We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capt Hiram's Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Capt Hiram's Resort to your Saves list
Capt Hiram's Resort
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1580 U.S. Highway 1, Sebastian, FL 32958   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sebastian
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A Great Experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I came into town with zero notice from Afghanistan for my fathers funeral, the staff was beyond any expectation, the room was neater and cleaner than any hotel room I've ever had, the price very spot on and the entire experience really helped ease an otherwise painful time.

Room Tip: Riverfront rooms have beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    69
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
39
89
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Placid, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Captain Hiram's Resort on Indian River in Sabastian, Florida is a relaxing and fun place to hang out. Right on US Highway 1, it's easy to find, although a bit confusing if you've never been there because of the way the property is spread out. Just focus on the main hotel building to start with and the helpful staff will guide you around from there. I highly recommend spending the extra money for a riverfront room - go for the best and get the king-size bed and jacuzzi room! It's heaven. The view from this room makes you feel as though you are in the best spot on the planet for sunset and sunrise. Photographers will appreciate the opportunity. You can also lounge on your own balcony but the huge window in the room allows for the perfect view from the jacuzzi and the bed. You'll still want to spend time away from your room, as steps away are more areas to hang out and relax: the charming restaurant has incredible seafood and the 'Sandbar" makes you feel like you're on your own island complete with sand with a great selection of alcoholic choices to select. There's an adorable gift shop as well. I've hung out here in the evenings and listened to great live music. I'm a groupie of a local band, Hair Peace, but this location hasn't booked them in a while. Would love to see them here again. This is a spot that truly should not be passed by.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a gem of a place. I'm here early in the week when there are no concerts going on so I've found it to be peaceful. My room was spacious and very quiet for sleeping. There's nice space to work (I'm here on business) -- and a pretty pool if I find time to play. The restaurant and bar are along the Indian River -- a short walk outside away from the hotel rooms -- and they have beautiful views. All the staff has been incredibly friendly and helpful. Plus - it seems to be convenient to many things. I recommend it.

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool, which has pretty lighting at night. The other sides of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed here last year and everything was great, however, this year things had changed. They must be under new management and the new changes they had put in effect made my family feel as though we were put second.

Good:
- Everyone was very nice.
- Rooms and resort were decorated nicely.
- TVs, Wifi, Tons of channels

Bad:
- The beds were okay if you had one person, but the second you put another person in the bed it felt as though it was going to break. Someone moved and it felt like their was an earthquake. After being in the car for 22 hours this was very hard on us.
- Bathroom was dirty when we arrived behind our door. There was a potato chip and someone's hair shoved back there.
- Housekeeping was knocking on our door at 8:30-9 AM to make the beds that we were still laying in! We asked the front desk and were told they wanted housekeeping out by 2. We stayed four days, this happened all four days. If we put the "Do not disturb" sign out they would skip our rooms all together, even if it was out by 10.
- Last year there was a beautiful spread for breakfast in a lower room. Something we were looking forward to again. It had been changed to just a coupon for the restaurant for the "American Classic" which was two eggs, homefries, toast and coffee. Anything more than that cost extra. We were there for four nights, you can not eat eggs everyday. This coupon was not even good to take money off of our purchase if we wanted to order something else. After dropping $1000 to stay here for 4 days, we were highly disappointed that they had taken away the spread of cereals, waffles, drinks, etc. that had been part of the complimentary continental breakfast. We could have stayed somewhere cheaper and gotten a better breakfast had we known this was taken away.
- We had little ants running around in our bathroom. The man at the front desk had been great, he ran up, apologized and wiped down the bathroom. However they were back the next day.


After all of this we felt as we had been put second when we were paying good money to be on vacation. It was felt that they have been cutting costs and doing so effected our stay. We were highly disappointed and will be looking for somewhere else to stay next year.

