We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place...Nice Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captiva Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Captiva Beach Resort to your Saves list
Captiva Beach Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   6772 Sara Sea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Siesta Key
Franklin Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Place...Nice Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Nice Place..Nice staff!

We like this place. We had about 50 of our family come in from NJ, Tampa, and Miami for a family vacation , to celebrate a dear cousin's 50th B-Day.
The place is kept very clean. The rates were very reasonable. The kitchen and bath areas do need updating but we understand that this is in the works.

The staff, Sandy and her team of Debra, Ben, Eryn, Anthony, Rufus, George and Rebecca tended to our every need and were very friendly and responsive. We would again like to thank you for your service and making my family's stay great!

We would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptivaBeachResort, General Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks so much for all the kind words .Tha staff and I also had a great time with you and your wonderful family and we cannot wait for the next event with all of you. Let us know when you need another reservation, S Zaccari G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    74
    28
    21
    13
See reviews for
79
114
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Siesta key is a great place to get away and hotel was very quiet but the room Is very dated and bed was horrible. Think 1960's or 70's cabinets and stove and bathroom. Bathroom had peeling wallpaper or hole in plaster not sure which and hole in base board by shower. Never saw any bugs so they must have sealed it well from the outside. Kitchen furnishings were lacking.... One coffee cup, one bowl one spoon, and coffee grounds from previous guest was still in coffee maker which really makes you wonder how sanitized the kitchen was before we arrived. The kitchen sink faucet barely delivered a stream of water so again it makes you wonder how well things are getting cleaned. Never had hot water no matter how long anything ran. Best we could get is luke warm. Someone needs to investigate shower at beach. Very strong order of waste water effluent coming from shower...with all the heavy rain maybe there is a leak??

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptivaBeachResort, General Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks so much for youy response to trip advisor. We are really sorry you had a bad experience at our hotel We are updating the hotel right now and things should be awesome if you choose to return. We hope you give us a second chance please let us know when you call that you are return guest. Thanks, S Zaccari G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had a great stay here! We stayed in room 20, and I must say our room was very clean and neat the entire time! "The Big Show" kept our room very clean and she was so sweet and polite 2 us during our stay!!! We will be back next year!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
ShannonBaby1, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments. I am so pleased to hear that the housekeeping team and the Big Show were able to meet your needs. Thank you again for being our guest and we will see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband, 3 girls and I enjoyed our stay. The value of the Captiva is worth the trip from GA to Sarasota. The Big Show and rest of the staff... Very sweet! Comfortable, clean and kitchen is equipped. We walked to the beach via private path 3 mins time every morning. They provide u w a map of the area, Papaya brand toiletries and extra towels. Grill and pool on site.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Jessica F, Thank you for your review. I am so happy to hear that your family had such a good time. The Staff really does strive to make sure each guest receives the guest services that they deserve. I will make sure to give our team a pat on the back. The Captiva Beach Resort really is in a perfect location. I am glad that you and your family were able to explore our beautiful sun kissed beach. We do thank you again, and we hope to see you sometime in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples fl
Level Contributor
192 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I had a nice weekend at The Captiva motel. Yes, "resort" would be a stretch as it is a 60's style motel. Drive right up to your room if someone hasn't taken your assigned spot. Parking is ridiculous there, and it was amusing watching the front desk clerk try to sort things out when a car parked in the wrong space and the owners could not be found. Stayed 2 nights and no room service. Had to go to the front desk to get a clean set of towels. Shower drain clogged so dirty water up to my ankles. Told the front desk the first day and they said they'd make a note of it but nothing done.

Yes you do have a coffee maker in your room, but bring your own coffee and fixings, they don't provide anything. One of the workers, "The Big Show," was very helpful and a pleasure to speak with, but to many annoyances with the room to rate it better than average. Beach is a short walk away and bring your own chairs as I believe guest have to rent them. Might go back, the price was right, but manage expectations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Mrfuni, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our Resort is a bit older, but I am happy that you were still able to appreciate its unique charm. We truly do appreciate your comments and will be sure to let upper management know your thoughts on our guest parking. I am pleased to hear that you will be one of our return guests, and we look forward to impressing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed in Room 29 which was a 2 bedroom unit, one bedroom had king size bed with tv and closet and another bedroom was smaller but had a queen size bed. There was a nice size kitchen as soon as you walk in to your left and then a nice size living room/dining room area. The bathroom was bit small for sharing with ~4 people, but it was fine. Shower water pressure was top notch and hot water did no run out. The place was very clean and the beds were very comfy.

There was seating outside the unit in a small courtyard, which was nice. The walk was less than 5 minutes to the beach. There is also pool nearby.

There is parking for one car per unit. Within walking distance there is a 7/11, drugstore, and a few places to eat, but overall you will need a car to get to siesta key village, or you can take the free (tips only) taxi.

My only complaint is that the resort charges a rental fee for umbrellas and beach loungers. Overall a fantastic stay. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
KAT3715, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your glowing review. I am so happy to hear that your overall stay was fantastic. Our home sweet home room 29 really is spacious, and has everything you could possibly need during your stay. The housekeeping team really does do their best to keep our resort looking beautiful and clean. The courtyard seating really is a nice touch, and I that you were able to explore the key while you were here. We do thank you for being our guests and we hope to see you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a great couple of days. Our room was very tidy and big enough for our needs. The staff was very very helfpul and friendly. Especially Eryn did a great job and helped us a lot! Hope we can come back soon!

Regards from Germany!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Georg L, Thank you for your review. I am thrilled to hear that you had a great stay. The Captiva Beach Resort has a large variety of different room types, and I am pleased that you were able to find the one that fit your needs. The staff really does go out of their way to make sure each guest has a good time. Thank you again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Captiva Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captiva Beach Resort

Address: 6772 Sara Sea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Captiva Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Captiva Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captiva Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Captiva Beach Siesta Key
Captiva Beach Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captiva Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.