We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Quinta Inn -Sarasota - Going to the Dogs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1803 North Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34234   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
201 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“La Quinta Inn -Sarasota - Going to the Dogs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

Let me clarify. My wife and I went down to Sarasota house hunting.

We picked the La Quinta because I have a membership and they are usually good.

This hotel also was good, in a great location close to Downtown Sarasota with nice room and in a comfortably safe feeling neighborhood.

However, what disturbed me is this is the first hotel that I've been in that had more animals (honestly, they were on leashes) in it than I would like to see inside.

In other words this hotel except pets. If you are a pet lover that's fine. However, if multiple types of dogs roaming through the lobby bothers you. Or if you have allergies. Or if you worry about pet attached little bugs, then this is not the place for you.

I'm honest to say I am not into pets being that close to me when I travel. Also, they are not allowed in the dining area. So again, the hotel is fine. But be warned!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    171
    78
    39
    26
See reviews for
178
163
31
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

My wife & I were very happy with our stay. It was a short drive to the beach @ Siesta Key. The staff was very friendly. The continental breakfast was more than your average continental breakfast.

Room was very clean, and we would easily recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

We found this hotel ideally situated. The updating has been well-done giving the feeling that it is brand new. The staff were all very helpful, breakfast included was nice selection

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

I have stayed here the last few times I visited Sarasota on business. What a find! You get very nice lodging for half the price of more upscale hotels, but this hotel is very well run, clean, and in an ideal location midway between the airports and the beaches. The breakfast is decent. No restaurant in the hotel, but for emergency rations there is a Subway next store and a little restaurant right across the street. Not really a big issue, since you are only a five min drive from St Armand's. Stay here and spend the difference that you save on great food in Sarasota!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

Stayed here for several nights in January. Location is just minutes away from downtown and less than 10 minutes from the Sarasota airport which was very convenient for us. Rooms were pleasantly decorated, modern, and clean. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. The included breakfast is rather standard but we had no complaints. Staff was very friendly - the night clerk even let me use his computer and printer to print my boarding pass. Our only complaint would be that we requested a wake-up call one morning but we didn't receive it. Not a problem for us because we always set multiple alarms but I've never encountered that problem before with any other hotel. All in all, a good deal for a mid level hotel.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

I stayed with my family (including a 4 year old and a one year old), just to get a night near the airport. The hotel staff were very warm and helpful, and gave us a room that was huge: A King sized bed and pull out couch.
The breakfast was good, with a waffle station and cereals. Later we realized that the hotel is actually very close to area beaches. It would not be good without a car however...nowhere good to eat nearby.
I would definitely go back. We paid only $80 on LQ's Website.

  • Liked — Value, friendly staff
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

The La Quinta in Sarasota was this first of two stays in this hotel chain during our two weeks in Florida.

We had paid <£40 per night for the room and were not dissapointed. It was modern, clean and the staff were keen to make your stay enjoyable.

An all you can eat continental breakfast was included in the deal, so it caters for all tastes from museli to muffins.

The Hotel also has a small pool and gym room with a treadmill, stepper and cycling machine.

Its location on the Tamiami trail means that you will need a car to access Sarasota and the surrounding attractions. There are only to eateries within reasonable walking distance, an Italian and a Subway.

Overall a pleasant stay and plenty to do in the nearby towns.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and staff attention to detail
  • Disliked — Ease of walk to attractions
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
1.3 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#19 of 46 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Sarasota
Sleep Inn Sarasota
#29 of 46 in Sarasota
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Midtown
BEST WESTERN Midtown
#32 of 46 in Sarasota
3.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 46 in Sarasota
5.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota
6.7 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota

Address: 1803 North Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota was recently named a 2011 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence award winner!You deserve a day at the beach. Choose the La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota facing the Sarasota Bay as well as overlooking Long Boat Key, and you'll find yourself just a short drive away from Lido Beach and Siesta Key Beaches. Conveniently located just three miles from Sarasota-Bradenton Internationa...see morel Airport, this tropically landscaped hotel is near several popular attractions including the Van Wezel Performing Arts Center, John & Mable Ringling Museum, Sarasota Jungle Gardens, and Ed Smith Stadium home of the Cincinati Reds Spring Training Camp. Offices for Boars Head Provisions, Florida Power & Light, Waterside Catering, and Wellcraft Marine are also located nearby. Ringling School of Art & Design is also located nearby. Guests will enjoy a refreshing heated outdoor pool, fitness center, and a delicious Free Bright Side BreakfastTM each morning. Each spacious guest room features free high-speed wireless Internet access, a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, voice mail, data port telephone, expanded cable channels, and much more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LaQuinta, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Sarasota
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
La Quinta Hotel Sarasota
La Quinta Sarasota
Sarasota La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.