We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay food. Poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LeLu Coffee Lounge

LeLu Coffee Lounge
5251 Ocean Blvd,, Siesta Key, FL 34242
+1 941-346-5358
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 35 Restaurants in Siesta Key
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Cuban, Vegetarian, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: LeLu Coffee Lounge is a coffee shop, bar, and restaurant all in one. We are a retro, surf inspired cafe serving coffee from around the world, Cuban Coffee, Cafe con Leche, Fresh Fruit Smoothies, Hot, Iced or Blended Lattes, Fresh Brewed Iced Teas, a wide selection of Hot Teas, Coffee free Frappes, Handmade Sodas, and Fresh Squeezed Lemonade. We have a full breakfast menu featuring our Costa Rican, Stuffed Blueberry & Mascarpone French Toast, Egg White Power Omelette's, Breakfast Samiches, and all the traditional menu items you would want. We also have a lunch/dinner/small plates menu featuring our Cuban with Black Beans & Rice & Sweet Plantains, Blue Burger Sliders, Baha Fish Tacos, Mahi Sliders, and a Fresh Grilled Fish Selection with Veggies and Rice. You can also find specialty cocktails such as the Espresso Martini & Chocolate Martini, our signature Strawberry Basiltini & Mango Basiltini, and Margarita's made with Fresh Lime Juice and Agave. We have a Boutique Wine list and serve bottled beer as well. Want to try surfing or paddle boarding? We have those too, for rent or for sale! There is something for all ages and walks of life at LeLu. We can host parties large or small, catered or not, any time of the day or night.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Okay food. Poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I stopped in for some coffee and 3 breakfast sandwiches. The food took over 30 minutes to come out (2 egg breakfast sandwiches on bagels & 1 bagel with cream cheese). When it finally can out, it sat on the counter for another 5 minutes. The food was okay but not worth a 30 minute wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    32
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Do Not Waste Your Time or Money!!!! Rude, rude, rude!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We just stopped by for a coffee and I cannot believe what an unpleasant experience it was. The coffee guy was not helpful at all, very rude and could not be bothered. My husband spilled his coffee and it was obvious he spilled it because it was all over his shirt. When I asked for another coffee and explained to the coffee guy whst had happened, the guy CHARGED us for a new one. Frankly the coffee was ok nothing to write home about. Better coffee, better service ANYWHERE but here!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeLu C, Owner at LeLu Coffee Lounge, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for visiting LeLu on your trip and I apologize for your less than pleasing experience. LeLu is a great place to visit and relax; sometimes it takes a while for me to figure out employees who are a good fit and who are not. The person you are referring to is no longer with us, parting on good terms, we realized he and LeLu were not a good fit. He is a great person but best suited somewhere else. As far as charging for a spilled coffee, it is policy to charge for items we sell, as do most places. We are in business and must pay our expenses as well. Please re-visit LeLu on your next trip, hopefully we will be able to change your mind! Travel well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Brew on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Their coffee is so good. Get up, get a to go, and then go shelling. They have awesome egg sandwiches too, if you want a lighter breakfast. If you like your java, this is the only place to go.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty Breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Eggs, plantains and rice and beans should be on every breakfast menu! Enjoyed my breakfast. And the Caramel Wave coffee drink- get it blended, its delicious!
Fiance had the Monte Cristo which he said was awesome.
Will be back on next trip to Siesta!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Absolutely Incredible Experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriends and I came to Lelu two days in a row this Saturday and Sunday on a trip from Miami where I've personally been apart of the bar and restaurant business for a number of years. I must say while the service was nice both days, our server on Sunday was simply put impeccable! She was the most attentive, fun yet professional server I've had, possibly ever. We adored her so much I even spoke with the owner about her outstanding and notable service. She herself said she wanted to "give her a bed in the shop and never let her leave". She truly made dining a pleasure and you can tell she loves it there. We loved it and we will be back and we will look for Michelle! Aside from the impeccable service the food was delicious, the bacon exceptional in all it's crispy glory, and the portions were quite large. The atmosphere is relaxing and fun and the mimosas fabulous. Thank you Lelu!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LeLu Coffee Lounge also viewed

 

Been to LeLu Coffee Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LeLu Coffee Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.