We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location excellent; staff great; room fine, but why do they allow smoking on the balconies?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“location excellent; staff great; room fine, but why do they allow smoking on the balconies?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This was our third or fourth visit to this hotel. we like the location - just across the street from Lido Beach. The staff is fine. Armand Circle, with restaurants and shops, is an easy walk from the hotel. Parking is ample. If you can face the beach, it is a great view. We enjoyed watching the nesting birds and sunsets.
My only complaint is that the hotel allows guests to smoke on their balconies. Yes, the balcony is "outside" the hotel, but the smoke wafting from the neighbors cigarettes and cigars made me leave my balcony and close the sliding glass door. Luckily I could view the birds from he seventh floor dining room window (and in person on the beach, but did not wish to get close enough to disturb them) and could walk to the beach for the sunset.

On another visit we had the balcony with the view of the town (not the beach); the rooms seem to be all the same. We could hear the couple in the next room arguing when we stood by the adjoining door, but they were screaming quite loudly ("at the top of their lungs"); we could not hear them or the people on the other side at any other time during our visit. so the rooms are reasonably sound-proof. The room is fine, for a beach hotel.

We like this hotel and will continue to return when we visit the west coast of Florida.

Room Tip: try to get a view of Gulf of Mexico, but city view rooms are ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
We are very happy that you continue to visit our hotel when visiting the west coast of Florida. We are working to limit smoking in and around our property, and look to have something finalized in the near future. Even if we could limit to specific floors, we could ensure the comfort of all our guests. We do look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    276
    134
    59
    29
See reviews for
182
283
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

What a wonderful location. Front desk staff was excellent. The hotel is under renovation but you would not even know it. The room view is excellent, overlooking the beach and the room was perfect with 2 beds. I can wait to return. Keep up the good work.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Wow! Thank you. We really like to know when we get it right for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklinton, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The room was nice and we had a great ocean view. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great location to the beach and restaurants/ shopping in walking distance. I guess the only downfall was breakfast was not included in the price of the room. It was available but seemed a little expensive for what you could get.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit. On your next visit, look for rates that include breakfast - they are a great value. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Great location. A short walk across the street to the beach, and you can walk into town and leave the car. Quiet in the evenings. Not very crowded beach either. Pleasant staff. Didn't use the pool, but looked nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you - we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your getaway with us. We are great escape from reality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed for one night in this hotel (family with 2 small children)
It is in a nice area - right across from the beach with a great view from the dining room on the 7th floor.
We arrived at around 2am and the late night check in person was very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was fine - but it is off putting to be served coffee from badly stained pots.
Basically the pots are like the rest of the hotel - it needs a good cleaning!
We checked out after breakfast and found somewhere else to stay.
This hotel really needs work ASAP

Room Tip: Gulf facing probably have great views - but is it worth the dirty hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your compliments of our location and staff. We regret that the cleanliness in our dining room was not up to standard. We have very high expectations for cleanliness, and will address accordingly. Our property is currently slated for a full renovation, and we look forward to great results. We do hope you will consider a return visit when we are completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I had a reservation at a different hotel but after reading horrible reviews I cancelled it and thought I would try Holiday Inn. I am sure glad I did.The hotel is right across the street from the beach and from our 5th floor balcony we had an amazing view. My son and I were able to see dolphins swimming on the calm days from our balcony and one day a manatee was swimming by shore which was amazing to see. We did get to see sea turtles and lots of birds as well. The Swimming pool was a nice size and Debbie was our bartender and she sure was pleasant and a hard worker. Food was good, price not too bad considering its a hotel. Our room didnt have a microwave like the hotel details said but the updated room was nice. We also enjoyed the short walk to St Armand circle. I walked the beach everyday and watched the beautiful sunsets from the hotel. This is a place that I will have me coming back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Wonderful! We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your visit with us. Lido Key is certainly a special place, and it sounds like you and your family got to see some truly beautiful sites while with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Each year this hotel gets better! Nicer rooms better value and always great views. The best value hotel on lido key always friendly and great security who could ask for more. Will continue to go back.

Room Tip: West facing rooms have a gulf view the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for appreciating our changes. We are working hard to make this hotel as unique as our location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Address: 233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a barrier island, off the coast of Sarasota, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach is just steps from the powder white sand of Lido Beach and only two blocks from over 140 upscale restaurants, shops and galleries on St. Armands Circle. Featuring a sophisticated, yet 'Florida Casual' decor, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach combines the relaxed atmosphere of a beach resort with the amenities and services of a full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Lido Beach
Sarasota Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.