We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starbucks coffee served in lobby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Sarasota Bradenton Airport

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Sarasota Bradenton Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Sarasota Bradenton Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   850 University Parkway, Sarasota, FL 34234   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Starbucks coffee served in lobby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was clean, staff was friendly, and they served Starbucks coffee in the lobby. That saved me having to get up and drive for coffee in the morning. It was a very Comfortable stay. The pool was nice also.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRQCYGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Sarasota Bradenton Airport, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to hear that you found the hotel clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed your morning Starbucks. Thank you very much for staying with us. We hope the next time you are in Sarasota you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    37
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
19
27
7
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My Hubby And 2 Young Kids Stayed Here For A Weekend Trip. Rooms Are very Comfortable, Quiet, Clean And Have Mini Frig Too.While Here, One Of My Children Had An Accident In Bed. I Felt Bad And Walked Down To The Front Desk To Tell Them. They Thanked Me, Let Me Even Talk To Head Of Housekeeping Who Said She Would Take Care Of It. When We Returned To The Room, The Bed Was Made With All New Coverings, Decorated With My Childrens Stuffed Animals And A Hand Written Note Addressed To Me Was Left On The Night Stand. They thanked me For Our Business And Explained How They Cleaned The Bed. I Was Blown Away! We Would Definitely Come Back To Stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRQCYGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Sarasota Bradenton Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I will share your comments with the staff and let them know their efforts were appreciated. I hope you have a fabulous time during your weekend trip to Sarasota and will visit us again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This has been our favorite hotel in the Sarasota area for years. It is located in town rather than directly beside the interstate highway. Our room was quiet and everything functioned properly. The blackout curtains made it easy to block out the outside light. Both the lobby and our room had a fresh look thanks to Courtyard's interior redesign program in recent years. Parking was easy and close to the front door. The excellent Ringling Museum is just a block or two away and the Sarasota/Bradenton Airport is almost right across the street. I noted the hotel offers a courtesy van to the airport. This is definitely an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRQCYGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Sarasota Bradenton Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us last week. We appreicate your loyalty to Marriott. It is nice to hear you found the hotel in a convenient location along with the rooms and public space having a fresh look with our most recent renovation. We hope to see you back next time you are in Sarasota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Some of our event participants stayed at Courtyard by Marriott recently and had a GREAT stay. The sales staff lead by Alison was exceptional and friendly. The rooms were clean, new and quiet. The re-modeling of the hotel has given it a brand new look and feel and we didn't get any negative feedback from anyone that we told to stay there for our event!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRQCYGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Sarasota Bradenton Airport, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts about the hotel and your stay. We appreciate the group staying with us here in Sarasota. It great to hear your comments about Allison and that you found the hotel clean and updated. Hopefully if you are in the area again you will be back to stay at the Courtyard..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting some local attractions. Check in at about 3 pm on a Friday was fast, with no problems. King whirlpool room was ready and on the 3rd floor, right across from elevator and ice machine, but we did not hear any noise from either during our stay.

The room was nicely furnished, with everything in working order. Previous reviewers mention the TV being awkward, but we turned it to face whatever direction we wanted and had no problems. Refrigerator worked better than most in-room hotel refrigerators. Bed was comfortable. Air conditioner worked just fine.

Our room had a balcony, half over-looking the pool, and half overlooking some older rental properties. You could hear road-noise from the balcony -- sounded like a speedway at times -- but it was not too bad.

We did not use the Bistro, and I hope the people who work there do not rely on tips, because we did not see ANYONE in the Bistro the whole time we were there. The pool had minimal utilization as well. The hot tub was HOT -- too hot. We were only able to stay in it about 5 minutes before seeking respite in the pool. Everyone else we saw get in did the same thing. The pool area is nice, clean and was never very crowded.

