We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suntide Island Beach Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suntide Island Beach Club
Save Saved
You added Suntide Island Beach Club to your Saves list
850 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The sun tide is a great place to stay if you want something laid back, relaxed, whether you are using it as a place to retreat to or to launch from. It's close enough to the beach to walk, it's actually on the beach, but far enough away to get away from it for a little. The pool was good and the jacuzzi was equally nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    2
    5
    6
See reviews for
28
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
DeLand, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed in a 2BR/2BA - Unit # 215 and everything was great! This is not a fancy place, but it is very well maintained and managed. The beach is great and it's the perfect location for walking up to St. Armands for dinner and then burning off a few calories on the walk back (about 12 minutes)! They have everything you need: pool chairs, pool, hot tub, grills, tiki huts to sit in the shade, ping-pong, shuffle-board. If you have little ones that nap during the day, you may want to get a room as far away from the pool as possible - since it gets pretty loud during the day. This was our 4th stay & we can definitely recommend this place! Unit 215 in particular is great - as it has excellent gulf views (most units do not) during the day and refreshing cool breezes in the evening! I would give them 5-stars instead of 4 (close call) but like I said -it's not fancy & as a 2-level property; it does not offer the fantastic views you can get in a high-rise.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sainte Agathe des Monts, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Sun-Tide Beah Club on Lido beach in Sarasota Florida in April. We were walkins without reservations.We were very impressed by the unit , it's cleanliness, beach front location with direct acces and discretion of the guests.
We definately intend to return on our next trip to Sarasota if units are available.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My wife and i just returned from a week at Sun Tide Beach. We were very concerned, having never been there before, about some of the negative reviews. Our experience was 5 star. We didn't find any of the negatives mentioned and found many positives. Our room was over the office and we had a perfect view of the pool and beach. Only negative would be "no elevator", if you are on the second floor. Since my wife and I bring "everything we own" it did take some effort moving in and moving out, but it was worth it. We plan on returning to this resort. P.S. Each room has a designated parking place. We found this to be very helpful as parking at some of the larger resorts can be very frustrating.

Room Tip: All rooms are close to pool, no real bad locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We spent 2 weeks here in March and really enjoyed the area. It is right on the beach, it was not crowded and there is no commercial strip so has a very peaceful atmosphere unlike other areas such as Treasure Island further up the coast. This property is a 10 minute walk to St Armands Circle, which is a lovely spot, and Sarasota is a 10 minute drive when the Causeway is not clogged with traffic.

The property itself is nice, the units are spotless and comfortable and it is right on the beach so the location is terrific. We did not find the staff rude at all but were asked to close our door once, even though it was open for about 1 minute to check out the weather. Our first week we were in unit 134 which I would never take again. It is larger than the the majority of 1 BR units but it has no actual windows so it is like being in a cave. It is an exception as the most other 1 BR units have a big picture window, just bad luck for us that we got it. Also, it only has a double bed, the others I believe have queens. Thankfully, for our second week we were in a standard unit which we found very comfortable.

We would recommend the Suntide but would make sure that you are not in 134 or a unit like it.

Room Tip: Not 134 or one like it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We are owners who come from the Pacific NW each year for a month. We always look forward to the stay seeing friends and the FRIENDLY staff. The rules all have a purpose and are not difficult to keep and they keep our maintenance fees down. It's usually the people exchanging in that don't like the rules, although that is how we started visiting and then loved it so much bought four weeks.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have the best view. Steps a little steep for older/infirm people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our Vacation didn't start very well. Upon check-in, I asked if we could get an oceanview condo. I was quite surprised when the check-in clerk laughed and said, "You're on a timeshare," as if a timeshare trade was something bad. We let that remark go and went to park our car. Assigned parking, for us, was a long distance from our condo, which was not convenient but we worked with it.

The room could have used a good vacuuming, but was otherwise clean. Rules were posted everywhere throughout the resort and the condo and there were so many it was laughable. The resort is on a beautiful beach, which was very nice.

What really ruined our experience was the manager. My husband was outside our condo door but had left the door open to air out the room. It was morning and very cool outside. I was inside, getting ready for the day, drying my hair and did not hear the manager request in a very stern manner that my husband close the door and keep it closed to help combat a mold problem. My husband complied.

I, having not heard their conversation, stepped out the door, only about a foot, to ask my husband a question, intending to go right back in, I left the door ajar. The manager bounded up the stairs and yelled "I told you to keep the door closed and if I have to tell you again, I will charge you for my time." Stunned, I just looked at him with my mouth opened, but said okay. He turned and started back down the stairs and said, "Damned RCI people."

What???? You are a rude man! Really, the first time I have ever been so upset by customer service at a resort. Then when we returned from our day trip, there was a message from management on the voice-mail system, tell us again to keep the door to the condo closed. We will never stay there again! If they do not want RCI people at their resort, stop being a RCI resort, but don't take it out on your guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suntide Island Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suntide Island Beach Club

Address: 850 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sarasota
Also Known As:
Suntide Island Beach Club Hotel Sarasota
Suntide Island Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suntide Island Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.