We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Restaurant

The Cottage Restaurant
153 Avenida Messina, Siesta Key, FL 34242
+1 941-312-9300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 35 Restaurants in Siesta Key
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Tapas, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Nestled in Siesta Key Village, The Cottage is a casual and quaint, old Florida beach house with a menu that will never disappoint. Our fusion cuisine appeals to locals and globe trekkers alike with Latin American, Asian and Hawaiian influences. We offer indoor dining and two options for outdoor seating--a front patio that overlooks The Siesta Key Village, and a garden-setting back patio with live music nightly. Happy Hour runs 7days a week from 11:00am-6:00pm (12pm-6pm on Sunday). Known for attention to fine food, lovely cocktails and great service, The Cottage has quickly become everything that is raved about on TripAdvisor and more.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We love the food in here, especially the tuna tacos are amazing, the staff is very friendly, it has a very nice beach atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    165
    62
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cottage is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Artists with their presentation of great food. Taste is as good as the looks. Tuna tacos have the lightest and tastiest shells ever. Spring rolls were delicious too!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great little spot in a sea of typical beach dives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

I love beach dives but sometimes you need something great and Cottage had it, nice atmosphere in a old beach home, cool sunken tropical garden with live music. I had the Grouper sandwich made with a light tempura bater. Wife had a interesting shrimp tapas and a side of risotto. fantastic !
After we could still hit the other beach dives for the live music and fun , but able to dodge the fried food.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brandy to the rescue.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The restaurant was very busy the night I dined. We waited for 45 minutes which was longer than told by the hostess. We squeezed into the bar dining but really wanted to sit out back. Finally a table was open but not outside. Took a while to get the food we ordered are the bar. However we still enjoyed it. Brandy still picked up that we weren't happy and arranged for us to sit outside as initially wanted. She also gave us an appetizer for free. It was a beautiful night. Thanks Brandy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Not much ambiance but fantastic food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Cottage is on a side street in Siesta Key Village --- so there is not much of a view. That said, sitting outside on the front porch is the most desirable place to be to people watch. The food, however, makes up for any lack of view. This time we had the Porch salad with grilled chicken and the Cottage burger. Both were fantastic. The salad was a chopped green salad with dried cranberries, avocado and pecans topped with chargrilled chicken. Delish! The burger was a 1/2 lb of wonderfully grilled ground beef served on a rosemary bun. Also divine. It was served with house made white and blue potato chips and crispy plantain strips. The lunch menu--although small, is diverse enough to offer something for everyone and prices are reasonable. Our lunch for two came to about $38.00 including tax and tip. Worth every penny!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.