We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel next to beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sara Sea Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Siesta Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sara Sea Resort
Save Saved
You added Sara Sea Resort to your Saves list
6760 Sara Sea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$85 (USD)
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Siesta Key
GreenLeadersGold level
Brandon, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel next to beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Down on the south side of the key in a quiet location, in a semi-circle of little motels. Very modern inside with updated appliances and flat screen tv and key west style furnishings. The outside is very tropical and lush and there is a walkway down to the beach. They put out lounge chairs on the beach every morning. It has a very low key vibe and you can just chill out and relax there. I would recommend staying there as a romantic getaway for couples or families with young kids. The room itself was superclean. There are bars and restaraunts within a short walking distance. Great place and worth the price compared to other beach hotels in the area I have stayed in.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Sara Sea Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks you for sharing your experience with us! We are so glad that you had a great time and enjoyed yourself on Siesta Key! We hope you will be able to come visit again the next time you are in Sarasota and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    52
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
152
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

After our Bradenton, FL, wedding, my husband and I went to Sara Sea for a weekend honeymoon. Of course, they could not create the weather, but it happened to be beautiful. Thus, we had a great time walking the gorgeous white sant of Siesta Key, enjoying the hotel pool, and relaxing in our very clean, lovely unit. We had the biggest unit offered. The bedroom and bathroom, hough a bit small, are plenty adequate, and the living room and kitchen/dining area were spacious. My husband, when checking in early in the day, mentioned this was our honeymoon. When we arrived later in the evening, we had a bottle of champagne in our frig! We highly recommend Sara Sea.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Sara Sea Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Congratulations on your new marriage! We are so happy that you shared with us that your honeymoon was perfect! We hope that you will return to Tropical Beach Resorts for many years to come and are honored you stayed at the Sara Sea for your honeymoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The set of motels that is Sara-Sea and others are very cute motels. The rooms are adorable with granite counters and kitchens. The bed was a hard but linens were nice. We loved the stay. The beach is just up the street and right near a good snorkling spot.

One comment for motel, if the tp holder falls off by barely touching it, the staff should not just hang it back up on the wall without truely fixing it. It needs a longer set screw. It wasn't a big deal, but it surprised me that we had put the holder on the toilet and the staff somehow managed to hang it on the wall without it falling off. The second anything brushed against it, it fell off again.

We would most certainly stay here again. It was lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Sara Sea Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will be coming back to stay at the Sara Sea in the future! We are sorry that the the holder in the bathroom was loose and appreciate this being brought to our attention. We staff a full maintenance team seven days a week as well as schedule daily room inspections prior to guests checking in. We want to ensure our guests that if something is not perfect during their stay we will do everything possible to correct it immediately. We always strive for perfection and are committed to total guest satisfaction. Thank you again for the great review and look forward to your return stays at the Tropical Beach Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just got back from a week at Siesta Key and was very happy with the whole experience! This hotel is located on the south end of the island on the gulf side. After driving through stop and go traffic through the village, I was happy to find out that we were away from that section! (We did go during spring break week.....very crowded!) The room was very clean and had a fully stocked kitchen which was nice! (with a full size refrigerator, microwave, stove/oven!) The grounds were very pretty and very cozy. There are several garden areas with grills, tables and chairs, lounge chairs, etc and a nicely paved walk down to the beach. They also lend out a volleyball for their beach volleyball court, bean bags for bean bag toss game, shuffleboard Our daughter was very happy to see the amount of sand toys to borrow for the beach too! They also have beach chairs to bring down to the beach. NOTE: They charge $20 per day for lounges and umbrellas on the beach which was a little disappointing! Overall great experience and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Sara Sea Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your great feedback on your recent stay with us! Spring break is definitely an extremely busy time on Siesta Key! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return one day! We wanted to let our readers know that complimentary chairs are provided to our guests which can be carried down to the beach. There is also a service that provides rentals on the beach if a full service rental is desired. Both options are popular and easy to use. Thanks again for spending your spring break on Siesta Key!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Springs, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the cozy Sara See Resort. The room was well appointed and perfect for a weekend getaway. For an extended stay it may seem a bit cramped but it did have a small yet functional kitchenette and sitting area. The king size bed was the main feature of the room and certainly took up most of the space. The main pools was heated to at toasty bath water temperature...a hot tub would be a nice addition. A private beach access was a plus although this end of the beach is is more shelly than the public access section. It is still perfect for long walks and the occasional sighting of dolphins and rays.

