We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach to your Saves list
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Fort Collins, CO
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I spent 4 nights here in June 2014 with a friend. Yes, the rooms are a little tired and need some cleaning, but you can't beat its location. We counted 25 steps from our room, down the stairs and to the sandy beach. Wow! The beach is gorgeous, and the guys working the area are quick to set up a beach chair and umbrella for you wherever you want it. This same crew was quick to help us check out bicycles (cost included in resort fee), give out pool noodles, and generally help with any questions or needs we had.

The Sandcastle is about 1.3 miles from St Armand's Circle, so it's overall location is fantastic. The private beach never felt crowded, even when a wedding was taking place and had its guests staying at the resort.

If you're looking for a 5-star hotel, this isn't your place. If you're looking for a perfect beach location (which is where you'll spend your time) and a place to lay your head at night, check this place out. One tip- the walls are thin, so wear earplugs at night if you're a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pool area for a quieter sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for the comments regarding your stay with us here at the Sandcastle. I will pass along your thoughts to my fellow associates, especially the Pool & Beach crew.

Again, thank you for the business and look forward to having you return.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    343
    178
    63
    41
See reviews for
248
323
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

we stayed there for one night on June 21st. We arrived a little early but we were able to check in. the room that they gave us had a LEAK! we waited about 30 min for maintenance to come. we thought they fixed the problem only to find out that the leak was BACK. we asked if we can change rooms since it was still early but the front desk refused saying that they were sold out. I understand them being sold out but they could have given us a different room while they fixed our room.

The beds were SOOOOOO uncomfortable. it made it really had to sleep, my back and neck was hurting.

understand that you get what you pay for, this isn't a fancy resort, it's and old building and it feels like an old building. Holiday Inn is probably better than this resort but IT IS right on the water. so location-wise it is really good.

I wouldn't stay there again mainly because of the beds but if you're looking for a simple resort and aren't really planning on being in the room, then this is the resort for you.

Room Tip: pool view rooms are only doubles... NO KING
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Sandcastle. I am sorry to read that we did not deliver the product and service you should have received. I do apologize for our shortcomings and we are addressing your comment here at the hotel.

Again, my apologies and do hope you return soon.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A good place for a get away. The location of the hotel is very good, right on the beach and a five minute drive from the shopping and business area. Beach view was really good but the bathrooms need some serious upgrades. Corrosion on taps and our room had a bath with large cracks in it which, If you wanted to take a bath, could definitely deter you. This was the major down side.

Room Tip: Room with beach view was great, location of hotel was great as well. The rooms definitely need some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
I want to thank you for staying with us at the Sandcastle Resort on Lido Beach. I apologize for the condition of the bathroom and have forwarded your comments to the Maintenance and Housekeeping departments so they may address the issues.

Thank you for the business, and hope to have you visit us again.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Myself and 3 girlfriends went first weekend of June 2014. The rooms were clean and spacious but very outdated. We had a plastic/leather couch in ours. But most disappointing were the bathrooms lots of mold in the grout and missing ceiling tiles, etc. Staff at the tiki bar was outstanding. The cleaning crew was a bit slow on cleaning rooms and responding to requests. Not much security surrounding the resort minimal lighting and night and all the restaurants and bars close at 11 pm. You have to go downtown Sarasota to do anything after 11 pm. But we were right on the beach and it was gorgeous and we had a great time. But if you're looking for great accomodations don't stay here!

Room Tip: ask for a beach view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for visiting the Sandcastle Resort. I apologize for the condition of the bathroom and the lack of a quick response to requests from the Housekeeping staff. These issues have been forwarded to the Housekeeping manager to address.

Our lighting, especially on the beach side of the property, is kept low during turtle nesting season, May through October.

We thank you for the business and again apologize for our shortcomings. We do hope you visit us again.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Just leaving after our fourth stay. My wife loves the access to the beach.
Rooms are clean and comfortable although somewhat dated and the amenities are good.
The lack of adequate coffee making facilities with only 3 bags per room and one small bottle of water to share personify a mean spirit that pervades this years experience.
Staff perform adequately but overall our opinion of the resort has fallen and it's unlikely that we shall visit a fifth time.
Somewhat overpriced.
We limited our use of the lacklustre bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here at the Sandcastle Resort. I am sorry to read that you were unhappy with parts of your stay. Our goal is make your stay a positive and enjoyable experience.

I do hope you will consider a return visit to the resort. If I can be of any assistance, please let me know.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The beach access was great, impossible to be any better. But the following items are factual and disappointing when we visited in June 2014: 1. ants in our room, they wasted no time getting into our bags. 2. The chain style lock on our door was missing and I put a chair in front of the door at night for the extra security. 3. Stains on the carpet left me feeling that the room wasn't as clean as I would like. 4. The bathroom was tiny and way to small for my wife and I to bathe our small children.


Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
I apologize for the issues you had while staying at the resort. We take your comments seriously, and they are addressed by the respective departments. The associates of the resort do want all our guests to have a great experience while staying with us.

Thank you for the business and again I do apologize.


Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Was there with another couple for their wedding.Beach front room was not what we expected. There was a huge mound of sand when you looked out the window. Most staff was friendly. An employee by the name of Brad was exceptionally nice. He was very friendly and even was kind enough to have champagne sent to the bride and grooms room after finding out they were getting married. Tiki bar drink prices were outrageous for not getting any alcohol in the drinks. Strawberry daiquiris were nothing but strawberry. The other couples room had water coming in their room after it had rained. Hairdryers need to be better. Sinks didn't hold water. Restaurant menu needs more options. Four of us ordered dinner and only one order was correct. Room service breakfast was very good. Overall, would go back. Just needs a few updates and easy fixes made.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for the comments regarding your stay at the Sandcastle Resort. I do apologize for the water entering the rooms, hairdryer and incorrect items in the restaurant. I have forwarded these issues to the respective departments to address.

Again, thank you for the business and we do hope you visit the resort again.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.