this resort is great and we want to go back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My first experience at Tropical Breeze was last September and it was marvelous. The room was spacious, the location spectacular with a short walk to the pristine beach and the service exceptional. Having had such a wondrous experience the first time we decided to return for a well deserved Christmas break. What a difference. For the same price we were placed in cramped quarters: the bed was shoved against the wall, you could not access the closet without closing the bedroom door, the "kitchenette" did not have any space to put the coffee pot much less prep food AND the TV was shoved up over the top of the refrigerator!
Despite my protests the front desk said only that there are no guarantees for room
/bed size and there were no alternatives available.
So, if you are ONLY looking for a good location and care not for the comforts of sleep and food, welcome home. If you want a guarantee of comfort you will have better luck at the Las Vegas slots.

Room Tip: Be sure you stay OUT of a low 100 numbered room (100 - 110)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
2.7 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#4 of 11 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,546 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key
0.2 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#11 of 11 in Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort Siesta Key
2.7 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
2.0 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Breeze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Breeze Resort

Address: 140 Columbus Blvd, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
#7 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Breeze Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your ideal choice for Sarasota & Siesta Key Beach Hotel and vacation rentals, the Tropical Breeze Resort on Siesta Key provides lodging directly near Siesta Key Beach. Choose from our unique accommodations featuring efficiencies, one bedroom and two bedroom suites with full kitchens. We're also "pet friendly!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Tropical Breeze Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Breeze Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Breeze Siesta Key
Tropical Breeze Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Breeze Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.