We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful first stay at the Sandcastle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach to your Saves list
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful first stay at the Sandcastle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My wife and I were celebrating her special birthday in Florida this week and we booked the Sandcastle based on reading many reviews on Tripadvisor. We were there on the nights of May 28 and 29th. We loved the place! It was everything that we imagined and more. Check in was quick,smooth,and professional. Some went out of their way to gather information for us to go to the Ringling Museum and aquarium.It was greatly appreciated. This resort is just great. The room we had was so close to the water.I think it was 129. We were just steps away and what a beautiful beach it was.The pools looked great, but we spent our short time on the beach. While everyone we had contact with from the front desk, to housekeeping, to the nice man at the bar was wonderful. I wanted to pay particular attention to Judy in our breakfast room. She is just one of the nicest people one could ever meet. She went out of her way for everything we asked for. The others in the breakfast area were very personable and friendly too.As a side note, the other hotels we stayed at did not have bacon, so when we saw all the bacon, our eyes lit up and it was great tasting along with the scrambled eggs and other items at the buffett.

To sum up. Our stay was great! and we will come back to the Sandcastle again.
Great job from top to bottom for all who work at the Sandcastle

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Sandcastle Resort. We are pleased that you had what sounds like a great stay here at the resort. Your comments will be passed along to our associates, as they like to know how our guests perceive us.

Again, thank you for staying and hope to see you again at the Sandcastle.


Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    343
    178
    63
    41
See reviews for
248
323
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liphook, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had a 5 night stay at the resort. It is in need of some modernisation but that said it has a quaint atmosphere with a wonderful location on the beach. The rooms were comfortable and had ample facilities. The service was for the most part friendly and helpful without being over the top. We did not sample the restaurant other than breakfast but that was good enough although we did have some problems getting the attention of the staff on occasions. Would we stay again...a definite possibility mainly because of the beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
We appreciate the comments regarding your stay here at the Sandcastle Resort. Sorry to hear that you had challenges getting the attention of our associates. We will take your comments and work on improving this matter.

Thank you for staying with us and please consider returning to the Sandcastle on your next return to the area.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the last fifteen years. It is a lovely hotel right on the beach and we find it so relaxing and peaceful. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Missy at the pool bar made us laugh at her stories and would like to mention Rachael in the restaurant bar who looked after us and makes a great Key Lime Martini.
The only negative point was the $25 per day resort fee they tried to charge us even though we were Virgin clients.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here at the Sandcastle Resort. I will pass along to Rachel and Missy your kind words.

We do hope you will return to Lido Key and the Sandcastle Resort.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

A friend and I found the Sandcastle online (thank you, Trip Advisor!) and booked a room with two double beds gulf-side for Memorial weekend. It is an older hotel, but kept very clean with excellent service and staff. Newer tiled showers and double sinks, a nice bonus. As others have written, they have friendly beach staff that set up umbrellas (part of the resort fee you pay) that were very appreciated. The umbrellas will keep you cooler than direct sun and you can stay out on the beach longer. The beach staff works hard to keep people accommodated. *Tip - get down to beach by 930 (on weekends) to grab umbrella or they run out and you have to wait until someone leaves. There are plenty of chairs/loungers. Wonderful pool with tempered water and plenty of pool chairs. It was nice to take a break from the beach and hit the pool. The beach is pristine and clean with silky white sand and gorgeous aqua gulf water... doesn't get much better. Be sure and catch a sunset while on the beach, it's worth every minute. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Sandcastle Resort, while visiting Lido Key. We appreciate the comments and have passed them along to the Pool & Beach staff.

We thank you for the business and do hope to see you again.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

A group of 12 male golfers stayed at this gem of a hotel 15th-21st may,we used the hotel as abase for a weeks golfing in the area,if you are going to stay there a must is to have a beach front room with it comes a view to die for,a fantastic beach and the best sunsets your ever likely too see,we even saw dolphins close by on a couple of occasions,The rooms were very good two comfortable double beds flat screen tv coffee, fridge ironing facilities and the view.
The pool was like a warm bath a bar was on site missy is very good and pleasant doing her job.
we had breakfast every morning which was very good and well worth it
Overall i would recommend this hotel and we are even talking about a return visit next year

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Sandcastle Resort during your week of golf in the area. I will pass along your comments to the various departments within the hotel, so they may see how your experience was during your stay.

Please let me know if there is anything I can do when it comes time to plan your next trip.


Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We had a wonderful 4 night stay and enjoyed the beach every moment we could get. Lido Beach is expansive and beautiful. The staff was friendly and accommodating. They set up the chairs and umbrellas for you, included in a $25/room/day resort fee. They have an excellent upscale restaurant, with indoor and outdoor seating. Two large pools are enclosed in a courtyard with a bar, gift shop, coin laundry. The rooms are clean, comfortable and include a nice size refrigerator for your own groceries. My only recommendation would be to replace the full size beds with queen size beds but we got by. We easily got a crib at no extra cost and usually bring our own crib sheets. When it rained, we needed a room to play cards with our visiting family and they graciously let us use the board room. And, a covered parking garage made it easy to access our 2nd floor room with heavy luggage. We have already booked our next trip here!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for the comments regarding your stay here at the Sandcastle Resort on Lido Beach. I will pass along your observations to our staff; they will appreciate the kind words.

Thank you for the business, and we hope you return to visit us here at the Sandcastle Resort.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Sandcastle Resort formally Helmsley Sandcastle is not what it used to be hidden charges ie. resort fee had to show them our Virgin booking that said no resort fee, before getting it removed also the housekeeping very sloppy with rooms not being cleaned until very late in afternoon one day we had no service in the room had to complain and wait 30 mins before towels arrived and then complain again before we got the trash removed and the rest of amenities, and still had to make own bed.

Room Tip: ask for on facing sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Sandcastle Resort. I do want to apologize for our lapse in service during your stay. Your comments will be shared with our Housekeeping staff for review and they will address the issues. This is not how we want you, nor any of our guests, to experience our property.

Again, I do apologize.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.