We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Initial Shock.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Sarasota - I-75 Bee Ridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Sarasota - I-75 Bee Ridge to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Sarasota - I-75 Bee Ridge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5995 Cattleridge Boulevard, Sarasota, FL 34232   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2x HHonors Points
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Initial Shock.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Have you ever walked into a hotel for the first time and experienced a sinking feel in your stomach? This is how I felt. The room was small with dark walls and a very small window. The bed was a sea of lumps. True the room was small with dark walls and a very small window, but the bed was very comfortable and the lumps were limited to the duvet which was freshly laundered for each new guest. The room was clean if you chose to ignore the little bit of mold in the bathroom. The free breakfast was very good. The front desk staff were efficient but not overly friendly. Clearly this hotel needs a good paint job to brighten it up.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRQGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sarasota - I-75 Bee Ridge, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Hello Twytz,

Thank you very much for taking time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor. We are reviewing your comments and will share with our appropriate staff members. We have just completed a FULL Lobby Makeover making into Hampton's Perfect Mix Lobby and our guests have loved the end result. We'd love for you to come back and experience it for yourself. We are glad that you did enjoy our beds and breakfast. We hope we have the opportunity to re earn your Loyalty the next time your travels take you to Sarasota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    86
    44
    23
    14
See reviews for
107
81
20
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

You can't go wrong by staying at the Hampton Inn (I-75 & Bee Ridge)! The rates are modest (even during "season"), the rooms are nicely appointed, and you just can't beat the free breakfast. Be sure to look for Rosie in the breakfast---she's a real treasure!

Room Tip: At one time or another, we've had a room on each of the floors, on either side of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRQGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sarasota - I-75 Bee Ridge, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Thank you so much for you kind comments on the Hampton Inn. We love having you stay with us. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff. Rosie is an absolute treasure to the hotel and has been with us for almost 15 years. Comments like yours remind us why we love the hospitality business. Looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We decided at the last moment to stay in the Sarasota area and called the Hilton Honors reward line that morning about using reward points. They were very helpful, provided us with the information we needed, and faxed our information to the hotel. Checking in was easy with helpful staff at the front desk- and great free cookies for hungry travelers! This is a convenient location off of I-75, easy to drive to downtown Sarasota. The hotel was one of the nicest Hampton Inns we've stayed in- very attractive and clean. A good choice, with or without frequent traveler points.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRQGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sarasota - I-75 Bee Ridge, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Hello Jill1207W,

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit with us and I will share your comments with our staff. We appreciate that you are letting everyone know what a great experience you had with us. Hope to see you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, CO
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We chose this hotel based on the TA reviews and it lived up to the accurate reviews. Lots of pluses in our room (#202). Our king-sized bed had 4 pillows; since my husband is allergic to feathers, we were delighted to find 2 of them were clearly polyester. And good quality--soft but not too soft. The lightweight poly-fill comforter was a superb option--not as heavy as a blanket and good at adapting to body temperatures. The bathroom was large with lots of counter space. The non-slip surface of the tub/shower was excellent--not too rough but just enough texture to avoid slipping. The showerhead was high, which was great for my 6'3" husband. The dark-activated nightlight was a nice touch and much appreciated. The breakfasts had lots of options, including1 hot egg dish (although the scrambled eggs were a bit grainy and not my favorite) and 1 hot meat option (bacon, sausage) each morning as well as baked goods, instant oatmeal, fruit, and juices. Several choices for coffee too and plentiful single-serving containers of half and half as well as all 3 artificial sweeteners (saccharine, aspertame, sucralose). And the warm cookie at check-in, after a day of plane and car travel, was such a treat.

Only a few slight negatives. When you sat on the foot of the bed, it made a strange metal sound--kind of like a sheet of metal you'd use to make a fake thunder sound. We were grateful that no such noises occurred when lying on the bed though. The temperature (regulated by a convenient wall thermostat) fluctuated 3 or 4 degrees from the temp we set. The AC was rather loud when it came on; we would often have to turn the TV up to be able to hear whatever we were watching. We had no luggage rack in our room, so we put one of our suitcases on a desk, just to keep it off the floor (bedbug fear unfounded). We didn't ask for a rack; it's possible one could have been provided for us. No small refrigerator, although I don't recall seeing that one was listed on the Web site for this room.

All in all, a pleasant 2-night stay. We will definitely stay here on our next bi-annual visit to Sarasota.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRQGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sarasota - I-75 Bee Ridge, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear ztsipapu,

Thank you for taking time to review the Hampton Inn Sarasota on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all of your comments and I will share with our staff. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed most of the aspects of your stay, and I promise you that I will look into all your other comments as well. We truly hope to see you in the near future when your travels bring you back to Sarasota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Hard to find unless you are coming off I-75. Sits back behind shopping center. Good location and close enough to all things Sarasota. Garmin got us close but could not see it from the direction we were from--driving east. Adequate in all ways.

Room Tip: back side away from I-75
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRQGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sarasota - I-75 Bee Ridge, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Hello Yahootraveler64,

Thank you for your kind comments in regards to your recent stay with us. We hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my wife for one night. The hotel is clean, quiet, and the rate was fair. The breakfast was good. No major thrills, just a good decent place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRQGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sarasota - I-75 Bee Ridge, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Hello OrlandoTraveler32814

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and shared your comments for all to see. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

My wife and I Stayed here for two weeks in January. The most outstanding thing about this hotel was the frienliness & helpfulness of the staff. The breakfast was more than adequit. Our room was very clean. The location was very convenient to I-75. Even with the closeness to I-75 the room was very quiet.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRQGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Sarasota - I-75 Bee Ridge, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Hello Schulteg0

Thank you for your kind comments and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please think about us next time you are back in Sarasota. We would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Sarasota - I-75 Bee Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sarasota - I-75 Bee Ridge

Address: 5995 Cattleridge Boulevard, Sarasota, FL 34232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sarasota - I-75 Bee Ridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Sarasota-I-75 Bee Ridge is located in the eastern business district of Sarasota off I-75, in close proximity to Siesta Key Beach. Our hotel in Sarasota offers free WiFi access, free hot breakfast, a heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, 24-hour fitness center and a 24-hour business center. Enjoy our Sarasota hotel's easy access to South Lido Park, Big Pass, Sarasota Bay, and Myakka State Park. Attend a sporting event at Ed Smith Stadium, Nathan Benderson Park, Twin Lake Park, and Sarasota Cal Ripken Baseball Complex all less than 20 minutes from our hotel in Sarasota, FL. Experience dining and shopping at the Mall at University Town Center conveniently located near our hotel. Relax after a day of sightseeing in one of our Sarasota hotel rooms featuring a clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). Catch up on work at the desk, or use the portable lap desk and work from the comfort of the easy chair. Families will appreciate our spacious rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Sarasota - I-75 Bee Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sarasota - i-75 Bee Ridge Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Sarasota - I-75 Bee Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.