We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach on key, perfect place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sara Sea Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Siesta Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sara Sea Resort
Save Saved
You added Sara Sea Resort to your Saves list
6760 Sara Sea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Siesta Key
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best beach on key, perfect place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My friend and I went away for a short girl's trip. The place is perfect. The location is great, the beach is the best on the key, with beautiful white sand and clear blue water. The amenities suited us perfectly, with full in room kitchen, grills, beach chairs, pools, and bike rentals across the street. The suite was nice, with comfortable bed and living space. The bathroom was big, kitchen was stocked with necessities, and parking was not a problem. The walk to the beach was short and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The property grounds were nicely manicured. We rented bikes and rode the key from end to end, visited the other beaches, and walked around the entire neighborhood. We had a fantastic and relaxing time!

Room Tip: We stayed in a destination suite, which was great! Closest to the beach!
See more room tips
Green Features: Great, we put a tag out on the door and only had our towels replaced daily.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    52
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
30
152
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Great location at Siesta Key. It's a short 5 minute walk from the room to the beach and the breach is great! Outdoor spaces like complementary propane grills and patios were really nice. Cons: parking. Only 1 spot per room. You can purchase a guest pass for an additional spot but its pretty expensive. The pools was closed for repairs when we were there. Also the room, although clean and in good condition, was very small. It's was still a nice spot for a beach weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

As a Siesta veteran, I generally rent condos or houses and simply needed to extend a stay by three days. Sara Sea looked great online and I am HAPPY to report that it lived up to what I saw on various websites. Good price for the location and amenities - even though we didn't use many of them other than the pool and the refrigerator. For families I would imagine this is a DEAL with the courtyards equipped with grills, the stove, refrigerator, diswasher, etc. You could have all your meals there if necessary.

For us however, we simply took advantage of the free beach chairs and the short walk (less than five minutes) to the very best beach...and later the pool. Sara Sea is conveniently located on the "less" busy part of Midnight Pass Road, close to Stickney and short drives to Sarasota and Long Boat Key.

The rooms are nicely equipped, the beds are fine, we had a private porch to sit and enjoy the cool breezes later in the day and they even use Aveda products in the bathroom!! I would definitely return and will recommend for future Siesta Fiesta visits.

Room Tip: The Hideaway rooms are a bit small....but who spends much time there other than to sleep anyway. NI...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We just returned from a 4 night stay with our 2 kids (3 yrs & 10 mos). This was our 2nd time staying at Sara Sea - Dh & I stayed here about 5 yrs ago & loved it & said we would always return w/ our kids someday. We decided on the Sara Sea property to be closest to the beach. We had a boutique room with a king size bed: the room itself was sufficient for us (they even had a high chair & pack n play for the baby which was great!) and the small kitchen w/ coffee maker, toaster & microwave was enough for us. But the only big negative was the size of the bathroom - it is a really tight squeeze to even get to the toilet. The shower is very nice & updated (no bathtub - just a stall) - but it really is very very small. If we return I would opt for staying at the Tropical Shores property to have a bigger bathroom next time. The entire property is very well kept & maintained - beautiful palm trees, grills & chairs to sit outside.

The beach is so close - only about a 3 min walk or so, and the umbrella/chair rental is very convenient also. The resort has a huge box of sand toys for the kids to use which was also great. The beach is so beautiful here - soft white sand and very shallow - great for small children. We met many nice people staying nearby on the beach. The evening sunsets are gorgeous & the kids loved it too.

As for food - we got pizza one night from Solzanos (very good!!!) and some fish plates & sandwiches from the Big Water Fish Market just across the street from the resort (you can call ahead & get take out, or eat there) - the snapper was delicious & very fresh.

The resort staff was very helpful in giving tips for local attractions & if we needed extra towels or early housekeeping they were also very accommodating with this.

The only complaint really was that our last day they were cutting and sawing down palm trees in the little park area all.day.long... and it was very loud - we couldn't even really enjoy the pool that day. But the hotel management said it was the association surrounding the property - not their doing - but it was quite annoying & loud - too bad it just happened to be when we were there.

We will definitely be returning to Siesta Key - for us it's the most beautiful beach we've been to in Florida. We miss the nice warm weather already! =)

Room Tip: Sara Sea is closest to the beach - the boutique rooms have very small bathrooms. Tropical Shores is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed for a long weekend for Mother's Day. The room was small, but it was just my daughter and myself. Time was spent on the beach and out on the town, so we don't spend much time in the room anyway! The beach was beautiful, not too crowded and very peaceful. The staff were all amazing! Anything you needed, they were right there. The next time we come back I will get a larger room, but for this stay it was just perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Can not say enough good things about this resort! Where to begin?! Well, the staff was very friendly and helpful...always took care of any needs/requests and gave great advice on spots to eat and things to do. The grounds are very well kept and the place is beautiful. Another reviewer referred to the "park-like setting" and that absolutely nails it. Our room was great: clean, new everything and all the stuff (tv, ac, shower, etc) worked like a charm. And then, of course, there's the gorgeous, private beach that you stroll your happy self out to each day. In a word: perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We checked in on a Friday. Called from airport at 11:30 and were told they would have a room ready for us when we got there, and since check in was late in date, we were very happy with this. They had a room ready for us when we got there at Tropical Sun building. It was very clean, but small. Since we were moving the next night to the Sara Sea building, it was fine. Sera Sea building was a much better set up and larger, all except bathroom was a little cramped. Shorter walk to the beach, only but a minute or so. Pool was clean, maid service was good. Beach was great. Across the street was Snikki Tikki that had great food (not gourmet, but good). Local person playing guitar each night. Short drive to Siesta Village where we had coffee each morning at the Local Bean. Short drive to Long Boat Keye, etc. Quiet place to stay most of the time, but he Captiva had a wedding on Saturday night and our neighbor obviously was there for that. The walls were a little thin at 2 am, but out of the ordinary for there. Would definitely go back

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sara Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sara Sea Resort

Address: 6760 Sara Sea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Siesta Key
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#5 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
#7 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sara Sea Resort is our crown jewel and the number one choice for couples. A new member of the Tropical Beach Resorts family, the historic inn has recently undergone a massive renovation with romance in mind. Celebrate a special occasion, or create one! Sara Sea has all the amenities you would expect at a high-end, posh resort, but with the same casual elegance for which Tropical Shores is known and loved. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sara Sea Hotel Siesta Key
Sara Sea Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sara Sea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.