We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad reviewers must drink kool aid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suntide Island Beach Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suntide Island Beach Club
Save
You added Suntide Island Beach Club to your Saves list
850 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel amenities
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Bad reviewers must drink kool aid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

All of you who are searching for a great family resort ; Ignore the few bad reviews as they make claims that are totally false.
We have been going to the Suntide since 1994.My parents since 1965 and look so much foreard to going every October that I mark off and number the days on my calender
until I have the great pleasure to return.
The rooms NEVER smell of mold.The staff is helpful and pleasant.The outside facilities are always neat and clean.The other vacationers are a great bunch of people and most communicate even during the year via e mail.The rooms are always cool and even have cieling fans along with the air conditioners. You can access your computer thru the internet.
I don't understand where those few that reported bad reviews stayed but it surely was not the Suntide.
I rate the Suntide as one of the best managed resorts on Lido Beach Florida.
There is always that 1% of people who would complain if everything was free and they were waited on hand & foot.
Ignore them and join us for a fun filled vacation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    18
    2
    5
    6
See reviews for
30
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Robert, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife and I travel by motorcycle several times a year all over the country. This year our June trip was "the long way back home." We left Missouri, stopped in Nashville, then to Biloxi, Fort Walton Beach (the Best Western suxs!!!), then Gainsville and Sarasota. Normally finding a hotel on a road trip is pretty easy, but not here! We road by Suntide and decided to see if they had any vacancies, yup, we got a nice condo for a few days and loved it! The place was clean and fresh, staff and other guests were extremely friendly, and the beach was unbelievable! Did you ever have a mantee swim up within five feet of you? Those things are huge! We are definitely going back and serious thinking about buying a time share at suntide, it was that nice. It was hard to leave, bt we still had to ride over to Fort Lauderdale, then up the east coast through the smokies and back to Missouri, work suxs!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

We had neighbors outside talking at 3am two nights in a row; the walls must be paper thin because I could hear every word, and they were not being loud, really. The rooms are a few feet away from roadways/parking.; the close proximity is almost laughable. Expect to be awakended by cars and talking.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

We had a wonderful time! The people were very nice and helpful.The rooms were clean and there was so much to do! We loved it!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

When we walked into our 2 bedroom condo (which we stayed at for 7 days) we were very surprised at how nicely it was laid out. The living room was just updated with microsuede furniture and a nice recliner and of course a 42" flat screen tv. The first bedroom did not have an HD Tv but the main bedroom did and it was very nicely positioned from the ceiling. There is a shower in one bathroom and a full bah in the other bedroom. The kitchen was spacious and had allthe dinnerwear we needed and pots and pans to cook with and a microwave, etc. Our room faced the parking lot, but if we looked left we seen the pool and right was the beach not 200 feet away. We had our children with us ranging in age from 8-19. The smaller ones really enjoyed the pool, (which offered free breakfast on one of the days and a very inexpensive dinner on of the other days) the older kids loved that it was within walking distance to St Armands Circle and the Private Beach was right there for them to spend all day at. There is also an outlet mall just about 30 minutes drive away! The only downfalls I would say is that the area has no close grocery stores or gas stations. You have to travel to the city for any little thing you might want, which is about a 20 minute drive to Publix or Save-A-Lot depending where you like to shop. There also isn't very many pizza shops that deliver to the area, but St Armands is open quite late so you can always travel out. The pillows could stand to be a little softer. And the entertainment room was really nothing to speak of. I would say all in all we had a wonderful time, relaxing, and would love to go there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We have exchanged all over Europe, U.S.A and several times on the Gulf Coast of Florida and quite honestly this is the worst.

We arrived from a week in Orlando where the accommodation and facilities were excellent and on opening the door of our allocated apartment we were extremely disappointed. In fact my initial reaction was to turn round and leave. It was dark, dated, our view was of the road from the bedroom window and the car park and stairway from the living room. Laughably there was a table and chairs on the landing so you sit and admire the car park.

There was a an English family with two teenage daughters on our landing who arrived at the same time as us and they reacted in the same way. They went off and requested a move and were told they would have to rent privately if they wanted a better position. In other words if you are exchanging with R.C.I you can expect the worst accommodation at this resort.

We were staying for two weeks and at the end of the first week we did not get the promised weekly clean. We did however get a phone call as we were on our way out for the day to say our next apartment was ready to move into which was news to us because we were expecting to be in the apartment the whole stay. After several discussions with the front desk we were allowed to stay. I had to request fresh bedding and bag up and change the bed myself. Fortunately there was a plentiful supply of fresh towels in the bathroom. The apartment was never cleaned and so I bought cleaning products and did it myself. Not what you expect on holiday.

The staff never once asked if everything was alright and any request for information was given with a very curt attitude, no friendliness at all.

The saving grace was the superb position, at the end of the car park you walk straight onto a beautiful beach. The resort was kept very clean although the pool is small. St Armand Circle with its up-market boutiques, jewellers, Art Galleries and Restaurants is within walking distance and only a few minutes in a car with plenty of parking space.

Sarasota is beautiful with plenty to do and lots of restaurants, Art galleries, huge cinema, lovely Marina, lots of other beaches all with blindingly white sand and warm clear water, lots of wildlife, including the outstanding Siesta Key. You must visit Anna Marie Island and one of the best places to eat is Mr Bones for Ribs.

I cannot recommend this resort, however Sarasota and the surrounding area is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

This is our timeshare, first week in August every year, we love everything about it, great location to everything, very clean rooms and very clean resort, flat screen TV's/DVD player in the room, fully stocked kitchen, staff is great, close to restaurants, beach, and shopping, pool and beach chairs always provided. We love this place and plan go go every year for years to come.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suntide Island Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suntide Island Beach Club

Address: 850 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sarasota
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Suntide Island Beach Club Hotel Sarasota
Suntide Island Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suntide Island Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.