We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Gluten Free” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sombra Coffee Roastery & Cafe

Sombra Coffee Roastery & Cafe
9342 Oakhurst Road, Apt 1105, Seminole, FL 33776
727-400-6956
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 82 restaurants in Seminole
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Bagels, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious Gluten Free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We found Sombra Cafe through "Find Me Gluten Free", an app on my phone, while vacationing on the gulf. It's not just a coffee shop, although it has the best coffee around with delicious & quick pastries to go. We'd have to say it was the best breakfast experience of the trip and we made it a point to stop in more than once. When we were there we enjoyed their eggs benedict on a gluten free bagel w/ their homemade béarnaise sauce. My daughter, who is still adjusting to being gluten free was so satisfied with her gluten free toast and bacon, that she insisted we bring a few loaves back to the cottage with us. The gluten free muffins were soft, moist and delectable and the coffee was absolutely delicious (they roast it themselves). Everyone there was friendly, knowledgeable and went out of their way to make sure we had a pleasant, and safe, experience. What a gem! Thanks Sombra!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    8
    2
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seminole, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A local place to eat and meet friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This coffee shop is located in the Oakhurst Plaza and has grown since we first visited several months ago. Even though the address is incorrect it is easy to find, next to the Publix store.
They offer free wifi and a huge selection of fresh roasted coffee and a good selection of teas. The food is made fresh every day and the soup of the day is made from scratch by chef Tom. Very flavorful food and different from the other run of the mill cafes and snack bars. Sombra is in a class of its own. There is a very pleasant outside eating area as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
1 review
“Soooo Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I thought I knew about coffee, turns out I didn't. Tasting the different coffees grown around the world and roasted fresh here at Sombra has been a deliciously fun learning experience. It gets better, because the food at Sombra is just as tasty! You can tell Chef Tom makes everything from scratch, whether its a piping hot breakfast sandwich or a rich creamy soup, when you take that bite the flavor really POPS! Come on in to Sombra, you will be very happy you found this little gem in Seminole.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia, United States
1 review
“One of the best Chef in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Wow is all I can really say. This Coffee Shop (if that's what you want to call it) has some FANTASTIC Gourmet Coffee, Smoothies, and delicious Food. The owner Bobbi takes extreme pride in her investment. She has very personable staff and a Chef (Tom) who has a stunning palette. Chef Tom will give you some history lesson about their coffee that will give you a greater appreciation for coffee. I'm personally not an avid coffee drinker and now I drink 2-4 cups weekly. I highly recommend that you visit Sombra Coffee and experience the DELIGHTFUL taste awesomeness dancing in you mouth.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Roast their own coffee, what a find-- but lunch is so good too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Thrilled that we now have a place that roasts their own coffee--- there's nothing like truly fresh coffee that has been roasted within just a few days. the owner Bobbi here is very proud of her roasts and knows so much about coffee, loves educating her visitors about the different nuances in the beans, the grind, the roast.

In addition to the coffee though, they really have some incredible food for lunch or breakfast. Several interesting salads with housemade dressings, tons of healthy sandwiches with egg whites, traditional sandwiches and wraps too. I love the Spinach Florentine on wheat muffin with feta and portabello. I've only sampled the soups but they make them in house. They also have desserts and Gluten Free breads and baked goods.

A clean friendly small locally owned business, right next door to Publix and not far from the beach. The staff are very friendly and conscientious. Allow time to get your food because it takes awhile since everything is made to order.
Free wifi and puzzles and games, nice coffeeshop cafe vibe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sombra Coffee Roastery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sombra Coffee Roastery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sombra Coffee Roastery & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.