We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Torn.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach to your Saves list
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Torn.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Although The Hotel Was Very Nice, It Was Dated. The Location Was Great And The Pool Was perfectly Heated.I'm Just Not Used To Spending $300 A Night And Not Being Blown Away By The Place.I Would consider Staying here Again for About Half That.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    335
    177
    63
    41
See reviews for
246
320
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Pictures online were much nicer than actual room. Clean but outdated rooms, slightly musty smell, very small bathroom and shower, worn carpet. Great advantage was our room was only steps away from private very nice beach with shells! Management didn't unlock lounge chairs the entire week we were there. So we walked the beach. Pool was nice and quite large. Didn't eat at hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Second time at the Helmsley Sandcastle in last few years. We love the location and find this is an affordable way to share this most beautiful location with the millionaires (you are near neighbours with the Ritz Carlton). We recommend a gulf view room (the balcony and view IS worth the extra money) and find the rooms comfortable and nicely serviced daily. Bathrooms are due a bit of an update though. Most of the staff were recognisable from our last visit but many of them come across as tired and jaded and seem incapable of providing a cordial greeting or a smile (which after all, costs nothing). Others though are delightful (Shelley in reception for one) so it's a mixed bag. The nearby Ted Sperling Park is worth a morning walk or two - you will spot mullet leaping in the bayou and maybe an inquisitive racoon or two. Dolphins will be seen daily swimming off the beach. Pool is pleasantly warm but could be cleaner and has no true shallow end for little ones (so bring or buy some armbands - on site shop is well equipped with this sort of thing - decent prices too). All in all we really like it but there are areas for improvement.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

For the price of this room, the management should be ashamed! One row of rooms which has a barely a shaft of light to walk you to the entrances really should be deleted from their guest room inventory. One of these was ours! They were tucked up against the parking garage. The darkness of the room was only good for one thing and that was so you couldn't see how incredibly filthy the carpet was. We asked for a room change and the clerk looked at us with plenty of sympathy, but had no rooms to switch. Perhaps, if we'd had a room with a view of the pool or ocean we could overlooked how dated this property was. When I got up early to get out of the rat hole and go look at the beautiful ocean one morning...one had to pass by the vending machines to where someone had gotten sick on the tile floor breezeway. You get the picture.
Only Guantanamo Could Make This Room Look Good!

Room Tip: Insist on a room facing pool or beach if you must stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton Lake, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Love this place. We have stayed here twice. Originally put in a gulf view room, with no view. We were moved to another room as soon as I asked. Very helpful staff, beautiful private beachfront view and 2 outdoor heated pools. Not crazy crowded like the nearby Siesta Beach. A little pricy, but well worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel was old and worn. Our room was pretty disappointing for the money. All the metal in the room was showing rust streaks ... the wallpaper was peeling ... and my kids could not turn on either the sink or the tub without help because the cheap fixtures were stuck.

I guess the Helmsley stays in business because of the lack of beachfront hotel competition in the Lido area.

There was also something up with the pool chemicals because after playing with the kids for a couple of hours; my eyes burned for the next ~4 hours.

It wasn't terrible but for the price; I would look harder next time for other options.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Check in was fine especially considering that we had phoned up to arrive a day early. Everything was ready for us. The room blocks reminded us very much of a typical motel. Outside door was secure but was on the road side of the building, let in light and looked as though it had been forced at some time or other. Very unprepossessing first impression. Inside the room was large with 2 queen beds, balcony and wardrobe area containing the safe and a fridge. The bathroom was rather peculiar having one sink open to the room and one in the bathroom itself. Ambience not improved by the rough plastering on the walls and ceiling.
Two pools and beach ideal for families. Breakfast and lunch in the Coffee Shop were very good and reasonably priced. But beware the Candle Light Restauant next door ... see separate review.
(The hotel does run a free taxi service into the Circle where lots of restuarants are available - great idea.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.