Room Tip: Used to love going here but no more, look into somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hirams, Manager at Capt Hiram's Resort, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for your valued feedback. I wanted to personally apologize to you for this experience. It is most certainly not acceptable for any of our guests to feel as though they are not our top priority. As the hotel Manager I take pride in our hotel and its staff as I have over the four years of my tenor. We as an establishment continue to evolve over the years and as our market demand changes.
It is unfortunate that you felt as though the value of a hot breakfast, as compared to the deluxe continental we served in the past, was not of value. As of October 2012 our restaurant began serving breakfast seven days a week. This coupled with our current economic climate made the deluxe continental encompassed expense a redundancy. For the majority of guests however the hot breakfast was well received. I do understand your point regarding the monotony of the same breakfast daily over the length of your stay. I will address this with the resort manager, thank you for bringing this to our attention.
As I inspect our rooms prior to our guest’s arrivals I personally take responsibility for the issue of cleanliness you bring up. For this I apologize as there is absolutely no excuse for this oversight. This is certainly not our standard as you can see from the other reviews on this website, traditionally our room cleanliness is a point of satisfaction for our guests.
Our housekeeping staff works diligently to provide excellent and timely service to each and every guest in our resort. Our staff begins the day servicing rooms from 9am on. Any door that presents a “Do Not Disturb (DND)” sign will not receive service. The staff diligently places a small notice under any door displaying a “DND”. This notice clearly states that the room will not be serviced if the “DND” sign remains on the door after 2pm. It is in the staff’s best interest to attend to the room as their reimbursements are dictated by room the count. I personally check rooms daily as the housekeepers tend to them, under no circumstance in my tenor has a housekeeper willingly not attended to a room that removed the “DND” prior to 2pm.
We enlist contracted services for our pest control needs. Although each room in the resort is serviced to this regard on a quarterly rotation we do still occasionally deal with some of Florida’s longest standing inhabitants, the ant. It is an unfortunate characteristic that “Ghost Ants” not only are resilient but multiply exceptionally quickly. These micro-ants although harmless are certainly a nuisance. Again at the risk of sounding redundant I apologize for this aspect of your stay.
Please contact me directly as I would like to further discuss the details of your stay in an effort to one ensure that this does not happen again, and two to afford you and your family some opportunity of resolve. Thank you again for your honest feedback. I look forward to speaking to you.
Jonathan Starratt, Hotel Manager 772-388-8588
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was our first time to Sebastian and we loved it! The Inn at Capt Hiram's was everything I hoped it would be and more! The place is lovely and clean, has spacious comfortable rooms and lovely staff. Sebastian itself was great, we weren't really sure what to expect as it was a new area for us, we were pleasantly rewarded for being up for exploring a new place.
The breakfast was included in our booking and I loved the 'Redneck Benedict' - a great portion of filling, tasty comfort food to start the day with friendly service from the staff. The free coffee and pastries in the lobby were much appreciated as was the use of the computer.
We went to the Archie Carr beach just down the road to relax and sunbathe, it's a lovely beach and was really quiet when we were there. We will return to this hotel, hopefully sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor overlooking the bar and restaurant buildings which are across a car par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

This place has a very friendly staff. The rooms have such a beautiful view. The rooms are super clean and are nicely decorated. They have a nice little back porch and at night you can hear the music from the restaurant, it was nice to sit back, relax and listen. We got a free breakfast at the restaurant with our stay. They were very accommodating with their pricing as well. I have already recommended this place to everyone. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Ga
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

First time here, and I'll be back when its warmer! The front desk man @ check in was very accommodating and helpful! Rooms were big, clean & very nicely furnished with luxury bedding. Nice big flat screen tv. Grounds were nicely landscaped, plenty of parking! Nice porch area off rooms. Tiki bar area was really cool with heaters, nice palms, nautical theme and friendly staff. Band was good! A free breakfast was included with my stay, and it was delicious and filling!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hirams, Manager at Capt Hiram's Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you so very much for having taken the time to review us! We appreciate your valuable feedback. It is guests such as you that make the hospitality industry so very rewarding. Thank you again. We look forward to when next we may have the opportunity to serve you as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capt Hiram's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capt Hiram's Resort

Address: 1580 U.S. Highway 1, Sebastian, FL 32958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sebastian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sebastian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Capt Hiram's Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Capt Hiram's Resort offers an island resort atmosphere right on Sebastian’s River Front. Our Sebastian Florida Hotel is designed to appeal to weekend travelers, fishermen, business travelers and long term guests. The Inn has King or Double Queens room types. All of our smoke-free rooms have private balconies, many overlooking the beautiful Indian River, Internet access with complimentary WI FI. Other amenities offered by The Inn at Capt Hiram's, include coffee makers, small refrigerators, hair dryer, iron and board, in-room safes, 43" TVs, and rich, colorful tropical décor. The free-form, heated pool is beautifully landscaped with tropical foliage. Coin laundry and vending machines are also available to our guests.Guests of our Sebastian Florida hotel enjoy full access to our other wonderful features, including the riverfront restaurant (serving breakfast, lunch & dinner) and 4 bars: the Bahamian-style SandBar complete with Bimini Beach, the Coral Bar and Scoops. We also have the Grand Stand Bandstand with great live entertainment 7 days a week, the Boatique Gift Shop, and our marina nestled on the Intracoastal Waterway has 60 boat slips available and you can enjoy deep-sea and river fishing; scenic river cruises on the Indian River Lagoon, jet ski and boat rentals, and kayak tours.All this and so much more, in one location - so what are you waiting for? Come to Capt Hiram's, where you can be lazy or get crazy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Capt Hiram's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capt Hiram`s Hotel Sebastian
Captain Hirams Hotel
Captain Hirams Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capt Hiram's Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.