We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ice Cream Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Olaf Creamery

Big Olaf Creamery
5208 Ocean Blvd., Siesta Key, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 35 Restaurants in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I've traveled all over the United States and have never had better ice cream than at Big Olaf's! Their Kahlua Crunch is the best ever. All of their ice cream is very smooth and creamy and full of flavor. I grew up in Sarasota and always go back to Big Olaf's after a nice day or evening on the beach. We usually park in the municipal lot around the corner and walk over...the parking on the main drag there can be hard to find..and is mostly parallel parking. They also have other Big Olaf's around town now and they all serve wonderful ice cream. They only take cash, by the way.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    97
    41
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
here
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Two words: Toasted Coconut!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I read about this ice cream and sought it out immediately...and went back before the week was over! Yum!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We loved Olaf's, and returned as many times as we could squeeze in! It's just as good as Handel's, (if you are familiar with this ice cream shop, you'll know what a compliment that is!). :) My hubby and I kept getting the same types again and again: two scoops (chocolate deluge and brownie fudge) for him, and two (Heath bar and Snickers) for me. The ice cream was sweet and creamy, and the two scoops really blended well together...loved the caramel in the Snickers. Cute little store (they also sell fudge), and nice staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambrills, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

While shopping the Siesta Key Village, my girls begged to get some ice cream. We ran across Big Olaf's, and decided to give it a try. I'm so glad we did! The ice cream was great. Full of flavor, and big portions.

If you are in Siesta Key, I highly recommend you stop in for a cold treat :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Best ice cream on earth. Home made waffle cones, the Kahlua crunch is the best thing ever. Genius!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Olaf Creamery also viewed

 

Been to Big Olaf Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Olaf Creamery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.