We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't ignore this little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rick's French Bistro

Rick's French Bistro
2177 Siesta Dr., Sarasota, FL 34239-5235
941 957 0533
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 849 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $18 - $25
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: A real French bistro in a real friendly French atmosphere where our goal is to serve you fine, refreshing & wholesome meals without sacrificing flavor or quality. Everything we serve is homemade at reasonable prices.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Don't ignore this little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The exterior of this restaurant is not inviting, but once inside you will experience some truly delicious and authentic French cuisine. They have many traditional French favorites on the menu like Beef Bourgonone and escargot. On our last visit they also had frog legs and Coq au Vin. The food takes me back to our last trip to France. Love, love, love this place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    10
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Magnifique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We lived here more than a year before even being fully aware that Rick's was practically around the corner. C'est domage! We've since been twice and can't wait for the next trip. The quintessential family operation, the wife is the chef and the husband, Richard, runs the front of the house. We've tried most dishes on the menu already - the fish is wonderful, the lamb and beef stew are amazing and although the rice is a lovely brown, you have to get the potatoes. The wine list is small, but trust it; they are all good. Rick's is small, so make reservations.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Most reasonable and excellent restaurant around. Kindest owners and wonderful staff and food. We never seem to get there as often as we would like. Our very favorite!!!! Love the place. Such a warm ambience. Highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised with this cute little French bistro. Rick greeted us warmly when we arrived and the service was excellent. Our food was very good - each dish enjoyed by all. Those dishes included velvety calves liver, beef stew and the chicken special of the day. All were excellent and good sized portions. Wine list is adequate. When I decided to write this review, was shocked when I read 3 bad reviews. We found them to be completely opposite to our experience, so don't let that deter you from trying out this nice little 'find'. Prices are comparable to other good eating places in Sarasota.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashpee, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Uneven”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This small restaurant tucked away near the end of a strip mall provides an uneven dining experience. The escargots de bourgogne were plump, but surprisingly bland. How is it possible to bungle this classic? My spouse enjoyed the salmon fume. The snapper meuniere with gratin dauphinois was close to perfect. We passed on dessert. The wait between courses was inscrutable, particularly given that there were only three other small tables with diners. No explanation was given. Being a fan of bistro food I was looking forward to dining here, but came away disappointed as did my spouse.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Owner at Rick's French Bistro, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I just want to say , we are a small bistro existing since almost 10 years. We cook like if you was our family and waiting(a little bit) during the meals is a part of the French tradition. We are very disappointed if you was unhappy, because everynight we try to do the best to serve our customers. We just hope to see you again . Identify you and it will be our pleasure to offer you a complimentary dessert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rick's French Bistro also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Rick's French Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rick's French Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.