We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bow Wow, arf, arf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Sarasota Bradenton

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Sarasota Bradenton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Sarasota Bradenton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1040 University Parkway, Sarasota, FL 34234   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #18 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Bow Wow, arf, arf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We picked this hotel because it was pet friendly. We have stayed in some pretty terrible pet friendly hotels in the past, but this was not one of them. It actually smelled ok, was clean and quite comfortable. The $75 non-refundable pet fee was steep but for a 3 day stay for a clean place for Fido (not her real name) was worth it. The room was large, a seperate bedroom, & kitchenette. The hotel provided a hot breakfast which was a nice touch. There was even popcorn provided for the microwave, coffee for the coffee pot, tea bags and all the cooking utinsils & cutlery needed. Good location and nice grassy area. The pool was open. All in all, a good deal. Would stay there again."Fido" says "Ruff."

Room Tip: It is near the airport but we were not bothered by any noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally friendly. Seperate receptacle for recyclling in room, they utilize" hung up, use again, on the floor, replace" policy for towels, etc.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele R, General Manager at Residence Inn Sarasota Bradenton, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay with us here at The Residence Inn Sarasota-Bradenton! I'm so happy to read you and "Fido" enjoyed your stay with us and that all our amenities were enjoyed. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    29
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
36
27
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had not stayed here for a few years and were pleasantly surprised that it had been renovated. We were only there two nights but glad we chose to go back. The staff was excellent and everything was well maintained, including the pool. One of the nights they had grilled chicken sandwiches out by the fire pit with wine and beer. It meant we didn't have to go out to eat and enjoyed a nice evening with other guests. we will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele R, General Manager at Residence Inn Sarasota Bradenton, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
I'm so glad you came back to stay with us! Yes, we completed a full renovation fall of 2011 which we are still enjoying. I was happy to read you enjoyed our "Off the grill" evening mix. Residence Inn has some exciting changes to our evening mixes-tonight we are having Baja boys food truck, so please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were visiting friends in Bradenton and, since we love the Residence Inns, we stayed at the one in Sarsota. This inn has it all - location, great staff, nightly get-together's that include food from local pubs in the area, nice pool area and...did I mention - terrific staff (they really make all the difference in the world). Anyway, stepping away from the hotel for a minute, you are close to Sarasota and the gulf islands of Longboat Key and Anna Maria are all but minutes away. So, to close this review, this hotel has it all....we will return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele R, General Manager at Residence Inn Sarasota Bradenton, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! I'm happy our staff took such excellent care of you during your stay and that you enjoyed the amenities we offer including our evening mixes. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We spent 6 nights at this Residence Inn and overall, were very pleased. Thom welcomed us with fine introduction to the hotel and an efficient check-in. Our two bedroom, two bath suite was very clean, tastefully decorated, and well kept, as was all the public areas. With the exception of the woman who handled the breakfast buffet, the staff was very pleasant, helpful, and guest orientated. I have been a corporate guest for years and frankly not a particularly satisfied one. This hotel has the same problem that most Marriotts have and that is poor mattresses. Has Marriott every hear of Westin's superior beds or for that matter some very comfortable beds at higher end Hamptons? The mattress was not as terribly uncomfortable as some Marriott beds that are as hard as concrete, but not comfortable either. A good night's sleep is so basic, that it is incomprehensible that moderate to higher end hotels have not ungraded their mattresses. I wouldn't rule out staying here again, but I would search for a hotel with better mattresses.

Room Tip: Request a third floor, inside court room for a very quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele R, General Manager at Residence Inn Sarasota Bradenton, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback. I'm glad you were overall pleased with your stay, but I wish you would have found more comfort in our mattresses. We received a full renovation fall of 2011 in which we received all new mattresses. Marriott provided us with The Serta perfect sleeper mattresses for all our suites. If there's anything we can do at the property to make the mattress more comfortable for a future stay we'd be happy to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hotel is typical of this brand. It is older than some and does show that. The exercise room is small for the size of the hotel (only 2 tread mills and an elliptical) and could use some attention as the TV did not work on one of the machines and the air conditioning is suspect.

The rooms and common areas of the hotel were well kept. They switch the nights of the evening reception from one week to the next and this meant our expectations of the event being on a Tuesday night were not met when we stayed. This was disappointing and I think consistency, rather than changing from week to week, would be best for loyal, returning customers of the brand.

Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Queen size bed seems very small. Rooms on ground floor near side door are very convenient to parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele R, General Manager at Residence Inn Sarasota Bradenton, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to our area. I was happy to read you enjoyed your stay and that you'll be back. Thank you for your feedback as it helps us serve you better. The Residence Inn brand is mixing things up for our evening offerings. We are a pilot hotel for what Marriott will be introducing to all the Residence Inn hotels by next year. 3 nights a week we offer "A Mix" which will rotate Mon-Wed one week and Tues-Thurs the next week. We have some exciting new mixes planned that I'm sure you will enjoy! I'm really looking forward to our monthy Food truck night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We recently stayed for two weeks. We can not say enough starting with the staff, the breakfast, the social evenings, the room. There was not one thing we could have requested that someone was not willing to do or find for us. Jordon was at the desk when we first arrived....a great young man looking to be very accommodating and he was. He started off our stay in a very positive way and everyone else kept it going. The location is great and we are now planning next years stay and this time we will be staying for a month. Why would I want to rent a condo when this was so much better, affordable and again very enjoyable.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor but I did not hear anyone complain about any of the floors. I liked where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele R, General Manager at Residence Inn Sarasota Bradenton, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thanks for providing such an excellent review on our hotel! I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay and the staff service, so you'll be returning next year. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, MI
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We were here last January for a short stay and decided to come again when we found ourselves again in the area. Same great experience..what more can you say? The staff is friendly, the rooms clean and comfortable and very spacious. Exactly what I have come to expect, but it's nice to see that they deliver! I would do it again and I recommend you give them a try, too.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele R, General Manager at Residence Inn Sarasota Bradenton, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
I'm so glad you came back to see us here at the Residence Inn Sarasota-Bradenton! We truly love welcoming back our repeat guests. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We look forward to providing you with another excellent stay on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Sarasota Bradenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Sarasota Bradenton

Address: 1040 University Parkway, Sarasota, FL 34234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Sarasota Bradenton 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Sarasota Bradenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Sarasota Bradenton Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Sarasota Bradenton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.