We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great oysters and good menu also” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Siesta Key Oyster Bar

The Siesta Key Oyster Bar
5238 Ocean Blvd, Sarasota, Siesta Key, FL 34242
+1 941-346-5443
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 35 Restaurants in Siesta Key
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Chicken Wings, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Siesta Key Oyster Bar is THE Hot Spot in Siesta Key Village! Come in and join us for great food, fresh oysters, cold beer, live music, and tons of fun!Siesta Key Oyster Bar (or as the locals call it "SKOB") is the hangout with the laidback, beachy atmosphere that will get you right into the Island Spirit. When you're at SKOB you feel right at home, like you're hanging out with good friends on your back patio (although chances are the ceiling of your patio is not covered in dollar bills).One of the things that sets SKOB apart from the other bars in Siesta Key Village is that we have some of the best food on the Key.Join us for Crustacean Happy Hour, every day from 3-6.1/2 price Oysters and Crawfish
Taos, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great oysters and good menu also”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Nice bar with outdoor covered patio and sports on the TVs but not overwhelming. The oysters were great and the menu choices are all good also. Great service & drinks and moderately priced. There's a coupon in a booklet that gives you cheaper oysters during a specific time of day.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    354
    121
    46
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great bar/restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had 2 burgers here blue cheese and it was very good. A little less of the blue cheese and I believe it would be tastier. Live music on the front deck. Another night just had a few drinks with friends on the front deck and it was very relaxing. Very clean toilets.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“This place gave me the creeps.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The inside is dark and dingy. You might like it if you are in your early 20's. They serve bar food. Nothing special. My daughter found a hair in her food. The waiter took care of it. We definitely would not go back. There are too many other choices along the row of restaurants. Try the Hub. Better food and atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethskob, Owner at The Siesta Key Oyster Bar, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We are sad to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience. Our atmosphere is one of the best things about SKOB. You are correct, we are not a chain restaurant and thrive on the "Key West" experience.
SKOB has received many accolades and awards for our outstanding food choices, and we can assure you we have the best quality on the entire Key and invite you to compare the differences.
Again, we hope we can show you our top quality dishes and amazing atmosphere. My personal email is Bethskob@gmail.com.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best at the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch at the Siesta Key Oyster Bar today. Our friends have raved about it for years. On the outside its you typical beach bar type of place, lots of outdoor seating, bright colored tables and umbrellas, but that is where typical ends. The staff was AWESOME. When we got there they were cleaning part of the deck where the prime seating was. They were more than happy to accommodate a table switch when done. Jackie was our server. She was fantastic. She was very friendly, on top of everything and very informative about the local happenings. The food was not the regular bar food variety. We had a dozen oysters to start. They were big and very tasty, definately worth the $12 price tag. The fish sandwich with their specialty key lime prep was great. Best of all it is a fun friendly atmosphere. By the time we left we had new friends from out of state. You even get to help personalize the place by stapling you own customized dollar bill to the building.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“SKOB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Good bar food and dr nks plus liv e. entertainment. Friendly servers and a very cool atmosphere. A place to stop at in the village .

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Siesta Key Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Siesta Key Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Siesta Key Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.