We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach, beach, beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Save Saved
You added Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Elvis, OH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beach, beach, beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect as the hotel is described as "dated" but it was great! Pools were nice. Beach location couldn't be better! It was great to lay in bed and listen to the waves! Not your typical chain hotel but well worth it. It is my favorite place to stay near Sarasota! We had an upgrade to a Beach side room and that made the stay even better.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    318
    175
    63
    40
See reviews for
241
304
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

OK, this hotel is a little outdated maybe, but hey, staff is so overwhelmly friendly and the beach is at your feet, so... unless you're a snobbish person that cares more for design than for friendliness and more for luxury than for the most beautiful sunset over the Mexican Gulf, just enjoy Florida at its best here. The pool bar is the nicest gathering place with Kelly as the perfect bartender (really!), Missy is there to make best of your late evening drinks, and whether it is breakfast, front desk, beach, cleaning of security personnel, once you stay longer than a couple of days, they become your family. I would without doubt come back to the Helmsley Sandcastle next time.

Room Tip: Without doubt, go for the beach sided rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We requested a room specifically with a beach front (gulf front) location with a balcony, because we had just finished with a business function in Orlando and wanted to be able to relax and decompress. The "balcony" is a 3 foot depth shared space and 2 plastic chairs with no privacy or separation from rooms on either side of us. The view, if you are seated, is blocked by concrete railing. We were at the mercy of neighboring guests and their cell phone conversations, cigarettes, talking, and eyes. Not quite what we had in mind. The description of the room accoutrements were inaccurate by ommission of this information. I agree this hotel is old, but in fairly good shape and priced well. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I just love this old hotel for its history and it brings old Florida taste back to vacations. I stayed here many times but this is my first review. If I had any complaints it would be why can't I buy this hotel? Lol... Its olf Florida flavor is very eveident in the rooms and hopefully when they update they will consider this. There going to have to upgrade soon or lose some business because of the competition in the area.

The beach is theHotels true asset and its on a prime piece of realestate. The pools are nice but could use some refreshing in those areas. I hope to come back next Winter and hope to see some new improvements.

Room Tip: pools-side is loud in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berwick
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

A wonderful view with a great room. This hotel is showing a little wear but the service and rooms are great. The food is exceptional and room service is everything you expect in a fine hotel. The cost is very reasonable for both the hotel and the restaurant. The location is a little hard to get to and a GPS came in handy as it was our first time to the Gulf Coast. Laundry is located not far from the pool and beach and as we were touring by car laundry facilities were a bonus. This hotel is located on the Lido Key which is lush and beautiful. I highly recommend this hotel as a quiet, relaxing spot on a beautiful beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012 via mobile

Iv stayed here twice now and it's lovely I had a gulf view room my last visit which was amazing hotel is very clean no complaint from me il me back In October :)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lafayette, ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Great hotel - dated but full of charm. Located on Lido beach on a quiet peaceful stretch of beach great for running, walking and shell collecting. The pools are wonderful for kids and adults alike. A mile down the road is the best shopping in Sarasota. Perfect hotel - perfect location.

Room Tip: Enjoy the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.