We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starting 2013 at HH State Park Campsite!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Highlands Hammock State Park

Highlands Hammock State Park
5931 Hammock Rd, Sebring, FL 33872
863-386-6094
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Attractions in Sebring
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Viewing wildlife, Camping, Camping/rv
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hammock Inn Restaurant is located inside Highlands Hammock State Park. It is known for it's tasty homemade food, friendly staff and Wild Orange Ice Cream & Pie. It features an "All You Can Eat Fish" Fish Fry every Friday night from 5-8pm. No entrance fee is charged for just a restaurant visit-Based on the honor System. Worth the trip!
Plantation, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Starting 2013 at HH State Park Campsite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Park is not that big and was full of people on 12/31, and too much smoke but people were very nice and Park employees very nice.
On 1/1/13 half of campers left and it was better to breath. People from restaurant and museum extremely nice.
We went on a tour and saw a lot of alligators, turtles, birds. Nice tour very well explained.
Restrooms at campsite could be upgraded.

My kid and us enjoyed campibg there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    56
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Awesome! Very large with tons of trees.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Highland Hammocks is a huge state park. I'm sure we only saw part of it because its so huge. Beautiful trees, some many many years old. Some citrus growing on them. Plenty of camping space. There's even a restaurant on site!

A cool museum near the restaurant, as well as a playground for children. Many visible restrooms. Just a beautiful place to be in nature for a day and night.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Park - Easy Access For Day Hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I was very impressed with the Highlands Hammock State Park. Fantastic.... Plenty of clean hiking trails in and around the various park attractions. Many of the longer trails seem tranquil, lending the idea that you are alone in the Jurrasic time-period and a dinosaur will pop out any moment Don't miss the tram ride. It's $5 bucks and takes about 1.5 hours. Worth every penny. Stay in Sebring which is 15 minutes away.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hammocks State Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Nice place to drive around, picnic, walk, hike or bike! Actually, it is enough just to bike up to the entrance and back... (and free)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Day-trip walking tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife, my parents, and I really enjoyed taking a walk on one of the trails. It took us past a Momma alligator and two young un's, and later on an older, crusty fella. The visitor's area was very nice.........just disappointed that there was no restaurant at that time. Overall, a nice, inexpensive trip back to nature!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highlands Hammock State Park also viewed

 

Been to Highlands Hammock State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highlands Hammock State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.