We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, perfect for groups, best value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siesta Key Beach Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siesta Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siesta Key Beach Place
Save
You added Siesta Key Beach Place to your Saves list
5605 Avenida del Mare, Siesta Key, FL 34242   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Great location, perfect for groups, best value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

In October 2011, we rented out all 5 cottages. Perfect place for our group. Great pool and outside bar. Kids loved the pool and short walk to the beach. Used the "tips only" golf carts to village and also walked to the village. Beach Place is close to beach and close to the Village. All the condos were clean and suited our family needs. Leslie was very kind, helpful, and offered much advice to our group.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    11
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
23
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and I were going to celebrate our first wedding anniversary in Siesta Key. I called all over the island for availability and it is true, availability was scarce. Someone suggested calling Leslie, so I did. So for a low price of $170/night, for Friday and Saturday, my bill would have been $380 with taxes and her booking fees (totaling $190.00/night). For that price I would have expected a clean updated property. I travel for business a lot, and stay in a lot of different hotels so for $190 price point I knew what I should be getting. The unit itself and the furnishings were so old and dingy, they appeared unclean and unsafe. A quick glance into the bathroom revealed old stained tile, and one small bar of soap was the extent of the bathroom personal supplies. My wife and I immediately left and checked into a hotel in nearby Sarasota. Prior to our experience, we had read the excellent reviews posted on TripAdvisor. We now question who is posting these reviews as they do not seem to reflect the true quality of the property. The location is not great, as you have to walk across the main road to reach the beach, and it is not close to any of the restaurants in the Village. One more thing about the location, the property was portrayed as quiet and secluded, when in reality it is located on a very busy and noisy street.. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed there for 8 days. It was a family gathering of 24 girls and we do this once a year and try different places every year. We love Siesta key so we keep going back every year. The house keeper was there twice the whole time we were there. Pool turned a milky color and we were told to many people in the pool. Really??? they knew that we would be using the pool. Chemicals would have been the answer. Then we were told not to wash the motel towels. Well, we had to so we would have clean ones. The owner Leslie was very gruff and had no customer service skills. Several thing in all the kitchens were not working. Nothing done to fix any issues while we were there so we were cooking in what ever unit had a functional stove. Then the biggest thing was when one of our family members had to go to the emergency room from health conditions Leslie showed no compassion and was just conserned about what she was doing prior to having to go to the emergency room. Well we had to tell her that she was on the toilet. Like I said nothing to do with the Beach Place at all just prior medical issues. Wow how degrading for her to be worried about being sued and not the well being of a tenant first. Shake my head..... Never every again will we stay there .

The rooms were not clean the crumbs in the futons. refrigerator gaskets leaking rusty water. bathrooms have mold in tiles. They get good money for dirty rooms.

Room Tip: There is not fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

arrived late and in the dark looked cute with tiki hut and lights. Unit was very cute and clean.
next day - not as cute - very run down - broken sofa bed, broken rattan furniture outside, dresser drawers that don't open, tiki hut straw roofs - half missing, pool dirty. it is obvious no money is being put back into this place.
The worst - the owner constantly harrasses you and tells you not to do this or that! She follows you around - at the pool, or whereever you are. Evidently she lives nearby and we got to the place where we made ourselves scarce when she was around. And everytime something happened she would question - did you do that or cause that?

She needs to let go - give you the rules list and then let you have a vacation.

We definately would NOT stay here again - would rather pay more and be able to relax and not feel stressed that we are "not following the rules"

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

My husband and I chose The Beach Place for several reasons...
1. Location...just a short stroll across the street to the #1 beach in America. Yes, you have to cross a street, a 2 lane street!
2. Value...you will not find a more suitable vacation place for the price.
3. Pet friendly...we were so excited to bring our dog with us for our extended stay. It is very difficult to find lodging here on Siesta Key that allows pets!
4. Amenities...from bicycles, beach gear and tiki bar to a fully stocked cottage, you have everything you need! A 10-15 minute walk to the Village. If the walk is "too far", there are 'tips only' carts for hire that will pick you up!
Our first and continued contact with Lesle, the owner, was wonderful. She was very open and forthcoming with info regarding the cottages. These cottages are quaint, very clean and stocked with all the amenities for a relaxing, carefree vacation. Leslie, a true Floridian, has extensive knowledge of the area. Every restaurant and activity she recommended was perfect.
The grounds of The Beach Place are beautiful! Lush floral growth and beautiful trees. The grass length, the outdoor furnishings are not an issue and have not been for my 5 month stay.
We have experienced a wonderful, carefree stay for months, enoying the pool, beach, weather and people staying here! Sitting around the firepit in the evening, enjoying good food from the BBQ, roasting marshmallows and chatting with neighbors, after a day at the beach, was the best!
I would stay here again and plan on doing so!
Why 304Runningirl took a year to write such a bad review makes ME question! I believe she was expecting the Ritz!
So, don't rely on one bad review! Make The Beach Place your next vacation stay and you will NOT be disappointed!

Room Tip: All of the cottages are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at The Beach Place in the Spring of 2010. We are planning to go back to Siesta Key this spring break as well, but we will not be staying at The Beach Place. We thought that the cottages were clean, but the property itself was very run-down. Long grass, unkept outdoor furnishings, and a less than ideal location. It is a far walk from town and you have to cross a very busy street to get to the beach. I happened to come across information on The Beach Place again as I was researching for our upcoming vacation. I must say that the reviews, descriptions and pictures of The Beach Place seem very misleading to me. In fact, it makes me wonder who is submitting the reviews. It was a major disappointment to us.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We stayed at The Beach Place four years ago and I promised myself to write something about this place. We rented La coquina bungalow, the smallest one and for us, the most intimate because the farest one from the entrance. Your french door is about 5 meters to the pool and then, you have the tikki bar and a dinning area. As the beach is very close (1 or 2 minutes walk) nobody was using the clean heated pool. So every morning that was our way to convice our kid to wake up. The beach is amazing, I know it won the top 5 of the finest sand in the world. We played with the waves and relaxed by night aroud the pool. We shared bbq with the other guests. the ambiance was very friendly and relaxing. Leslie works hard to please us, providing all you need for the beach : small surf boards, umbrellas, towels, flotting items etc. She gave us free tickets to the marine museum wich is very entertaining and informative. Siesta Key village is very cute as are the surrounding villages. Bunch of happy hour places, terrasses, waterview restaurants. I hope this helps having an idea.

Room Tip: La coquina bunglalow for the easy use of the pool and the dining area. Plus, great intimacy, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siesta Key Beach Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Key Beach Place

Address: 5605 Avenida del Mare, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Place is a quiet oasis of cozy cottage apartments which offer all the comforts of home. These friendly one-bedroom units in a garden setting can sleep four and offer fully equipped kitchens, bathrooms and comfortable sitting rooms complete with cable TV. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Siesta Key Beach Place Hotel Siesta Key
Siesta Key Beach Place Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siesta Key Beach Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.