We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Sarasota

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn Sarasota to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn Sarasota
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 University Pkwy, Sarasota, FL 34234   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Ocala Fl
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was our first time here but will go back. Comfortable beds, clean,good breakfast and friendly staff. We didn't get to use the pool but it was clean and well maintained. The pool area could use another table and umbrella. Close to Restaurants and other activities.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    24
    17
    2
    6
See reviews for
14
30
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Was greeted by Debbie, the General Manager, upon checking in. She asked if we had a room preference which I thought was wonderful (we didn't). The hotel is tucked away at the end of a short street that is directly across from a main road leading into the airport. This was so incredibly convenient for us. The hotel was spotless. Lobby was very inviting and the overall ambience of the hotel was one of intimacy and comfort. We were very satisfied with the room, cleanliness, and overall condition of the hotel. We would definitely stay here again and I would strongly recommend it to friends and family for future stays in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor near the end with a door to the outside. Since we are not smokers this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Marketing Manager at Sleep Inn Sarasota, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi there! Thanks for your kind words and we're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We'll see you next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The area is nice and there's plenty of parking. The hotel room was fine - clean sheets and view of the swimming pool was nice - but there were a few unpleasant things, too. Our room smelled like some type of chemical and our carpets were wet. Maybe they needed to clean up a mess from the previous guests or they routinely clean the carpets (very doubtful), but it kind of sucked to walk on wet carpets. The shower was awful. They should really do something about those types of faucets, temperature controls, and loud shower heads (oh yeah, and the low pressurized water... boo). I booked this hotel last minute so I was thankful to find a decent place in such short notice, especially when the hotel was almost at full capacity. I wouldn't stay here again, but I was comfortable enough to stay there for the night without any issues.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

It is an affordable but very nice place to stay. The room is clean and tidy. Though near to the airport, it is very quiet! I'd stay here again next time I come Sarasota.

What I need to mention is that if you are driving here, please be careful since Sarasota has many red light cameras and yellow light is very SHORT. Especially, if you go from south along N Tamiami Trail and want to turn right to the University Parkway (normal GPS route to this hotel), be aware there's a "no turn on red" sign, I got a ticket here just running yellow to turn right at night,. It is insanely around $300 for rental cars (yes, they charge half for a local owned car, pretty like a fine trap for travelers).

Take care and have fun!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The Sleep Inn on University Blvd. was a bed and a clean room. The continental breakfast was terrible. The hard boiled eggs were old, the sausage was tasteless, and the coffee tasted "blah". I ended up having a good ole' bowl of raisin bran and that was it. The front desk clerk in the evening didn't even know how to get to St. Armands Circle, so he wasn't any help for directions. Just call it a "place to sleep" for a night!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor - end unit - quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Marketing Manager at Sleep Inn Sarasota, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Angelpet2014, thank you for alerting us to the issue you encountered. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your breakfast. Your concerns have been forwarded to the General Manager so we can rectify the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loiusville
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Clean and comfortable. Staff very pleasant and accommodating- Charles at the front desk
has fabulous people skills and was gracious and helpful. Room was clean and bed comfortable-a microwave and small fridge and coffee maker was available in room. Not a super deluxe property, but more than adequate for the very reasonable price, also free WiFI! A computer desk and printer for boarding passes is available on the first floor, along with a small in ground pool. Location is super close to the airport, yet tucked away in a quiet and safe area. We stayed five nights while attending the Sarasota opera. A daily breakfast is provided and the cheerful and gracious attendant, Donna, keeps the tables sparkling clean while she provides an ample array of tasty hot and cold breakfast items for her guests to choose. Sleep Inn might not be a deluxe property like the Ritz Carlton, but Charles and Donna are examples of personnel who are definitely five star hospitality hosts.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Marketing Manager at Sleep Inn Sarasota, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hi there and thanks for your review. It was a joy having you stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

It was a bed. Clean but nothing special. A/C extremely noisy, telephone between rooms was frustrating (broken, but i'm sure this was a once off problem and probably shouldn't be applied to 'every room and situation'). Pool area and tables were dirty, leaves everywhere and things generally needed a little maintenance. There was no bottled water in the room (i don't normally get too grumpy about this but florida water is like drinking pool water!).

There is no restaurant at the hotel, but you can drive 2-3km (1.5mi) up the road where there is McDonnalds and a Primo's, (there is however a room for breakfast).

Would I stay here again? Yea possibly. If another hotel was available at the same or better rate I'de probably go and have a look.

Room Tip: Good if you need a place to rest your head. If noisy air conditioners prevent you from sleeping you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S, Marketing Manager at Sleep Inn Sarasota, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Chris, thanks for staying with us and reviewing our hotel. We recently renovated the property and are currently making the final touches - we apologize this may have interfered with your stay (i.e. AC unit). We try to keep up with the outside work, but at this time of the year the leaves are falling and the wind makes a mess of everything. We're sorry this has caused you some concern. We hope these aren't deterrents for a return visit, we surely take pleasure in hosting our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Sarasota

Address: 900 University Pkwy, Sarasota, FL 34234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn Sarasota 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 miles from SRQ airport and miles from Siesta key beach - #1 beach in the US - this fully renovated, smoke free, interior corridor hotel offers free continental breakfast, free high speed wi-fi access, outdoor pool, business center and guest laundry on premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.