We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suntide Island Beach Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suntide Island Beach Club
Save
You added Suntide Island Beach Club to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   850 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Happy times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have been going here for over 20 years and the other guests have become like family--I don't rent a car,it's a short walk to St. Armands circle with it's shopping and restaurants and there always seems to be someone who will take me grocery shopping.The hot tub is a favourite meeting place especially in the evening.The decor is changed on a regular basis and remember this is on the same beach as the Ritz Carlton----check out their prices.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    19
    3
    6
    6
See reviews for
31
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Having read through all these reviews,I would ignore the bad ones.My Husband and I have been coming to this resort for twenty years,with Family or friends and we have never experienced the awful things that have been said. The staff are wonderful! Walt manages the place and keeps it impeccable and Cheryl is a delight to see every year.The housekeeping staff do an excellent job.Beaches and surrounding area are great.
Criminal resort staff??? What planet do you live on? They are as accommodating as it's possible to be.It's a wonderful place to get away and relax in. (except Thanksgiving week which is very noisy) Yes,there are rules,but they are there for a reason. We've made lovely friends throughout our times there and will keep coming back 'til we pop our clogs.Thank you,Walt,Cheryl and all the staff for all you do.And for all your help last year when I needed it.xx

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Although this resort is dated and rather small without a ton of amenities, it's perfect for the getaway couple looking for a place to just relax in the sun! Would not recommend this resort to families with children looking for a lot to do because really there's not much on the whole island. We couldn't even order in dinner, no place delivered on the island. There is a nice shopping and dinner place about a mile up but mostly expensive shops and expensive restaurants had to go off the island for everything! Bight the resort is pleasant and a nice place to unwind.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My family stayed here recently. We enjoyed the beach and pool, but this was overshadowed by the horrible staff. The number of and absurd nature of all the rules is comical.

Our room's carpet was wet at check in. When we inquired about the reason for wet carpet, the office personnel had no reason. They said, "just keep the fan on."

I had purchased tickets to a local sporting event online and needed to print my tickets. I asked if I could simply plug in my computer and print or email the tix to the front desk to let them print for me. You would have thought I asked for the world. I was told absolutely not and it was like pulling teeth to get her to recommend somewhere local to do so.

The icing on the cake was upon returning home, we were billed $300 for being overcapacity in our room for the one week. I guess my two year old daughter really put a financial burden on this place.

Let's all band together and put this place out of business.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Location location location! That all that really needs to be said. If you want a beach in your back yard this is the place. No sterile hotel lobby to walk through just open your door and you're steps away from the beach. The outdoor decks and grills made it feel like home. We lived in our bathing suits the first couple days. Going to the beach, pool and grilling out for meals. We were in a one bedroom and the unit was just OK, so don't plan on a 5-star resort room. You shouldn't be in your unit much anyway as there is lots to do in the area. Definitely recommend the Ringling Circus Museum. Great food places all around and if you don't mind a short drive the Beach House at Anna Maria is fantastic for incredible sunsets, food, and service. Remember this place is about location if your not going for the beach, pool, and outdoor decks and grills its not the place for you.

Room Tip: Try to get a upper floor room facing the pool area and the beach off one of the larger decks. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

My family owns several weeks and we go each year at least once. Great location, very clean and well maintained. While this is billed as a resort, it is better described as a small timeshare complex. Each unit has a kitchen and living room, furnished with basic equipment, plus a gated parking area with assigned parking space.
This was my first August visit, a little more vacancy than other times I have been there. Also, they will not rent out a unit for a single night.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We bought our week 30 years ago when we lived in Sarasota. We visited many timeshares before we decided on Suntide. Outside of some problems in the early years with the old management, we have not regretted our purchase. Walt, Sheryl and the gang have been exceptional. The units and the grounds are not just "kept up" they are constantly being improved and updated. Kudos to all involved. We now live in Northeast Georgia and look forward to our beach week.
It's like family reunion time when we see the others who have been there as long as we have. We are not only enjoying the children we watched grow up, but now their children as well.

Room Tip: We have unit 134 with no view except the driveway but are only in there to sleep. It has a larger l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.4 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 46 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 46 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 1,123 reviews
4.9 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#4 of 11 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lido Beach Resort
Lido Beach Resort
#26 of 46 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suntide Island Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suntide Island Beach Club

Address: 850 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Sarasota
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suntide Island Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Suntide Island Beach Club Hotel Sarasota
Suntide Island Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suntide Island Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.