We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Backbrae House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Backbrae House
Save
You added Backbrae House to your Saves list
Carnwath Road | Braehead, Forth ML11 8EY , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Forth B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pure luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011 via mobile

Simply stunning setting and an amazing house.

Rooms were stunning and all the tiny details were so thought out.

There was nothing that was too much, they made us feel at home.

The cinema room and hot rub were amazing, followed by a lovely breakfast before we headed home.

Simply perfection and highly recommended. How this place isn't number 1 (it's currently number 2 on Trip Adviser) I don't know! Clearly not enough people have reviewed it :)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bathgate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Catherine and family could not have been more welcoming, the accomodation was stunning and the delicious breakfast will definately set you up for the day. A first class B & B, highly recommended.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 via mobile

From arrival to leaving myself and my husband experienced a bed and breakfast like no other. We were celebrating our 1st wedding anniversary and we couldn't have picked a better place to go. We enjoyed a bottle of bubbly in the hot tub, then chilled out in the cinema room and had a chair massage at the same time!!! We had asked Catherine to cook us dinner - wow!! She served us a banquet of foods to die for, breakfast was no disappointment either, another banquet of fine foods!! After dinner we treated ourselves to a jaccuzi bath and stretched out on the super king bed. Oh the luxury of it all, nothing was missed out, everything thought of and Catherine, Wilson and Alex were the perfect hosts. Nothing was a problem, we had been told that there was a pub up the hill but we didn't feel the need to leave. We enjoyed our stay so much we're going again in October. Can't wait!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Like the previous reviewer, we can not say enough wonderful things about Backbrae House and the owners - Catherine & Wilson. This is a first class B&B where every possible wish is granted.
PROS - The list could go on and on but a few are: elegant en-suite accomadations (beautifully decorated and large), a full Scottish breakfast (including Haggis!) with homemade breads (yes, really homemade!), a hot tube for guest use, a cinema room with reclining chairs (and great sound), and a family who are just the nicest and most gracious people around. If you go, have Catherine cook you dinner - she is a remarkable cook! With less than 45 minutes to downtown Glasgow by car, this B&B has it all!
CONS - Can't think of a single one!

We HIGHLY recommend Backbrae!

Room Tip: Have Catherine prepare dinner for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

just got back from backbrae house, i was there for the weekend with my wife and our friends, words just cannot describe this b&b, it was just rated 5 stars and it shows ! this place is immaculate from top to bottom. every detail of this b&b has been well planned and if the b&b is 5 stars then the family must be 10 stars !! wilson,cath and there daughter made our stay perfect in every way. such a lovely family, the breakfast WOW ! the breakfast was out of this world. the hot-tub was spotless,the cinema room was amazing. i honestly cant rate this place enough.INFACT IT WASNT A BREAK,IT WAS AN EXPERIENCE ! we wish you all the best in the future..and we will be back !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Our visit to Backbrae was unplanned, we were travelling home and needed somewhere to stay and found the place in a visitors guide. It is by far the best B&B we encoutered during the whole of our trip. The quality and standard of the house and furnishings is second to none.

Cath and Wilson are extremely good hosts and nothing is too much trouble. We did not get to use the hot tub or venture into the cinema room as our visit was so short but we would certainly go out of our way to stay again if we were ever in the vicinity.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Backbrae House is stunning! Lovely rooms finished to a very high standard, just like the rest of the building. Our bed was enormous and very very comfy, and the en-suite was modern with a very fancy shower! As well as tasty shortbread and a flat screen TV, our room had its own balcony which looked out onto the beautiful Scottish countryside. The balcony also houses a hot tub which unfortunately we only got to use once as our stay was quite short.
Breakfasts were fantastic - a variety of cereals, yoghurts, cold meats, cheeses, breads, fruits and if you preferred, a cooked breakfast was also available (haggis, black pudding, eggs, you name it, it was on the plate!).
Our hosts, Wilson and Catherine were superb. They really couldn't do enough. Catherine ironed my husbands shirt and Wilson brought us cold beer whilst we were in the hot tub! They made us feel so welcome and were such a friendly couple.
The location of Backbrae House suited us perfectly as we were visiting family in the next village but Braehead itself has a small pub which serves meals and the next village (less than 2 miles away) has a bank, pubs, shops and takeaways. Glasgow and Edinburgh are about 30mins drive away so if you want to be close to a city but explore the countryside too then this is the place for you!
I've stayed in a hotel in close by Lanark (part of a well known chain) which cost about the same price and doesn't even come close to the standard set by Backbrae House. I can't fault it it any way and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Backbrae House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backbrae House

Address: Carnwath Road | Braehead, Forth ML11 8EY , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Forth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Forth
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backbrae House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.