Room Tip: No views of the beach from the hotel, but the center section is closer to the main pool. No fitnes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Sara Sea Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank-you so much for the great review and for your recent stay with at the Sara Sea Resort! We hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon! We did want to let our guests know that although we do not have a fitness center at the hotel Siesta Key Fitness is on the island and offers day and week passes. Studio RubyLakes offers an entire week pass for $25.00 for unlimited beach and studio classes on the island and we are currently offering complimentary yoga every weekend on the beach. There are bike rentals directly across the street and bike trails that go up and down the island. A lot of guests enjoying kayaking and running the beach too! We are so happy our recent guests were able to see dolphins while walking the beach as well! Thanks again for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here in February this year and really enjoyed it. The staff were really friendly, accommodating and offered good advice. The rooms were clean and well equipped. The resort is based about 3 miles from Siesta Village, but tip-only buggy taxis run day and night, and it's a lovely walk to the village along the beach. There is a great Peruvian restaurant 2 mins walk from the resort, and a good place for breakfast 5 mins walk away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Sara Sea Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
On behalf of all the entire team, we really appreciate you staying at Tropical Beach Resorts and sharing with us that you enjoyed your stay! We truly appreciate your business and hope that you will come back and stay with us on your next vacation on Siesta Key.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for two nights prior to our condo rental being available. We were in one of the Boutique rooms. This property is extremely well kept. The location makes you feel you are secluded amongst very well kept grounds with easy access to the beach. The room was very clean and very pretty. Probably the cleanest property we have ever stayed at in Siesta Key. The only downfall is the room was on the small size. We didn't want to completely unpack because of our short stay, so it was rather cozy with our luggage taking up a lot of space. The bathroom was quite small with no counter space or storage. So, we found ourselves utilizing the kitchen counter. Which was ok as we really weren't cooking. I knew this would be a smaller room, so we weren't surprised. The property was a motel in its old life, but they have done a beautiful job of completely remodeling and the rooms are decorated very lovely. Very quiet property. The staff could not have been friendlier and helpful. We would not hesitate to stay again, but you may want a little larger room if you are staying for a longer period of time.

Room Tip: If staying for longer than a couple of days, may want to get one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Sara Sea Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor and letting us know that you enjoyed your stay at the Sara Sea Resorts. The Sara Sea Resort offers three room types to include the hideway, the boutique, and the destination suite. The Hideaway room is smaller in size..... it's a compact room but still offers a full size refrigerator, stove, and dishwasher in the nicely updated kitchens. We always try to let our guests know this is a great budget-friendly option for stays of three days. We offer larger accommodations at the Sara Sea and throughout Tropical Beach Resorts. However, for many the hideaway, although small, offers a great room options for a shorter stay on Siesta Key. We truly appreciate your feed back and look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sara Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sara Sea Resort

Address: 6760 Sara Sea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Siesta Key
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#5 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
#6 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sara Sea Resort is our crown jewel and the number one choice for couples. A new member of the Tropical Beach Resorts family, the historic inn has recently undergone a massive renovation with romance in mind. Celebrate a special occasion, or create one! Sara Sea has all the amenities you would expect at a high-end, posh resort, but with the same casual elegance for which Tropical Shores is known and loved. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sara Sea Hotel Siesta Key
Sara Sea Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sara Sea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.