We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good barbecue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blu Que Island Grill

Blu Que Island Grill
149 Avenida Messina, Siesta Key, FL 34242
9413460738
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blu Que Island Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 36 restaurants in Siesta Key
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ocean Blvd.
Description: Blu Que Island Grill and Bar offers smoked infused cuisine featuring hardwood grilled favorites cooked low and slow over hickory and apple wood. Blu Que Island Grill delivers the highest quality food and service. Our menu offers a vast selection of steak, chops, fowl, fresh seafood and authentic American barbeque… and of course, we didn’t forget the accompaniments: crisp salads, savory soups, mouthwatering side dishes and a delicious selection of home-style desserts are not to be missed. Be sure to compliment your meal with one of our specialty drinks, domestic and import beers, or fine wines. Happy Hour From MON - FRI 12 to 6 Live Entertainment Daily- see our calendar. Looking forward to ‘seating’ you soon! $12 BREAKFAST WITH BLOODY AND MIMOSA BAR SAT & SUNDAY
Baltimore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good barbecue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We went there on a rainy day, they had specials going on at the bar so we sat at the bar. They had music. I had a salad with pulled pork and my husbad the brine pork chop. They were both very good. Beer and drink selections were also great. The bartender was not too friendly, but she did her job. I been there before and had friendly bartenders there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    383
    201
    74
    54
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“BLUE QUE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was one of the most delightful dining experiences we had on Siesta Key. Food and service were above our highest expectations and exceeded in quality and quantity as well. we couldn't have asked for anything better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sell out, really, honestly!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Typical success story. Great concept, great success, attracts interests and sells out!
The guy owns the whole block now - service is below average and a revolving door, menu is average, tourist hangout not much more to add.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We read lots of great reviews but our experience was not impressive. Ordered 2 margaritas and instead, were talked into ordering a pitcher for a better deal. It was bad; lousy drink mix and no tequila. We inquired about it and were told that it was "full" of tequila. Not so much. Ordered a sampler plate for more money and that too was lousy. Tasted like roasted chicken and the brisket was dry and flavorless. The draw is the pig roasting on a spit outside and we were told they never serve it and use it only to draw in the customers. Skip this one and head to any one of the Sonny's Bar-B-Q places for REAL bbq.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delanco, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Barbeque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Fun place..Good Blues Music...great Barbeque - Hubby had pulled duck and I had fish and chips - quick friendly service!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blu Que Island Grill also viewed

 

Been to Blu Que Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blu Que Island Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.