We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's something wrong with some of these reviewers!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suntide Island Beach Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suntide Island Beach Club
Save Saved
You added Suntide Island Beach Club to your Saves list
850 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel amenities
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“There's something wrong with some of these reviewers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Having read through all these reviews,I would ignore the bad ones.My Husband and I have been coming to this resort for twenty years,with Family or friends and we have never experienced the awful things that have been said. The staff are wonderful! Walt manages the place and keeps it impeccable and Cheryl is a delight to see every year.The housekeeping staff do an excellent job.Beaches and surrounding area are great.
Criminal resort staff??? What planet do you live on? They are as accommodating as it's possible to be.It's a wonderful place to get away and relax in. (except Thanksgiving week which is very noisy) Yes,there are rules,but they are there for a reason. We've made lovely friends throughout our times there and will keep coming back 'til we pop our clogs.Thank you,Walt,Cheryl and all the staff for all you do.And for all your help last year when I needed it.xx

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    2
    5
    6
See reviews for
28
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Although this resort is dated and rather small without a ton of amenities, it's perfect for the getaway couple looking for a place to just relax in the sun! Would not recommend this resort to families with children looking for a lot to do because really there's not much on the whole island. We couldn't even order in dinner, no place delivered on the island. There is a nice shopping and dinner place about a mile up but mostly expensive shops and expensive restaurants had to go off the island for everything! Bight the resort is pleasant and a nice place to unwind.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

My family stayed here recently. We enjoyed the beach and pool, but this was overshadowed by the horrible staff. The number of and absurd nature of all the rules is comical.

Our room's carpet was wet at check in. When we inquired about the reason for wet carpet, the office personnel had no reason. They said, "just keep the fan on."

I had purchased tickets to a local sporting event online and needed to print my tickets. I asked if I could simply plug in my computer and print or email the tix to the front desk to let them print for me. You would have thought I asked for the world. I was told absolutely not and it was like pulling teeth to get her to recommend somewhere local to do so.

The icing on the cake was upon returning home, we were billed $300 for being overcapacity in our room for the one week. I guess my two year old daughter really put a financial burden on this place.

Let's all band together and put this place out of business.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Location location location! That all that really needs to be said. If you want a beach in your back yard this is the place. No sterile hotel lobby to walk through just open your door and you're steps away from the beach. The outdoor decks and grills made it feel like home. We lived in our bathing suits the first couple days. Going to the beach, pool and grilling out for meals. We were in a one bedroom and the unit was just OK, so don't plan on a 5-star resort room. You shouldn't be in your unit much anyway as there is lots to do in the area. Definitely recommend the Ringling Circus Museum. Great food places all around and if you don't mind a short drive the Beach House at Anna Maria is fantastic for incredible sunsets, food, and service. Remember this place is about location if your not going for the beach, pool, and outdoor decks and grills its not the place for you.

Room Tip: Try to get a upper floor room facing the pool area and the beach off one of the larger decks. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

My family owns several weeks and we go each year at least once. Great location, very clean and well maintained. While this is billed as a resort, it is better described as a small timeshare complex. Each unit has a kitchen and living room, furnished with basic equipment, plus a gated parking area with assigned parking space.
This was my first August visit, a little more vacancy than other times I have been there. Also, they will not rent out a unit for a single night.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We bought our week 30 years ago when we lived in Sarasota. We visited many timeshares before we decided on Suntide. Outside of some problems in the early years with the old management, we have not regretted our purchase. Walt, Sheryl and the gang have been exceptional. The units and the grounds are not just "kept up" they are constantly being improved and updated. Kudos to all involved. We now live in Northeast Georgia and look forward to our beach week.
It's like family reunion time when we see the others who have been there as long as we have. We are not only enjoying the children we watched grow up, but now their children as well.

Room Tip: We have unit 134 with no view except the driveway but are only in there to sleep. It has a larger l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

You just can't get much better than this. Very up to date modern condos with all the amenities. Great Views. Fabulous service. Friendly staff. The guests are a family amongst themselves and welcome newcomers as part of that family, Daily cookouts, singing around the pool and hot tub. Assigned parking. The condos are right on the Beach. Space is limited on the beach so be prepared to park in your assigned parking as with all beach resorts. This one is slightly different in that the parking lot is at the end of the condos between them and the beach, but really, who cares? More parking available in front on the street. Walking distance to St Armands Square for the best in shopping and dining. Low cost tourist shopping to upper scale high end art shops of various types. The dining is outstanding whether looking for a local pub / bar, or family dining or elegant dining for two in a romantic setting. Beast restaurant for food and drink is Cha Cha Coconuts for fabulous wings (made them give me the recipe and have made them at home many times) and terrific rum runners. (add a shot of 151 rum). Lots of entertainment too (especially after a few of the rum runners and 151 shots). We were there in Oct/ Nov 2010 and there were hundreds of Zombies walking the square for Halloween. What fun. Weather is nearly always great in the Sarasota area and lots to do everywhere. And the pristine snow white beaches are the best. We see lots of resorts advertise white sand beaches, but none compare to the beaches of Lido Key and neighboring Siesta Key, Do yourself a favor and take a trip over to Old Town Siesta Key for blocks of drinking and restaurants. Amazing fun. We have stayed at many of the hotels, resorts, condos along Ben Franklin Drive in Sarasota and find the Sun Tide to be the very best of them all.

Room Tip: uppper floor rooms have a better view of the ocean. We stayed toward the front at the top of the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suntide Island Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suntide Island Beach Club

Address: 850 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sarasota
Also Known As:
Suntide Island Beach Club Hotel Sarasota
Suntide Island Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suntide Island Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.