We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For those who want to see "Real Florida"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highlands Hammock State Park

Highlands Hammock State Park
5931 Hammock Rd, Sebring, FL 33872
863-386-6094
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 Attractions in Sebring
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Viewing wildlife, Camping, Camping/rv
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hammock Inn Restaurant is located inside Highlands Hammock State Park. It is known for it's tasty homemade food, friendly staff and Wild Orange Ice Cream & Pie. It features an "All You Can Eat Fish" Fish Fry every Friday night from 5-8pm. No entrance fee is charged for just a restaurant visit-Based on the honor System. Worth the trip!
Sebring, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“For those who want to see "Real Florida"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This state park is a gem. Incredible Florida scenery and wild life. The tram tour that takes you into remote areas is really cool: we saw tons of gators, deer, owl, and otters. The park ranger who gave the tour was extremely informative and entertaining.The CCC museum was a unique piece of our American history: our park ranger told us about many famous people who were CCC members during the great depression. Everyone who wants to see what "Real Florida" looks like should make this one of their destinations. Several people on our tram tour were camping there and loved it. The trails are awesome!My favorite is the Cypress Swamp trail. Check it out, you will not be disappointed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    56
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sebring, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“stunning beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

there are so many trails and beauty and wildlife surrounds you! a must see.. we loved it so much that we got married in their outdoor chapel, no decorations needed mother nature in all her glory!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Florida state park in Sebring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We winter in Sebring and always get to the park at least once during that time. Do all the trails as it is such an interesting park. What "old Florida" looked like - you will feel like you are in the jungle. The tram ride is a must do but purchase your tickets early as it fills up fast. We saw dozens of alligators in March. Mother and three babies right next to the boardwalk on the boardwalk trail (another must). They have a camp grounds but have never seen it. Very inexpensive. Trust me, if you like nature, lots of interesting information, wildlife, and beautiful scenery you will love this park.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavernier, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best of Florida State Parks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We love it here. Perfect to explore either by foot our on bike. Love the on site restaurant. We camped in a 30' RV. There are many shady spots, full facility including washer and dryers. We didn't get a chanced to go on the Ranger team tour, but will go on a return trip.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobe Sound, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Checking out campgrounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Took a day to find and review a "new to us" campground.
The ranger at the gate was nice and informative. There's a $6 daily park admission fee, tent camping is $22.00 a night or $18.00 a night for primitive area. There is RV camping as well with a dump station. There is water and electric at the sites and each have a fire ring.
The park was not full (which is to be expected at this time of year in Florida), The camp area is clean and neat, but small and open, all in a compact circle which doesn't leave much for privacy. There are two amphitheaters on the premises.
There is a playground in the campgrounds and a volleyball net, bathhouses with ceiling fans and hot showers, washer and dryers and wash sink for dishes. The bathhouse area is very clean and organized.
There is a museum and restaurant on the premisses, we did not go into either one. There is also a playground, pavilions, and restrooms at this site. The park has beautiful large trees and a lot of walking trails and biking trails, they also rent bikes there as well.
The primitive camp area has one port-o-let and one water faucet at the only pavilion out there on site. We saw 2 deer and a armadillo as we were driving back out of the primitive camp area. We were looking for tent camping facilities for this fall-winter season coming up and this park looks to be on our list.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highlands Hammock State Park also viewed

 

Been to Highlands Hammock State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highlands Hammock State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.