We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property on the Gulf on Lido Key” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suntide Island Beach Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suntide Island Beach Club
850 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel amenities
Owen Sound, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great property on the Gulf on Lido Key”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here Feb. 2013. We had a two bedroom, small but efficient, thirty feet from the pool. We were about two to three hundred feet from the Gulf. The sand beach is beautiful clean beach, suited for beachcombing. Twenty minutes walk to St. Armands Circle, a boutique style shopping and dining area. The rooms and furniture is somewhat dated but so what? You are there to enjoy the outside

Room Tip: All rooms are more or less the same. Choose one or two bedroom to suit your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Myself and my family visit Suntide every year without fail. The resort is absolutely lovely and the people staying there are so welcoming and now feel like family! The staff are all very kind and friendly and are always there when needed.

The resort and beach itself are kept immaculate and are always updated. The beach is absolutely beautiful with the perfect sunsets ever! The rooms are lovely with everything you need for your stay. The pool and hot tub are always kept extremely clean, and are the perfect temperature.

Coffee and pastry morning and 'hot dog day' are once a week for a very cheap price!

I countdown the days until we travel over from the UK to our second home! Mine and my families favourite place in the world!

Perfect location, neighbours, people, staff, beach, weather.. You'd be missing out!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

First time stay and a little dubious given some of the negative comments on this site...none of which were founded in our experience. We had two units for an adult family reunion over prior to Christmas...both 2-bed units very clean and comfortable. A couple of very minor maintenance issues attended to within an hour with friendly service. Off season so fairly quiet and yes, there are quite a lot of rules posted around but only pointing out things that any sensible family would or should in any case do - or not do. Loved the shuffle board court and great fun with table tennis..pool small but with the most beautiful Lido beach on the doorstep perfect for swimming no matter what age as you have to go out quite a way before water becomes deep. The photos are not exaggerated. Perfactly situated for 10-minute walk to St Armands Circle - sadly never found the time to rent a bike and explore. Make sure you 'turn left' on the beach and walk around corner to the very peaceful inlet - perfect for early morning dolphin sightings. Woild definitely go back - but management, despite not wanting to leave, could have done without the rather 'brusque' message to remember to check out by 1000! Kitchens minimally stocked but adequate...only store cupboard ingredients are small salt and pepper - absolutely nothing else. Best place to shop for groceries - 10 minutes off island either to Publix Longboat Key or one a little closer in Sarasota which did have a slightly better selection of fresh produce.

Room Tip: Definitely an upper room - lower rooms either open on to swimming pool area or parking lot with only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have been going here for over 20 years and the other guests have become like family--I don't rent a car,it's a short walk to St. Armands circle with it's shopping and restaurants and there always seems to be someone who will take me grocery shopping.The hot tub is a favourite meeting place especially in the evening.The decor is changed on a regular basis and remember this is on the same beach as the Ritz Carlton----check out their prices.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Having read through all these reviews,I would ignore the bad ones.My Husband and I have been coming to this resort for twenty years,with Family or friends and we have never experienced the awful things that have been said. The staff are wonderful! Walt manages the place and keeps it impeccable and Cheryl is a delight to see every year.The housekeeping staff do an excellent job.Beaches and surrounding area are great.
Criminal resort staff??? What planet do you live on? They are as accommodating as it's possible to be.It's a wonderful place to get away and relax in. (except Thanksgiving week which is very noisy) Yes,there are rules,but they are there for a reason. We've made lovely friends throughout our times there and will keep coming back 'til we pop our clogs.Thank you,Walt,Cheryl and all the staff for all you do.And for all your help last year when I needed it.xx

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Although this resort is dated and rather small without a ton of amenities, it's perfect for the getaway couple looking for a place to just relax in the sun! Would not recommend this resort to families with children looking for a lot to do because really there's not much on the whole island. We couldn't even order in dinner, no place delivered on the island. There is a nice shopping and dinner place about a mile up but mostly expensive shops and expensive restaurants had to go off the island for everything! Bight the resort is pleasant and a nice place to unwind.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

My family stayed here recently. We enjoyed the beach and pool, but this was overshadowed by the horrible staff. The number of and absurd nature of all the rules is comical.

Our room's carpet was wet at check in. When we inquired about the reason for wet carpet, the office personnel had no reason. They said, "just keep the fan on."

I had purchased tickets to a local sporting event online and needed to print my tickets. I asked if I could simply plug in my computer and print or email the tix to the front desk to let them print for me. You would have thought I asked for the world. I was told absolutely not and it was like pulling teeth to get her to recommend somewhere local to do so.

The icing on the cake was upon returning home, we were billed $300 for being overcapacity in our room for the one week. I guess my two year old daughter really put a financial burden on this place.

Let's all band together and put this place out of business.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Suntide Island Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suntide Island Beach Club

Also Known As:
Suntide Island Beach Club Hotel Sarasota
Suntide Island Beach Club Hotel
Suntide Island Beach Hotel
Address: 850 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Location: United States > Florida > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Specialty lodging in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suntide Island Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Suntide Island Beach Club to your Saves list