We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sarasota

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sarasota to your Saves list
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sarasota
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5931 Fruitville Road, Sarasota, FL 34232   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
GreenLeadersBronze level
Valley Forge PA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Wife and I needed a place to stay close to Sarasota. Just off IS-75 is AmericInn, surrounded by good restaurants. The Inn should be dubbed a conference center or mini-hotel. Very attractive. Very comfortable rooms. Very clean. Best complimentary breakfast ever. Great service. Very low price. It's the real deal!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    78
    33
    8
    6
See reviews for
114
60
23
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

On arrival in early evening a young man who was on night duty was very polite and helpful, unfortunately did not meet him again only very cold and frosty staff for our first two day stay and stayed another two days later in week and still no improvement.The room was satisfactory but nothing special,breakfast was satisfactory and in fairness the early evening snack was very good value for the money.I feel the rest of the staff bar the young man on night duty need retraining in some basic courtesies and good manners and this has put me off ever frequenting this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sarasota, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review on our hotel and we regret hearing your stay was not as pleasant as you hoped for. We are very sorry that you felt our employees displayed anything other than warm and accommodating feelings. This issue has already been addressed with our staff and we certainly hope that you would reconsider using our hotel for your next visit to Sarasota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very nice, clean and friendly hotel. Full, hot breakfast, too. Make-your-own waffles are awesome. I found directions online easily, but agree that the Fruitvillle Road address can be confusing to most guests. Good to hear that you're working with the county to address that issue. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed the weekend for my daughters soft ball it was a nice change from the big hotels that dont care. slept great the beds are great. breakfast was amazing eggs, sausage, waffels, and more. dryer was broke but they were nice enough to let us use the big one in their laundry room. also let our team have pizza in the lobby. will stay here every time im in sarasota. wish there was more hotels like this.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed at the America inn for a week on business. I found the bed very comfortable, In fact I slept better than at home. The front desk crew was very accommodating. The breakfast was a nice extra I enjoyed every morning. I did not get to use the pool or gym, but they looked clean and sufficient. The room was clean and well lit with a small desk that I used extensively. The fridge and coffee machine came in handy as well. One evening they had comp beer and wine and sandwiches. I don't know if that was a special occasion, or my fortunate timing, because I didn't see it again.

A couple of minor things were annoying;
the electronic lock was falling off the door, so I screwed it back on, the guest laundry was out of order for my whole stay, ( they must not have a Maytag man in Sarasota ) the carpet needed replacing, and the place was kind of hard to find, like mentioned in previous reviews. I'm sure they would like some better signage, but it seems like very restrictive zoning in the neighborhood, all the business are comparably signed.

For the money, I don't think you could do much better than this America Inn.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sarasota, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on TripAdvisor. Many of our guests love our manager’s special, for your future stays we offer this Monday through Thursday. We also agree with the signage and it is unfortunate that the county has very strict rules in this area. Every year we replace 1/3 of the hotels carpet and this will be done in a just a few weeks. In regards to the dryer it is hard to believe that we would not be able to get this part sooner than we did but it did have to be ordered, please remember to always check with the front desk and we will be happy to have our laundry assistant take care of your needs. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, NH
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel is very difficult to find. Although the address is on Fruitville Road, you actually have to turn down a side street to get there and ther is no signage indicating that. Very frustrating after a long tiring trip! The room and hotel were very clean. Bedding quality was below average. Mattress was soft, pillows really thin. Did not sleep well at all! Bathrom linen was probbaly white at one time but is now gray. Pretty unppealing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sarasota, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your stay in the area and we apologize for the problems you encountered trying to locate our hotel. I understand that can be very frustrating and this is something that we have been trying to get the county to address for quite some time. Our current mattresses are only several years old and are Serta Select brand. Unfortunately it is very difficult to have a mattress that is suitable for all of the different tastes of our guests and we chose one that is right in the middle. I will be defiantly contacting our cleaning vendor to address the condition of the towels and have them take corrective measures to assure that we do not continue to have this problem occur.
We hope you get the change to visit Sarasota in the future. We would be delighted to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

we stayed here in may for our nephew's graduation. when we checked in and went to our room it smelled like pee. went to the front desk and asked for another room, they gave us a room with people already in it!!!! when i told the front desk clerk she had to send up the cleaning lady to make sure, really???? then she told me that there were not any rooms available. In the whole hotel? well, there was a more expensive room available, but she need to check with her manager. was upgraded to the better room after a wait. will NEVER stay here again

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sarasota, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel and please accept my sincere apologies for the poor service you received during your stay. I have spoken with each staff member and have taken corrective action to ensure this type of situation does not happen in the future. Again, thank you for your comments and I hope to have the opportunity of being your host in the future and provide you with a memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sarasota

Address: 5931 Fruitville Road, Sarasota, FL 34232
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sarasota
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sarasota 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AmericInn Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel And Suites Sarasota
Americinn Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.