We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising Little Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sara Sea Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Siesta Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sara Sea Resort
Save Saved
You added Sara Sea Resort to your Saves list
6760 Sara Sea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Siesta Key
GreenLeadersGold level
Bettendorf, Iowa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Surprising Little Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for two nights prior to our condo rental being available. We were in one of the Boutique rooms. This property is extremely well kept. The location makes you feel you are secluded amongst very well kept grounds with easy access to the beach. The room was very clean and very pretty. Probably the cleanest property we have ever stayed at in Siesta Key. The only downfall is the room was on the small size. We didn't want to completely unpack because of our short stay, so it was rather cozy with our luggage taking up a lot of space. The bathroom was quite small with no counter space or storage. So, we found ourselves utilizing the kitchen counter. Which was ok as we really weren't cooking. I knew this would be a smaller room, so we weren't surprised. The property was a motel in its old life, but they have done a beautiful job of completely remodeling and the rooms are decorated very lovely. Very quiet property. The staff could not have been friendlier and helpful. We would not hesitate to stay again, but you may want a little larger room if you are staying for a longer period of time.

Room Tip: If staying for longer than a couple of days, may want to get one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Sara Sea Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor and letting us know that you enjoyed your stay at the Sara Sea Resorts. The Sara Sea Resort offers three room types to include the hideway, the boutique, and the destination suite. The Hideaway room is smaller in size..... it's a compact room but still offers a full size refrigerator, stove, and dishwasher in the nicely updated kitchens. We always try to let our guests know this is a great budget-friendly option for stays of three days. We offer larger accommodations at the Sara Sea and throughout Tropical Beach Resorts. However, for many the hideaway, although small, offers a great room options for a shorter stay on Siesta Key. We truly appreciate your feed back and look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    53
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
32
154
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was my first "solo" vacation, and my second visit to the Sara Sea Resort. I love everything about this place! I booked everything over the phone and found the gentleman I spoke with extremely helpful and courteous. Given that I was solo, he recommended the hideaway room to give myself a bit of privacay and space away from the larger groups. It was perfect!

The room was extremely clean and well laid out. I love having the full kitchen, particularly since I was on my own and planned to stay in for most meals and loved my private little outdoor dining area.

Crescent beach is a short walk from the resort, and one of the nicest beaches I have ever seen! Turtle Beach was a short drive down the coast and another must see location - both were beautiful at sunset.

Everything about this resort is perfect! Old school hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Sara Sea Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank-you for posting a review on Trip Advisor and for sharing your experience with us! We are so glad that you were able to experience a relaxing wonderful vacation while staying at the Sara Sea Resort. The hideaway room is often selected by single travelers as a perfect room for their stay.. allowing for a budget friendly option, full kitchen, privacy, and a nice place to enjoy beautiful Siesta Key. We hope that we will see you in the future and really appreciate that you shared your comments with us through Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Greeted by pink lemonade, a cookie jar full of treats, fresh coffee and cool water, the front desk staff could hardly go wrong. Everyone was just so nice I really felt like we stepped back a few decades! our room confirmed we had not - Granite countertops, Aveda products and flat screen TV's and just so darn CLEAN brought us back to reality. A few steps from the beach, walking distance to Crescent Beach Grocery (my favorite) AND the liquor store really makesthe Sara Sea the place to be. It's so nice to avoid the traffic going into Siesta Key. A quick left off the bridge and you are there! Good times and we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Sara Sea Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank-you so much for submitting your review on Trip Advisor! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We loved the review that you posted describing the hotel. We are committed to staying true to the genuine roots of true southern hospitality. We want our guests to feel relaxed, appreciated, and have a wonderful stay on beautiful Siesta Key. We strive to ensure our accommodations offered meet the expectations of todays travelers without losing the charm of the classic old Florida charm. Thank you again for your wonderful review and for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Sara Sea Resorts in Feb. 2013. We really enjoyed it and would consider going back. The staff were friendly, helpful and responded quickly to our requests.
This resort is crowded in with many other small resorts, but it is surprisingly quiet. A very short walk to the lovely Siesta beach meant a nice morning walk each day, yoga on weekends, and a sunset each night. The area has lots to do being so close to Sarasota. We visited a few museums and galleries, the Selby gardens, and restaurants in Sarasota are terrific.
The hotel, housekeeping rooms are very small. Too crowded really. The pictures are accurate and the quality of the room is very good, but very small, with little counter space to put your stuff. We had to store our suitcases in the car. There was really no room. If they changed the king bed to a queen, that may make it better. BUT, we would stay there again and probably ask for a bigger room, if they have it. I do recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Sara Sea Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank-you for staying with us this past season! We are so happy to hear that you are planning to come back in the future! It's great that you were able to enjoy many of the cultural activities that Sarasota offers as well as walking the beach, catching the nightly sunsets, and participating in our complimentary yoga classes. We do offer a variety of room layouts and and it sounds like a larger suite may best suit your needs on your next vacation. Our accommodations range from standard rooms (fully equipped but compact, ideal for stays of three days or less) , to designer efficiencies, and suites offering one or two separate bedrooms. We always encourage our guests to contact us directly to make reservations so we can help assist with choosing the perfect room for your vacation. We really appreciate you staying with us and hope to see the next time you are stay on beautiful Siesta Key.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

While the facility may be older, it is kept in great condition. Room extremely clean. Landscaping is beautiful. Not hard to find, especially with GPS. Close to ocean with easy walk to the beach. Pools look fine. Location is great as it is on south end of Key away from the real heavy traffic. Can walk to Claytons which is a great restaurant. Remember, this is not the Ritz but also not the "over the top" Ritz price as are many hotels on the Key. Overall, a fine experience and great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is an adjacent group of 3 small single story motels in a great place. Couldn't be happier. Terrific beach access, clean, quiet. Only here for 2 nights but even our small queen unit has a fully equipped kitchen. The whole thing is charming. The room was small (they told me in advance) but I just used the car as an extra closet! Bring a steak and you can cook out right here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Found this resort through a special on Expedia and grabbed it because it was for under $200 a night during Feb. this place is just lovely, extremely comfortable and immaculately maintained. The Boutique room was more than big enough for my husband, me and our adult daughter. There was no extra charge for a third person in the room, although she was a late add-on. The king bed was comfortable, our daughter was ok with the sofa bed, nicely equipped kitchen. The rooms surround a little park let with a grill and lounge chairs and tables. Lots of nice little touches, unlimited coffee, tea, lemonade, cookies, candy hot chocolate to be had in reception, movies (with micro popcorn) to borrow, beach chairs and beach towels. The staff were all extremely nice. The bathroom was very small, bit had a good shower. The beach is beautiful and only steps from our room, nice enough pool. Just a very, very pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Boutique room gives you the most room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sara Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sara Sea Resort

Address: 6760 Sara Sea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Siesta Key
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#5 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
#6 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sara Sea Resort is our crown jewel and the number one choice for couples. A new member of the Tropical Beach Resorts family, the historic inn has recently undergone a massive renovation with romance in mind. Celebrate a special occasion, or create one! Sara Sea has all the amenities you would expect at a high-end, posh resort, but with the same casual elegance for which Tropical Shores is known and loved. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sara Sea Hotel Siesta Key
Sara Sea Resort Siesta Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sara Sea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.