We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax with friends and family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Siesta Key Oyster Bar

The Siesta Key Oyster Bar
5238 Ocean Blvd, Sarasota, Siesta Key, FL 34242
+1 941-346-5443
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 35 Restaurants in Siesta Key
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Chicken Wings, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Siesta Key Oyster Bar is THE Hot Spot in Siesta Key Village! Come in and join us for great food, fresh oysters, cold beer, live music, and tons of fun!Siesta Key Oyster Bar (or as the locals call it "SKOB") is the hangout with the laidback, beachy atmosphere that will get you right into the Island Spirit. When you're at SKOB you feel right at home, like you're hanging out with good friends on your back patio (although chances are the ceiling of your patio is not covered in dollar bills).One of the things that sets SKOB apart from the other bars in Siesta Key Village is that we have some of the best food on the Key.Join us for Crustacean Happy Hour, every day from 3-6.1/2 price Oysters and Crawfish
FRANKFORT
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to relax with friends and family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Siesta Key Oyster Bar, or "SKOB" is always a good place to relax and enjoy some of the local flavor. It gives the feel of the tropics, and the food is usually delicious! My new favorite is the smoked salmon BLT! Wow!
Overall, the service is very good - we will definitely go back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    356
    121
    46
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“one of our favorite places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We travel to Florida several times a year, SKOB is always on our list. They have a fun atmosphere with the dollars posted everywhere, our kids always like to see the dollar they hung a few years ago. Delicious trigger fish sandwich, mussels, keylime shrimp on caesar salad.
Friendly service, best bar tenders on the key. Afternoon or night it's a great place to sit outside enjoy some live music.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedon, New York
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have gone to SKOB for many years. It used to be owned by the Daiquri Deck owners but was sold a number of years ago to a very nice family who knows how to conduct a business.
It's great to be able to sit on the outside deck and listen to some good to great music and people watch.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethskob, Owner at The Siesta Key Oyster Bar, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Why Thank you for the kind words. My family, Jill, Geno and Keith and I (Beth) are much appreciative of kind words. We have had SKOB for 9 years and are proud of our growth. Stop by and say Hi on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“pretty good food, service so bad its not worth going back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013


We were seated inside between the front door and the bathroom. Servers walked back and forth past us a hundred times before I got someones attention and she "found" our server. Still took her 10 minutes to get to us. Food came out before our drinks. Watched our server stand talking to the others with my beer in her hand while I tried to get wings without it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Ehhh.. Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The oysters at happy hour are cheap, but nit very flavorful when we ate there in Jan 2013. The brine seemed to be missing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Siesta Key Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Siesta Key Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Siesta Key Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.