We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Save Saved
You added Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

We just stayed for three nights at this hotel, I didn't know quite what to expect because it has 1950's architecture and was hoping it wasn't outdated service and style. It was wonderful like a old style Florida resort hotels that has been lovely maintained. The price was terrific $155 for a gulf front room with a small deck that looked over the white powdered sand of Lido Beach. It has two swimming pools but we spent most afternoons lying under the palm tree huts that are on the beach. Don't miss having breakfast at the hotel, the price is great under $10 and on weekends they have a buffet for the same price. Excellant service from the staff. We will be back next year for a longer stay.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    318
    175
    63
    40
See reviews for
241
304
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

The front desk personnel was very professional and courteous.
The room was nice and clean. The balcony was a pleasant surprise with a view of the courtyard and partial view of the beach. The location is perfect, close enough to everthing we wanted. We are planning to stay there whenever we go back to Sarasota.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We wanted a relaxing vacation and we found it in this....yes a little dated....hotel. For us it was great...It had everything we where looking for....Beach front, pool and restaurant all together in one place. The beach was beautiful and quiet ( I live in Miami), and the hotel, pool and restaurant areas where all very clean and well kept.
There where some set backs... the rooms are double occupancy with full size beds only.....I wish they wood up-grade their beds to queen or king. We found the food in the restaurant, specially dinner over priced for the quality and quantity provided....however the service was OK. The drinks at the Tiki Bar where a little pricey...7-8 dollars on a plastic cup. My husband and I would go back to this hotel again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon,UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Stayed here for two nights. Really good value,swimming pools are large and on the beach. Rooms clean and roomy. There as a little Tiki bar on the beach next door to the hotel which does great bar snacks and live music,so you can sit on the beach watching the sunset and just chill!.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

The Sandcastle is located right on quiet Lido Beach. Great for sunsets and moonlit walks. The hotel is more like a motel. Two story, exterior entrances, motel sized rooms & bathrooms, and motel like furnishings. It's obviously an older property that requires frequent upkeep. My room over -looked the pool and grounds (which are well-kept) but the room itself had peeling wall-paper and other aesthetic items that require attention. The restaurant is straight out of the 70's and could use some updating as well. The front desk staff were friendly (but could use new uniforms - their polo shirts were obviously well-worn) but the restaurant/bar staff appeared indifferent. Drinks are on the high side for a motel of this caliber (think $7 glasses of house wine in small plastic cups at the outdoor bar). If you are looking for a good location and plan to spend most of your day on the beach, St. Armands, or in Sarasota, this would be a good place to stay if you can score a good deal on the room rates.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We stayed here only one night during our trip in Florida. It is located very well, just at the Lido beach. The hotel has a nice atmosphere. We had a great breakfast for a nice price. The room was not very big, but very well furnished. We would rather have stayed here a little bit longer. There is amazingly much parkingspace. It is a relief to be in a small familyhotel like this. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

The Helmsley Sandcastle is located perfectly on the beach. The beach is absoloutly beautiful, white sand, warm sea, perfect.
There are two great pools, pool bar and great sunbathing area. However, you do have to be early to get sunloungers and a very much needed sun umbrella.
The restraunt at the hotel is fantastic, wonderful food and great value for money. Even the lunchtime menu is yummy!
The hotel provide a great taxi service to the main part of town for shopping, dining etc. Or, take a walk along the beach, its a fair walk but you can take in the amazing sunsets at the same time. A must is a visit to Cha Cha Coconuts, great food, we went back again...and again!
The only downside to the hotel are the rooms. They are clean but very dated and in need of some refurbishment, especially the bathrooms. Such a shame because this would stop us visiting again.
A great relaxing holiday, wonderful location, amazing beach, fab restraunt....If they refurbish the rooms at The Helmsley Sandcastle, here we come!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.