We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The clam chouder is 5 stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Curt's Crab & Oyster Bar

Captain Curt's Crab & Oyster Bar
1200 Old Stickney Point Rd, Siesta Key, FL
(941) 349 3885
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 35 Restaurants in Siesta Key
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“The clam chouder is 5 stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We have been going here for 20 years, but I cannot help updating and raving about their clam chouder. It was way busy, but it was Saturday night. At our table, the best I think was the escargot and the aligator, besides the chouder. My fish bites were not steaming hot as usual, thus not a 5 star this year.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    215
    128
    37
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good food and entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We walked over here from Siesta Key and had dinner. The food was good and the live band was very relaxing. We had the coconut shrimp, clam chowder, quesadilla and Philly cheesesteaks. All were good! It was a very causal environment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The atmosphere at Captain Curt's is extremely casual (rustic), which perfectly suited our needs, as we arrived there at a late hour after a night on the beach. They have a large selection of drinks and enough variety on the menu to satisfy anyone. We started with the highly recommended clam chowder. It was outstanding! I ordered a seafood platter and my wife ordered some seafood appetizers. We were both very happy with the quality and portions of our meals. The prices were very reasonable especially for a seafood restaurant near a beach. We would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“GREAT! EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Two years ago, our family stayed in Siesta Key and we all ate at Captain Curt's. It was great then. Today was our anniversary, so we drove from St. Petersburg to Siesta Key, just to eat there and it was well worth the trip. The food was exactly as we remembered it. We had the Trigger fish and crab cakes. We have no complaints. Emily was our waitress and she was super. The place was clean with a rustic look. We knew that from before. Would we recommend Capt. Curt's to our friends and family?...YES! Will we go back again?...YES! & SOON!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yuck!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

All I can say is don't waist your time or money! Waited 50 min for a table then 2 hours for our well overcooked meal. We should have walked out but unfortunately it was too late. Waitress was terrible and I would post her name but she was forgettable. We've been coming to Siesta Key for over 30 years and have eaten (sorry to say) here a couple of times before. It was never really very good but close to our accommodations...this time...horrible! Restaurant has filthy disgusting floors, sticky dirty chairs, bar and tables. Really loud too! Will not be back...ever!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Curt's Crab & Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Captain Curt's Crab & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Curt's Crab & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.