We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 GREAT DAYS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Save Saved
You added Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
bristol uk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“6 GREAT DAYS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

A group of 12 male golfers stayed at this gem of a hotel 15th-21st may,we used the hotel as abase for a weeks golfing in the area,if you are going to stay there a must is to have a beach front room with it comes a view to die for,a fantastic beach and the best sunsets your ever likely too see,we even saw dolphins close by on a couple of occasions,The rooms were very good two comfortable double beds flat screen tv coffee, fridge ironing facilities and the view.
The pool was like a warm bath a bar was on site missy is very good and pleasant doing her job.
we had breakfast every morning which was very good and well worth it
Overall i would recommend this hotel and we are even talking about a return visit next year

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Sandcastle Resort during your week of golf in the area. I will pass along your comments to the various departments within the hotel, so they may see how your experience was during your stay.

Please let me know if there is anything I can do when it comes time to plan your next trip.


Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    322
    170
    59
    37
See reviews for
228
296
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We had a wonderful 4 night stay and enjoyed the beach every moment we could get. Lido Beach is expansive and beautiful. The staff was friendly and accommodating. They set up the chairs and umbrellas for you, included in a $25/room/day resort fee. They have an excellent upscale restaurant, with indoor and outdoor seating. Two large pools are enclosed in a courtyard with a bar, gift shop, coin laundry. The rooms are clean, comfortable and include a nice size refrigerator for your own groceries. My only recommendation would be to replace the full size beds with queen size beds but we got by. We easily got a crib at no extra cost and usually bring our own crib sheets. When it rained, we needed a room to play cards with our visiting family and they graciously let us use the board room. And, a covered parking garage made it easy to access our 2nd floor room with heavy luggage. We have already booked our next trip here!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for the comments regarding your stay here at the Sandcastle Resort on Lido Beach. I will pass along your observations to our staff; they will appreciate the kind words.

Thank you for the business, and we hope you return to visit us here at the Sandcastle Resort.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Sandcastle Resort formally Helmsley Sandcastle is not what it used to be hidden charges ie. resort fee had to show them our Virgin booking that said no resort fee, before getting it removed also the housekeeping very sloppy with rooms not being cleaned until very late in afternoon one day we had no service in the room had to complain and wait 30 mins before towels arrived and then complain again before we got the trash removed and the rest of amenities, and still had to make own bed.

Room Tip: ask for on facing sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Sandcastle Resort. I do want to apologize for our lapse in service during your stay. Your comments will be shared with our Housekeeping staff for review and they will address the issues. This is not how we want you, nor any of our guests, to experience our property.

Again, I do apologize.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

For those interested in Old Florida, this is a great find. It is a "low rise" (four stories) Florida oceanfront resort with two fabulous pools and a 1950's feel. The rooms have all been redone and look new. Flat screen TV, fridge, hair dryer and all the things you would expect in a modern hotel. Bathrooms have been completely updated, king-sized bed with great mattress and a huge closet. There is covered parking available, and the staff could not be more professional or friendlier. I wish I could say that the restaurant was fabulous. It is ok, but not a destination for a memorable meal. This hotel is designed for folks who want to get away to enjoy a pristine beach with wonderful amenities like beach huts, beach chairs, umbrellas provided by the hotel. It is not within walking distance of any shopping, eating or nightlife. However, you can find such a short drive away. We were there as part of a class reunion. The hotel provided what had been Leona Helmsley's suite as the hospitality suite. It was a wonderful choice for such an event.

Room Tip: We shared a balcony with the room next door, so if you need more than one room, be sure to ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for visiting us here at the Sandcastle Resort. Your comments have been passed along to the different departments in the hotel; including the Chef, so he may review your thoughts regarding the restaurant.

Thank you for the business and we do hope you visit us again.


Regards,
Eddie Sipple
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The short walk to the beach a plus. Watch all the hidden fees, especially Resort Tax. New owners took over Hemsleys and raised all the prices. Other than new shower heads, no difference. They took away the Saturday night buffet and entertainment. The singer they did have quit at 7:00 p.m??? The lunch menu is good, but limited. The dinner menu served salmon and a bisquit for $24.00, no potatoes, rice, salad or vegetables. What a rip off. When it was owned by Hemsley it was quaint and affordable. There is nothing extra for the 50% increase. For the same price you can stay at a new resort on Long Boat Key.

Room Tip: Choose Gulf view, it is very close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for the comments on your stay with us at the Sandcastle Resort. I apologize for the disappointment in your salmon dinner and have shared your comments with our Chef regarding your meal and food selections.

The music on the pool deck does end around sundown, but there is music which begins in the lounge at 7:00 pm on Friday & Saturday nights.

Again, my apologies, and I do hope you return to Lido Key and the Sandcastle.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Location is perfect, the service is nice, but rooms need a little updated, too old, the food at the restaurant is just average; friendly people work there, we will be back.....the gift shop has nice stuff

Room Tip: Frontbeach view rooms are the best......and higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for the comments regarding your stay at the Sandcastle Resort. I have passed along your thoughts regarding the food in the restaurant to our Chef. We review all comments with our staff so we may improve as we go forward.

Thank you for the business and we do hope you visit us again.

Regards,
Eddie Sipple
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

At Sandcastle Resort you are right on the beach, few feet away from the waves. The staff is friendly and tries to accommodate to your needs, but at times we were surprised that they were out of stock on simple things like, Sprite, Yogurt during breakfast, or the coloring menus for kids without crayons. The rooms are very old, like being stuck in the 70's, but the convenience of being on the beach is what you are probably paying for.

Overall if you are expecting a 5 start resort experience and room services, this is not the place. For convenience of being on the beach and having a bed to crash on when the kids are tired, it's an OK place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Sandcastle. I do apologize for the lapse in our service and have passed along your comments to our team. We do address all comments, as we continually work to improve the guest experience.

Again, thank you for staying with us, and we hope you visit us again.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.