We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for kids!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachpoint Resort Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siesta Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beachpoint Resort Cottages
125 Beach Road, Siesta Key, FL 34242   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Week Day Free @ the Beach
Ranked #2 of 2 Siesta Key B&B and Inns
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location for kids!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

If you're looking for a place close to the beach AND close to town and you want the basic comforts covered, Beachpoint is a great option. We rented unit 7 (2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms) for my husband and I, our teenager and our toddler. The closets were big enough to put a Pack n' Play in (for quiet sleeping atmosphere). The bedrooms were roomy. The bathrooms were adequate (the master bath had a tub but the spigot didn't work so it was pretty much a shower, but the water was hot and the bathrooms were clean). The towels were a little thin, but they worked.

The grounds are great - full of flowers, grills are provided for guest use, there's a small koi pond and funky lights at night. It's easy to see how a group could come have a GREAT time outside at the tables - we ate out in the courtyard area several times just to soak in the weather. There are lots of umbrellas and shady areas as well as a few sunny spots.

Get groceries off the island to save money but there is a grocery store easily walkable if you do need something. The kitchen in unit 7 was small but more than adequately supplied with a blender, toaster, microwave, stove, fridge, etc.

Beachpoint will provide beach towels (make sure to ask for some if there aren't any in your room). They have tons of beach toys and chairs to take to the beach and even beach umbrellas. The beach is so wonderfully wide that it does get heavy trying to lug it all the way to the water but it's well worth it.

Walk into town for some Mini Donuts - totally worth it. We also enjoyed Taste of Germany (great desserts) and Bonjour (fantastic crepes).

Room Tip: Unit 7 is furthest from the beach, closest to town. Unit 1 is closest to the beach, but none of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    17
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
30
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We'd stayed up and down the Florida Gulf Coast for the past few years, had finally settled on Siesta Key as being the nicest for us...beautiful beach, close to Siesta Village, easy access on and off the island. We needed more space than we had last year, because more of the family was going down. Booked Beach Point Resort, and we quite frankly weren't sure if we would like it or not.
In short, we were very happy! It isn't RIGHT on the beach, but it is just across a very quiet street from the beach. From the deck of one of our units you could sit and look at the beach and the ocean...very peaceful! We had 11 family members go down, so we rented both of the 2 bedroom units. One faced the beach, the other was in a building behind and upstairs. Both exceeded expectations.
First the (few) cons:
1. Bathrooms were small. They had tub/showers, sink, toilet, but not much room. Didn't bother us (we would rather have living space than big bathrooms), but it might be a deal for some.
2. Not the Ritz-Carlton. Rooms were comfortable and nicely furnished, but, opening directly to the beach, they were definitely more "comfortable" than "posh". Some might want more granite and stainless steel, we prefer comfort, especially at a beachhouse.

Pros:
1. 60 steps to the beach access...270 steps to the oceans edge. My daughter and I counted. That's good and close, you'd be hard pressed to find too many units that are closer on Siesta Key
2. Very accommodating owner. Some revues said he is rude. I beg to disagree. Mike can be short with you, and he isn't one to spend excess time on idle conversation...but, if you need something, he is on it right away, and he is very helpful...just not too talkative, and maybe a little bit short sometimes. He keeps a clean, pleasant place to stay, and he quickly attends to your needs...I've stayed other places where the owner seemed nice, but I couldn't even get fresh towels, and the place was falling apart. I will take what Mike has to offer any day!
3. Easy walk to Siesta Key Village. Groceries, gift shops, beachware, restraurants, bars..everything just a couple easy blocks away. If you are staying on the beach, you don't want to have to drive all the time...at Beach Point, you don't have to.
4. Beach-funky decor. Love the colors, the nighttime lighting, the statuary (giant King Posideon). Just really fun place to stay. Nice having the large deck area to lounge around, grills to cook on...visit with neighbors. Just nice.

