We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach-town oyster bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Siesta Key Oyster Bar

The Siesta Key Oyster Bar
5238 Ocean Blvd, Sarasota, Siesta Key, FL 34242
+1 941-346-5443
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 35 Restaurants in Siesta Key
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar, Oyster Bar, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Siesta Key Oyster Bar is THE Hot Spot in Siesta Key Village! Come in and join us for great food, fresh oysters, cold beer, live music, and tons of fun!Siesta Key Oyster Bar (or as the locals call it "SKOB") is the hangout with the laidback, beachy atmosphere that will get you right into the Island Spirit. When you're at SKOB you feel right at home, like you're hanging out with good friends on your back patio (although chances are the ceiling of your patio is not covered in dollar bills).One of the things that sets SKOB apart from the other bars in Siesta Key Village is that we have some of the best food on the Key.Join us for Crustacean Happy Hour, every day from 3-6.1/2 price Oysters and Crawfish
Ithaca, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great beach-town oyster bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We randomly stopped in at SKOB after spending the day at Siesta Key beach. Happened to hit the happy hour specials, including oysters. GREAT deal and great, fresh oysters! Followed by very good burgers. prices are very good. We were seated right away at 4:00, but by 5 the wait was almost an hour. Kitschy open air beach bar atmosphere. Waitress was very pleasant. I'm sure this is a lively scene after the sun goes down. One negative was the secondhand smoke from nearby tables at the outdoor patio.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    317
    110
    41
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fried oysters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We did a search while we were on Siesta Key for a good pub grub place with sea food.. S.K.O.B. did not disappoint! It would take a week to sample all the different fare they have. Waiter Adam was a very good server and recommended some nice dishes.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and local music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stay on Siesta every Christmas and always look forward to our time at SKOB! A quick walk to the Village and we are settled in for great food. We had some of the best wings and seafood anywhere that we visit while vacationing. The music was great, wish we could go every weekend. Thanks for making this a "must go" place for us.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Get there from 3-6 PM for 1/2 price oysters. They allow smoking on the patio but that seems to be the nicest spot. Try the seafood pizza.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great food, great service, great atmosphere, GREAT BAND! What a fun place! A little pricey & the raw oysters were pretty small but we had a really good time at SKOB. This place is what other spots in Siesta Key wanna be. So grab a Jai Alai or a margarita that actually has tequila in it unlike The Hub. Kick back with some tasty apps and enjoy yourself. If you're lucky Acoustic Pete will be playing. What ever SKOB is paying those guys it's not enough. Next time I'm in Siesta Key my first stop after the beach will be SKOB.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Siesta Key Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Siesta Key Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Siesta Key Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.