We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach and restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach to your Saves list
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice beach and restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The rooms are quite dated, but in a decent state of repair. As one would expect, it was loud outside around the pool at midnight, but security quickly intervened and sent the bellowers on their way. Service at the beach was good, and it was a great day for sun and sand. The highlight of the stay was the full service restaurant. The wait staff was professional, and all of the food was excellent. Of course, the lobby staff was typical Helmsley, top shelf. Would I stay again....yes, and very soon, probably spend the entire week this time. Lido Beach is a great area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    383
    200
    73
    46
See reviews for
281
364
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for the first week of our two week vacation (we spent our second week at the Hilton at Longboat Key) the hotel is dated, however the room was adequate, it was clean, had a tv, fridge, safe, coffee maker, the style of the bed covers was a bit 1980's but on the plus side the hotel is located right on the beautiful White sandy beach. On an evening their restaurant is good if you want to stay in, alternatively the hotel is in walking distance to St Armand's Circle (20 min walk) or you can arrange for the hotels courtisy limo to take you to a restaurant etc on St Armand's Circle and collect you later in the evening. I would say to sum it up this hotel is not the best, but for what you pay you will be happy. If you want a luxury hotel then don't stay here, but if you want a nice place to stay without all of the frills then this is the hotel for you. Our second week at the Hilton was nicer, but we paid more for that
hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

This hotel had been suggested by a relative living in Sarasota Florida. I had requested a gulf view room and was estatic with it. The only negative, and not the hotel's fault, was the hot and humid weather. Beautiful photos from balcony. The hoyel clerks I dealt with were very cooperative and friendly. Love that fish tank in the lobby. Once again, this was a great vacation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed here for one night as part of our 2 week Florida flydrive holiday. The hotel is right at the top of the beach and quite a drive from Sarasota itself so we didn't bother having a look around the city. The location is amazing though - on an perfect beach with lovely calm warm sea to swim in. it is also quite peaceful as it is the last hotel along the beach.
Our room was fine and clean - not that dated as others suggest! Our only disappointment was the evening meal in the restaurant. Considering it wasn't the cheapest meal the food we ate was of an awful standard! Maybe we were just unlucky but I even had to leave most of mine which is unheard of! Although we were amused by Diego Maradona's doppelganger as one of the waiters!
Location of this hotel on the beach is unrivalled!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

An older property, the Helmsley has been well maintained and is extremely clean. The location can't be beat on Lido Kay with beach right up to the building. Beach chairs are provided, although umbrellas must be rented. The hotel does not engage in the despicable practice of adding a "resort fee" that many beach front hotels add to your bill. The price qouted up front is what you pay. Even the restaurant is decent and not overly pricey.

Room Tip: Make sure your room does not face the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

When we arrived at the Sandcastle the reception area was fairly nice, airy and clean. The staff on the front desk were very friendly and helpful. There was a bit of a mix up with the booking as we had only been allocated one room when we’d booked two. There was no issue with this and the staff quickly rectified the problem and put us in rooms that were next to one another (without me even having to request it). The guy on reception then explained that the other couple in our party would have to take their luggage through our room, out the rear door to gain access to their room, which I thought was a little strange.

The rooms were next to a narrow walkway which seemed to be where the cleaning staff kept their equipment, and sure enough there was no door to the other room from the car park :o). The rooms, although dated, had everything we needed (as we were only staying for two nights). There was a full size fridge, a safe (although this was key operated which you were scared of losing) and hair dryer etc. The beds were like concrete though, but I think this is the luck of the draw as the beds in the other room were much better.

The sandcastle is a very dated hotel, to put it mildly. As I lay by the not so clean pool, on the very tired sun loungers, which are made from a kind of stretched rubber slats, I looked around and it reminded me of a 1960 Butlins in it’s appearance. Someone in my party commented that it was like a scene from the film cocoon. I think that pretty much summed it up. The guests were mainly in their latter years (which we didn’t have an issue with), but it did feel a little bit at times like we shouldn’t have been there.

We only had one lunchtime snack at the hotel bar, steak sandwich and chips, and I must say it was pretty good. Also there was complimentary snacks on the afternoon, such as potato skins, which was a nice touch. Watch out for the seagulls though.

We had two evening meals at a really nice hotel down Ben Franklin Drive at the Lido Beach Grill (Lido Beach Hotel). It’s on the 8th floor with fantastic views out to sea. It’s a great place to go to watch the most amazing sunsets. The food is fantastic and there is also a really nice bar. To be honest we all wish we would have stayed there instead.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Gratiot, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My husband and I have been going to the Helmsley Sandcastle for over 30 years. We took our children there and continue to go as a couple every spring and any other time we want a warm romantic get away. Yes, the place is old but it is clean, the beach is beautiful, the staff are great and we definately feel at home. I would rather have old than be in a high rise. The grounds are really nice , the food is reasonable and good, the pools are great. We love the place. They have made many changes over the years but the buildings are old and it is hard to make them look like new but they are clean and well maintained. Most of the customers are return customers who have been going there for many years.

Room Tip: Gulf front rooms are the best, The newest are the suites above the office, they are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.