Yup, we like this place, and we'll be back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on front face the beach, which is really nice. Rooms on back are a little more private, if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed at the resort last night- great rooms (I'll get to that later), clean, friendly owner (mike)........ Check out time is at 11:00 am, we went to the beach, returned and allowed to park several hours after check. The kids needed to use restrooms, owners graciously stated , "feel free to use suite 2's bathroom ( ours was being cleaned I.e rooms)- FYI...... This was during Spring Break , one of the busiest times of the year. Great experience !!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

There are too many nice people to waste your time with this guy. So rude and aggressive, STAY ELSEWHERE.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Tried to make reservation for siesta key tri 8/12. The owner was so rude and unfriendly I asked if it was a bad time to call. He blurted he was busy and it is season. I said that was not a good reason to lose future business. He said He didn't need me to run his business. I hung up. very abrasive!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Baltimore, MI USA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

This is a nice place. The location is just steps from one of the best beaches in the world for one of the best sunsets you will ever see. It is also just minutes walk from Siesta Village, where you will find great bars and restaurants.

The hotel itself is more of a B&B (Be sure to bring your own shampoo, hairdryer etc...). The price was very good for the location. The rooms are pretty worn, but you have to expect that with a B&B type place on the beach (It is not ON the beach, but about a 2 minute walk across the street and they do supply beach chairs for guests). The outside is really nice and charming with very colorful art and chair swings, picnic tables, a firepit and fountain with Koi pond.

All in all, if you dont mind forgoeing a little luxury for a great price, great location and a little rustic feel, then this is your place. If you are one to complain about the room not being immaculate, you are probably not going to like this place.

We stayed in the "efficiency" suite, and the larger rooms looked a lot nicer. Our room had a Murphy bed and a ladder leading up to a loft bed. If you wanted to go on the cheap, you could sleep 4 in here, but would be a bit cramped. There were only 2 of us, and we were only there for a night, so this room was fine with us. It cost only $150 after taxes (February). Also includes a fridge, oven and Micro. The location alone is worth that price.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "efficiency" suite, and the larger rooms looked a lot nicer. Our room ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed for three weeks in January of 2012. The location is fantastic - the rooms are large and are tastefully appointed. The beds are very, very comfortable, we had good sleeps! The owner is very helpful -bends over backward to please. It is close to everything... we could walk everywhere. Thanks for a great stay, Mike. Beachpoint Resort is definitely a return trip destination for us.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beachpoint Resort Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachpoint Resort Cottages

Address: 125 Beach Road, Siesta Key, FL 34242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you vacation at Beachpoint on Siesta Key, you create memories. The eclectic cottages of Beachpoint are only 100 yards from the pure white, sugary sand of Siesta Key Beach. BeachPoint Resort Cottages is one of the very few vacation rental properties with direct access to a private area of the beach accessible primarily by foot or bike. Locals love this quiet and less crowded part of Siesta Beach. Our unique hotel offers eye candy everywhere: colorful cottages set in tropical gardens with vivid flowers, funky local art, large open sun decks and shaded courtyards. Gather with new friends in the courtyard, sunbathe on a deck with an ocean view, or hide away in a shady nook for a quiet read. You are just steps from the water and a short 2 minute stroll from Siesta Village, so you may never need to move your car! In the village you'll find a variety of restaurants and several bars featuring live music. You can shop with the locals for everything from groceries to clothes and shoes, books, souvenirs, and even hardware. And there's a US Post Office right in the local drugstore. All the conveniences are easily accessible, but Siesta Key maintains a feeling of old Florida. Locals treasure our pristine beaches which offer a protected habitat for native island birds, as well as the dolphins, manatees and other aquatic wildlife living just offshore. And each evening, locals and visitors walk or bike to our special part of the beach to see the best sunset views on the key. Once you visit the Beachpoint Cottages, you'll see why so many of our guests come back year after year to vacation with us on Siesta Key. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beachpoint Hotel Siesta Key
Beachpoint Resort Cottages Siesta Key, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachpoint Resort Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Beachpoint Resort Cottages to your Saves list