We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's anything but .... bar-food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Restaurant

The Cottage Restaurant
153 Avenida Messina, Siesta Key, FL 34242
+1 941-312-9300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 35 Restaurants in Siesta Key
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Tapas, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Nestled in Siesta Key Village, The Cottage is a casual and quaint, old Florida beach house with a menu that will never disappoint. Our fusion cuisine appeals to locals and globe trekkers alike with Latin American, Asian and Hawaiian influences. We offer indoor dining and two options for outdoor seating--a front patio that overlooks The Siesta Key Village, and a garden-setting back patio with live music nightly. Happy Hour runs 7days a week from 11:00am-6:00pm (12pm-6pm on Sunday). Known for attention to fine food, lovely cocktails and great service, The Cottage has quickly become everything that is raved about on TripAdvisor and more.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
“It's anything but .... bar-food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Spent 3 nights in Siesta Key (27-29 July, 2014)... Ate here all 3 nights. That's the best way I can sum up our experience without sounding like a "shill" review-writer or "silent partner" in the restaurant. Stumbled upon the place on Sunday, supper time. Elevated table seating out front ... plenty to see as life passed by on the streets. Dustin (our server) was all about the menu, ingredients, prep, personal favorites, and adding some fun to the dining experience. On night one ... he said, "You could eat here all week and never get bored." He was on point. Tapas on left side of menu is extensive. Mixed Ceviche, Walu Sashimi (to die for), Tuna "something-or-other" (Sushi grade tuna, watermelon slice ... cosmic sauce & magic juice) , Tuna Tartar Tacos and on, and on, and ON! Presentation is on a par with anywhere else we've dined and been billed 3 or 4 times as much. "Four Star" does not aptly describe the food experience. Can't tell you a thing about the rest of the place since we never got past the front deck and the food for 3 nights. Met Brandy (Cottage manager) on our last evening. She provided great insight into the chef (background/experience). Her genuine enthusiasm and overall countenance reflected the warm-and-fuzzy nature of the "Island"(Key) experience that you get at "The Cottage on the Key." I'd go back in a heartbeat ... except I've returned to Virginia Beach.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    165
    62
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth the visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

There is unique, flavorful food with beautiful presentation here! The variety on the menu is quite impressive, making it difficult to choose. My husband and I chose 2 tapas dishes and a side dish and this was a perfect portion to share. This is not your chicken nugget type resturaunt. It is worth your time. Hannah B was an awesome server, very attentive!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food & Service Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Four of ate here on July 24, 2014. Our waitress was Stacy. She was awesome and took very good care of us! Had the Walu Sashimi, Tuna Tiradito and the Mixed Ceviche for appetizers. for our entrée, two of us had the Lobster Role, one had the Lobster Sliders and another had the Tuna Tartar Tacos. This was the absolute best meal we have ever had!...and we dine out together very often. Great atmosphere on the back patio in the heart of Siesta Key. Highly recommend this restaurant and will visit once again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We got there fairly late on a Friday night and had to wait a bit for a table on their patio which was crowded, but interesting. While we were waiting, we ordered a drink at the bar which we got about 30 minutes later after we were seated! There was live entertainment which was nice. The food was ordinary and I'm embarassed to say I can't remember what I ordered!!! I'd go back again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Relaxing dinner spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Great atmosphere in the heart of Siesta Key. Delicious food and friendly/ attentive staff. Highly recommend the calamari tapas! Will visit again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.