We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Olaf Creamery

Big Olaf Creamery
5208 Ocean Blvd., Siesta Key, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 35 Restaurants in Siesta Key
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Fredonia, Kentucky
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

If you ever meet somebody from Sarasota, they will always rant and rave about this particular establishment. I believe there is another one in St. Armonds Circle. The ice cream is incredibly rich and I'm shocked at the amount of people that can get a large bowl of it and eat it like nothing. I've had like 5 of their flavors and everything was very good. All in all, it's pretty much worth the hype.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    83
    35
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Ice Cream to Die For”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have been going to Siesta Key once a year and the first place I want to hit as soon as I get there is Big Olaf's. Their ice cream is to die for - creamy, delicious, large, sumptuous! I always get a cone of Chocolate Mint Chip. They have a large number of flavors, many ways to serve it, and there is also fudge there. This is not a place to go to while on a diet (LOL). Don't miss out on this treat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokena, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yummy, yummy, yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

More selections of ice cream, ice cream cones, and fudge than you could ever imagine. Being a pumpkin lover and November, I couldn't resist the pumpkin ice cream. It was delicious, creamy, rich flavored. Couldn't have been any better.
My grandsons both had Superman ice cream. They seemed to be leaping with a "higher bound" after tasting it. Everyone enjoyed the ice cream they chose. Brought home some fudge which was equally as good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Is there a Heath Thief?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We decided to see what the Clamor is about.

Odered Heath Bar Toffee Ice Cream. Not on espec of Heath Bar anywhere to be savored, disappointing.

I found the fact that "Homemade" Ince Cream is in quotes disconcerting. Does this mean it is homemade or it is like homemade? Not sure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Creamy ice cream but remember CASH ONLY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I love ice cream and they have many options including cone options. Of course you are paying for the location and more along the price of StoneCold product. But just in case you forget cash, they conveniently have an ATM on the side of the counter. I think I know how they make a couple extra $s in this debit card world.

My rocky road was excellent and my wife got the raspberry and white chocolate. Good stuff!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Olaf Creamery also viewed

 

Been to Big Olaf Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Olaf Creamery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.