The biggest draw back to this hotel is that there is nothing within walking distance, so once you are here, plan to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRQCYGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Sarasota Bradenton Airport, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Courtyard. It is nice to hear that you found the checkin experience fast and your room was ready. We do realize that being an airport property there is not much in walking distance and to help with this problem our shuttle will take our guests to and from restaurants within 5 miles of the hotel. I hope that on your next visit to Sarasota you will choose to stay here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I would not stay here again. We booked through discount hotel website and got a decent rate, not great. On arrival, the hotel on a Friday night is less than 50% full, parking lot is mostly empty. It had been a long hot day, upon check in we requested a king room. I've done this many times and when available the hotel has no problem putting us in a king. If there are none available, then we don't stay in a king room. Not a big deal. But today, the front desk clerk gave me some lame excuse that i couldn't even understand. He said his manager didn't want to open any more king rooms??? He didn't offer to let me speak to the manager, and after debating with him for 10min I was too annoyed. For a 3 star hotel,this place is not worth it. This half full hotel just lost my business and anyone else I would ever recommend to. Really poor business and customer service.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRQCYGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Sarasota Bradenton Airport, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us this past weekend. I apologize for the problem with the room request. We do follow the agreement with the discount sites which states the reservation is a for a specific booked room type only and we are not able to accommodate room changes, cancellation requests, etc. To ensure you get the room of your choice I would invite you to book directly with the hotel, as this gives us more flexability to upgrade and change your reservation to fit your needs. I hope other than the room type issue that you had a great weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIssouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Sarasota/Bradenton Courtyard by Marriott for one night before starting our week long vacation at a condo on Siesta Key. This is the second year in a row that we have stayed at the Courtyard prior to condo stay. We were totally impressed with the hotel last year so we decided to book it again this year. We were not disappointed.

The location of the hotel is ideal to serve as a jumping off point for a vacation in the Sarasota area. Close to SRQ airport, actually right across the street, so no long drive to the hotel once you arrive after a long day of travel. Aircraft noise is not an issue for being so close to the airport. The hotel is tucked away in a very quiet setting.

The SRQ Courtyard is very relaxing. The pool area is in the back of the property surrounded by a privacy fence with easy access to the hotel lobby but, secluded and private. There’s always a supply of fresh clean, pool towels available. It’s a perfect way to spend a lazy afternoon after traveling.

The hotel staff is amazing. Check in is friendly and efficient. You’re greeted with a genuine smile and a warm welcome. A great way to begin your stay. Housekeeping and Maintenance are welcoming as well. Hello’s when you pass in the hallway and simple, friendly touches like pressing the elevator button for you are what set the guest friendly service apart from the others.

Rooms are very clean and quiet. Beds are comfortable. Bathrooms and linens are clean with plenty of hot water for long soaking showers. What more could you want?

The location of the hotel offers plenty of local dining choices from national restaurant chains to local one-of-a kinds. The SRQ Courtyard also features “The Bistro” that offers light, quick meals in a relaxing setting just off the main lobby. Let me start by saying that some past reviews have contained negative comments related to hotels that charge for dining, versus the free, or included with the nightly rate “manager’s receptions” or breakfasts. During this particular stay, we decided to have breakfast at the hotel. I ordered eggs over easy, sausage, home fried potatoes, toast and Starbucks coffee. The eggs were cooked to perfection and the potatoes were tasty and lightly seasoned. My wife ordered a breakfast sandwich that was equally as pleasing. True, not gourmet food by any stretch but, it was tasty and it was served quickly with the cheer and hospitality this hotel staff exhibits in all areas. The meal was well worth the price, which wasn’t that bad at all.

We will be visiting Siesta Key again in 2014 and without a doubt, we will be booking the SRQ Courtyard by Marriott. Do the same. You won’t be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRQCYGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Sarasota Bradenton Airport, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to post this review. You had so many nice things to say. It is nice to hear that you found the friendliness and serivce by the staff to be genuine. The props for the Bistro are also appreciated. As you stated it is not gourmet but it fresh and tastes good. Thank you for recommending the hotel and I look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Sarasota Bradenton Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Sarasota Bradenton Airport

Address: 850 University Parkway, Sarasota, FL 34234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Sarasota Bradenton Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Sarasota Bradenton Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Sarasota Bradenton Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Marriott
Sarasota Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Sarasota Bradenton Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.