We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been going for years, will go again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suntide Island Beach Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suntide Island Beach Club
850 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel amenities
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Been going for years, will go again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

My family owns several weeks and we go each year at least once. Great location, very clean and well maintained. While this is billed as a resort, it is better described as a small timeshare complex. Each unit has a kitchen and living room, furnished with basic equipment, plus a gated parking area with assigned parking space.
This was my first August visit, a little more vacancy than other times I have been there. Also, they will not rent out a unit for a single night.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We bought our week 30 years ago when we lived in Sarasota. We visited many timeshares before we decided on Suntide. Outside of some problems in the early years with the old management, we have not regretted our purchase. Walt, Sheryl and the gang have been exceptional. The units and the grounds are not just "kept up" they are constantly being improved and updated. Kudos to all involved. We now live in Northeast Georgia and look forward to our beach week.
It's like family reunion time when we see the others who have been there as long as we have. We are not only enjoying the children we watched grow up, but now their children as well.

Room Tip: We have unit 134 with no view except the driveway but are only in there to sleep. It has a larger l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

You just can't get much better than this. Very up to date modern condos with all the amenities. Great Views. Fabulous service. Friendly staff. The guests are a family amongst themselves and welcome newcomers as part of that family, Daily cookouts, singing around the pool and hot tub. Assigned parking. The condos are right on the Beach. Space is limited on the beach so be prepared to park in your assigned parking as with all beach resorts. This one is slightly different in that the parking lot is at the end of the condos between them and the beach, but really, who cares? More parking available in front on the street. Walking distance to St Armands Square for the best in shopping and dining. Low cost tourist shopping to upper scale high end art shops of various types. The dining is outstanding whether looking for a local pub / bar, or family dining or elegant dining for two in a romantic setting. Beast restaurant for food and drink is Cha Cha Coconuts for fabulous wings (made them give me the recipe and have made them at home many times) and terrific rum runners. (add a shot of 151 rum). Lots of entertainment too (especially after a few of the rum runners and 151 shots). We were there in Oct/ Nov 2010 and there were hundreds of Zombies walking the square for Halloween. What fun. Weather is nearly always great in the Sarasota area and lots to do everywhere. And the pristine snow white beaches are the best. We see lots of resorts advertise white sand beaches, but none compare to the beaches of Lido Key and neighboring Siesta Key, Do yourself a favor and take a trip over to Old Town Siesta Key for blocks of drinking and restaurants. Amazing fun. We have stayed at many of the hotels, resorts, condos along Ben Franklin Drive in Sarasota and find the Sun Tide to be the very best of them all.

Room Tip: uppper floor rooms have a better view of the ocean. We stayed toward the front at the top of the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We booked a room through RCI & were lucky to get a one-bedroom on the second floor overlooking the pool & with a view of the beach. Would definitely not want to stay in one of the first floor units which appear dark & have no view. Our unit was clean, comfortable, nicely furnished (microsuede sofa, leather lounge chair, 42" flat screen TV with DVD/CD), fully stocked kitchen.
The resort has a small pool, lots of beach chairs & grills, a short walk through the parking area to the beach. Limited activities (coffee & pastries on Mon., hot dog lunch on Wed.) but lots of things to do nearby--St. Armand's Circle for shopping/restaurants, Ringling Museum of Art, Mote Marine Aquarium, Marie Shelby Botanical Gardens. Go view the sunset in the lounge on the 8th floor of the Lido Beach Resort nearby.

Room Tip: Second floor only. One bedroom was comfortable for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coshocton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We just returned from a two week vacation at Suntide Island Beach Club. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. They were always available to answer questions and suggest local restuarants that were yummy! Our condo was very clean and well furnished. There is no odor of mold. You are steps from the pool and ocean from any condo unit there. The beach is beautiful with awesome sunsets. There are many owners that have been coming there for many years. Friends are quickly made. Grocery stores and gas stations are approximately 10 minutes away (over the John Ringling Bridge into Sarasota). Remember, Suntide Island Beach Club is located on Lido Key (island) where it is very private. The only con would be the pillows are too hard. We plan to return in September as we own multiple weeks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill, NY
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

This is an old tired resort. The pool is small. The rooms are outdated. The staff was not very friendly except for the housekeeping staff. There are too many rules to follow. Only two resort sponsored activites - morning coffee and a hot dog lunch. The only good thing about this resort is that it is on a beautiful beach. We will not be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

All of you who are searching for a great family resort ; Ignore the few bad reviews as they make claims that are totally false.
We have been going to the Suntide since 1994.My parents since 1965 and look so much foreard to going every October that I mark off and number the days on my calender
until I have the great pleasure to return.
The rooms NEVER smell of mold.The staff is helpful and pleasant.The outside facilities are always neat and clean.The other vacationers are a great bunch of people and most communicate even during the year via e mail.The rooms are always cool and even have cieling fans along with the air conditioners. You can access your computer thru the internet.
I don't understand where those few that reported bad reviews stayed but it surely was not the Suntide.
I rate the Suntide as one of the best managed resorts on Lido Beach Florida.
There is always that 1% of people who would complain if everything was free and they were waited on hand & foot.
Ignore them and join us for a fun filled vacation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Suntide Island Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suntide Island Beach Club

Also Known As:
Suntide Island Beach Club Hotel Sarasota
Suntide Island Beach Club Hotel
Suntide Island Beach Hotel
Address: 850 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Location: United States > Florida > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Specialty lodging in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suntide Island Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Suntide Island Beach Club to your Saves list