We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priceless beach view and sunset” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach to your Saves list
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Priceless beach view and sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

One of the nicest place I stay... Not luxury.. If u are looking for a beautiful place you will not get that but you get beautiful nature. We collected shells...we watch dolphins from our balcony in the morning.. Amazing sunset at the beach..truly relaxing... Shops and restaurants are near by but not walking distance.

Room Tip: The building on d corner gives us more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here at the Sandcastle Resort. Yes, the views are spectacular at any time of day. I wanted to let you know there is a shuttle that runs from the resort to St Armands Circle daily, from 10 am to 10 pm, for shopping and dining.

Again, thank you for visiting, and we do hope you return soon.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    343
    178
    63
    41
See reviews for
248
323
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The good: Great Beach location
The Bad: Our room one of the largest and most expensive beachfront suite w/hot tub that the hotel offers flooded. Three plus inches of water the in room and all through the bathroom.
The Ugly: Offered another room off the beach and no one showed up to help us relocate. So we chose not to stay another night. Walked through all the water and gathered our stuff. Not impressed with the customer service in this hotel. Here is an idea! Install a water sensor in ocean front units so you are aware when a flood occurs. This is a true safety issue.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful Labor Day weekend at Sandcastle. We were a little scared from the reviews we read, but after arriving we couldn't understand them. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a "view" room for no extra charge. The beach is beautiful, umbrella and chairs set up for us, bikes available to ride, laundry room and restaruants on premises. In our room we read the pamplet that stated there was a $25 resort fee for each day for using the chairs, bikes, laundry, wi-fi and other items, but that was ok because it was convienent. The cleaning staff was very friendly. The only unfriendly person we ran across was the back bar lady who rudely told us she was closed, even though the bar was still full of people. The manager Eddie was in the lobby at checkout and I told him we'd definitely be back when we could! Loved it!!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Beware visitors at this hotel we were there 8/25/2012 thru 8/29/2014, loved the staff, great food kinda expensive, beach was a little trashy. But the BIGGEST PROBLEM WAS THE CHARGE FOR THE IN ROOM COFFEE AND WATER!!!!What the hell $25.00 a day extra on top of the room charge. Wow I have never came across this....

Room Tip: Read the fine print....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
The $25 resort fee is not just for the coffee and water (which are replenished daily during your stay). It also includes beach chairs, umbrellas & towels, courtyard games, shuttle to and from St Armands Circle that operates 7 days a week from 10:00 am to 10:00 pm, free self-parking, self-serve laundry (so you do not have to leave the property), internet access, bicycle rentals, free local, toll-free & credit card calls, and use of the lobby business center.

Our pool & beach attendants do maintain our beach daily. There are times when the tide brings in seaweed from off shore- which we rake- however, in a few hours it can return. We have a wonderful stretch of beach, which we always try to keep clean for our guests and the wildlife here.

Regards,

Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Great location with a nice pool area and pool bar. Fantastic beach. Service was great all ways round and the staff chatty and friendly. Free bicycle hire, free shuttle bus to St Armarnds Circle and a free in room safe were some nice touches. Our room however was in need of some updating and not what we had expected having reviewed the hotel website prior to booking. Whilst we accept it was. 'Budget offering' the beds were small for an American hotel but that we guessed was a requirement as the room itself was very small. The toilet and shower were both in a tiny ensure in which all the tiled areas needed some attention to the grouting which clearly showed its age. Against the price we paid the pros outweighs the downsides and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Thank you for visiting the resort in August. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are in the process of updating and making some changes in our guestrooms; including bedding, furniture & amenities, as well as around the pool & courtyard areas.

I will pass along your comments regarding the service to our associates and do hope you return to the Sandcastle.


Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

This is the worst hotel I have stay in in twenty years. Where to start? It's dirty all over, full of bugs, in poor repair and has a general run-down look. The air conditioning in the room was strange in that the air blowing was cold but it was is it was super humitized. Sitting in the room was lake taking a cold shower. Though outdoors is was in the 90's and humid, it was far more humid in the room. At least the ants taking up permanent residence in the room were comfortable. Why the "too bad"? It's too bad the facility needs bulldozing because the staff are great; just plain nice people. The wait staff in the restaurant, the bartenders, deskfolks, all helpful and nice. Seems like they have been there for a while too. I hope they find good jobs when the wrecking ball takes the hotel; which it should. Get off your wallet and find somewhere else to stay. You won't be sorry.

Room Tip: bring a raincoat for sleeping in the room; or stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Stayed in the Sandcastle with my wife and 17 year old grandson. The best part of the hotel is the location which is brilliant ! We upgraded to a sea view which was worth the extra cost due to the exerience of dolphin watching in the mornings. The rooms were tired and needing refurbishment, the bedding was satisfactory the fridge worked but was old The staff was friendly and restaurant - bar food was good and reasonably priced, breakfast was good also but would suggest buffett style for better value. The pool was great and the beach services - staff was very helpful in getting towels - beds etc which are included in the price. Car parking was free with only a short 3 min drive to the square for the location of all restrurants and stores. In summary this hotel could be jewel if the rooms were reburbished otherwise it ticked all the boxes.

Room Tip: As close the beach as you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.