We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beds are terrible!!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa East to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11551 Discovery Lane, Seffner, FL 33584   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Seffner
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee
“Beds are terrible!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel is clean. Rooms are clean. Staff is friendly...but those beds. Comppletely horrible. Go get a sleeping bag, put it on the floor, that's how this mattress feels. If you don't like an extremely firm/hard mattress don't stay here. Breakfast was terrible. Turkey sausage was grey, eggs were rubbery and potatoes had no flavor.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnTampa, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa East, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, Country Inn & Suites, Tampa East. We are pleased that overall our establishment met your expectations for you and your family. We do however apologize for the comfort you did not achieve with our mattress. We attempt to purchase mattresses that will be comfortable for everyone but that is not always achieved due to different comfort levels.

On the matter of the complimentary breakfast you received, I apologize that it was not up to your expectations. We are required to follow corporate guideline when it come to what we serve. I you have any suggestions, please pass them along and I will be sure that corporate receives them.

On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    67
    17
    9
    17
See reviews for
163
149
23
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked the executive king suite. It was the size of a large one bedroom apartment!! Clean and huge. The living room couch folded out and there was a table in the living room. Perfect for 2 kids and 2 parents. The breakfast in the morning was really good and included in our stay. Hot food. Waffles and potatoes and lots more. My parents were staying in a rv park next door and they were shocked by the size and price. The pool is small but they give you towels. Will look for this brand again.

Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hubby, kids, and I stayed four nights and were pretty satisfied. The one bedroom suite was perfect, it allowed us to put the kids down and not disturb the kids in a separate bedroom with packing, TV, etc. We were happy with the breakfast, condition of room, and the general area. There is a lot of road construction, which was a nuisance, but that's not within the hotel's control. We had a few complaints. As others have noted, we had minor connectivity issues with the WiFi. On the whole we were able to use it, but the signal was weak at times. The bathrooms need help. No matter how we arranged the shower curtain we ended up with water in puddles on each side of the tub, which must be a recurrent issue based on mold in one corner of the room. Also, one hook and small towel rack in a suite made for four people...? There is also exterior work being done on the hotel, which didn't disturb us until check out when a usual Florida downpour opened up and soaked us and our luggage. The awning that would have kept us dry had a lift, tools, and workers sheltered under it. The equipment could have easily been arranged to take up only half of the awning, but instead hubby and I were soaked to our underwear. It is a shame none of the staff on duty tried to fix that for their customers. The complacency to let guests be soaked during check out (it was 10AM so prime time for loading up) ended our stay on a sour note.

Room Tip: Even number room was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnTampa, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa East, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, Country Inn & Suites, Tampa East.

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay and your departure with the rain and awning situation. Had I been available to witness the situation, I would have corrected that immediately. I apologize deeply.

If you could please respond and inform me of the room number you were in, I can look into the curtain situation and correct the issue so this will not happen in the future for you or any other of our guest.

On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 1 night as soon as I got here they had wrong room..I ordered king bed .forced to stay in 2 doubles. Booked with hotwire.. (never again) could have got better deal thru website..my room window had plastic sheeting over it..bathroom was old..not worth money..go some place else..1 person checking in 7 people..try Hampton Inn down the road..

Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnTampa, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa East, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, Country Inn & Suites, Tampa East.

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. We are currently doing some cosmetic improvement to our building, therefore, the painters must cover the windows with plastic in order to avoid getting paint on them. With improvements must come the downfalls, unfortunately the plastic was one of those downfalls. Again, we apologize.

As for being forced to occupy a double queen room in lieu of the king bed requested, again I apologize. If you could elaborate as to the reason you were given for the change I will be sure to look into the matter further.

Our staff is trained to deal with many people at one given time and if your check in was untimely, I apologize. We are only human and strive to do our best.

On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and hope you will give our establishment another chance to make your stay memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seffner
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa East
5.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa/Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa East/Brandon
2.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Tampa East - Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa East

Address: 11551 Discovery Lane, Seffner, FL 33584
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Seffner
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Seffner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest at Country Inn & Suites hotel in East Tampa, where our friendly service and convenient amenities will make you feel perfectly at home. This new hotel in the Tampa area provides a warm and welcoming atmosphere sure to delight both business and leisure travelers. Our East Tampa hotel is conveniently located near I-75 and I-4, not far from Sabal Park, USF, Busch Gardens, the Florida State Fairgrounds, the Amphitheatre, Hard Rock Casino and Port of Tampa. This hotel in Seffner offers easy access to downtown, cruise terminals, concerts, gulf coast beaches, and shopping in the Tampa area. Our hotel offers countless amenities like free breakfast, an outdoor pool, Fitness Center and high-speed Internet access. Make your reservations today and see what sets us apart from other hotels in Tampa Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Tampa East Hotel Seffner
Country Inn And Suites Tampa East
Country Inn Seffner

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.