We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
1 review
“Great location!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I had a reservation at a different hotel but after reading horrible reviews I cancelled it and thought I would try Holiday Inn. I am sure glad I did.The hotel is right across the street from the beach and from our 5th floor balcony we had an amazing view. My son and I were able to see dolphins swimming on the calm days from our balcony and one day a manatee was swimming by shore which was amazing to see. We did get to see sea turtles and lots of birds as well. The Swimming pool was a nice size and Debbie was our bartender and she sure was pleasant and a hard worker. Food was good, price not too bad considering its a hotel. Our room didnt have a microwave like the hotel details said but the updated room was nice. We also enjoyed the short walk to St Armand circle. I walked the beach everyday and watched the beautiful sunsets from the hotel. This is a place that I will have me coming back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Wonderful! We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your visit with us. Lido Key is certainly a special place, and it sounds like you and your family got to see some truly beautiful sites while with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    276
    129
    58
    28
See reviews for
180
275
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Each year this hotel gets better! Nicer rooms better value and always great views. The best value hotel on lido key always friendly and great security who could ask for more. Will continue to go back.

Room Tip: West facing rooms have a gulf view the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for appreciating our changes. We are working hard to make this hotel as unique as our location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Lets start with pros first.
-Excellent location: The hotel is on the beach with easy access and amazing views. It is an easy walk to restaurants and shopping. The beach is beautiful and clean.
-Food: The restaurants were delicious and reasonable priced for a hotel
-Service: Everyone we encountered was polite and helpful!

The one big con:
-It is old. Our bathroom had what looked like black mold on the ceiling and a drooping ceiling from a water leak. The table on the back patio had cracked glass and there were cigarette butts piled in a corner. The curtains were dingy and barely closed. If we weren't simply staying one night, we would have requested another room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We have a special location and a great team working to keep our guests happy. We will revisit our cleaning standards, as the balcony of the guest room is just as important as any other part of the guest room. We are also in process now of updating our hotel, especially the dated appearance of our guest room bathrooms. We know you will see a difference on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Excellent location, immediately opposite the superb beach and 5 minutes walk from the restaurants and shops at St Armand's Circle, with great staff but in need of a serious update and renovation.

It does look like renovations will start soon, but no plans were on view so not possible to guess how the hotel will look when completed.

Room Tip: Beach views are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We appreciate your kind comments and know that we are working to improve our hotel -
We hope to share something very special very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Just like all the other reviews I'll say, yes its old. But for the price you cant get a better location on the beach. Its in a quiet area but right around the corner from shopping and restaurants. The beach is right across the street and beautiful. The front desk was great and granted us a late check out so we could enjoy another morning on the beach. If you want the Ritz, this isnt for you but it is a great value for a beachfront hotel.

Room Tip: pay the extra for the oceanview. The sunsets are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments. We strive to offer the best value on Lido Key. We are currently under renovation , but we hope to see you in the future so show you the finished product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed one night this week. This hotel is DIRTY. The staff was very nice but the hotel is just old and dirty. There were signs asking for patience while they renovate. I didn't see any sign that anything had been renovated. This hotel was recommended by a co worker. She would never steer me wrong so I assume that some of the hotel actually has been renovated and that is where she stayed.

We ate dinner on the 7th floor right when we arrived. Allan was our waiter. He was great and 4 out of the 6 of us really liked the food. The other 2 just thought it was just OK. Had we spent more time at the hotel before dinner we probably would have gone elsewhere. View from gulf side of hotel and restaurant is fantastic.

The location is great, but the photos make it appear if it is right on the beach. A divided 4 lane road runs between the beach and the hotel. Not a deal killer as it is not a busy road, just felt the pictures were misleading

The beach is fantastic, clear water, white powdery sand. Best part of the visit for sure. The only way I would even consider staying here again is if the entire property was completely renovated.

Room Tip: Gulf side worth the small premium. Parking was free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Our renovation is on the way, and will share your comments with the staff. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucker, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My sister, nephew and I stayed from July 20-28 and had a wonderful time. We were on the 4th floor and had a magnificent view of the Gulf of Mexico. The employees were helpful and polite. The hotel room was clean and we have no complaints. It is an older hotel, but for us the bathroom was fine, the beds were comfortable and we really enjoyed the balcony. The only thing I would say the room lacked is a microwave. There was a small fridge, but we were unable to heat up leftovers from restaurants. With a small child this would be helpful. There was plenty of parking. There is a restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and also a bar. We had breakfast several times, dinner once, and lunch once. The view from the restaurant on the 7th floor is awesome. The food is pretty good too. We really enjoyed the pizza we had delivered to our room. I think it is made in the hotel. The hotel pool is large and has a very nice seating area with a bar. Towels are also provided. Of course, the beach is the main attraction and it is beautiful. When we were there some birds were nesting right on the beach. They had the small area taped off, but everyone could see the mature birds and the babies running around. We did get a glimpse of a manatee in the water one day and we found a shell with an octopus in it. We put it back in the water with it's shell after looking at it for a few minutes, but my 6 year old nephew was quite intrigued by it. Hunting shells is fun at this beach and the water was quite calm while we were there. There is a man renting umbrellas and chairs, but a lot of people seemed to be bringing their own stuff too. Another great aspect of this hotel is that it is just around the corner from the shops and restaurants in St. Armand's circle. You don't need to drive at all. Do take a day off from the beach and take a short drive to visit the Mote Aquarium. It was well worth it, especially if you have kids with you. Overall I would recommend this hotel and I would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: I think the ocean view is probably the best, but the view from the other side faces the city area an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Wow- we really appreciate your five stars! Glad the entire family enjoyed their week long visit with us. We regret that you did not find a microwave in your room. We do have them available upon request, and would have gladly placed in your rooms. (No charge). We must not have communicated that very well to you. We work hard to make our hotel a special place for families, and are pleased you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Address: 233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a barrier island, off the coast of Sarasota, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach is just steps from the powder white sand of Lido Beach and only two blocks from over 140 upscale restaurants, shops and galleries on St. Armands Circle. Featuring a sophisticated, yet 'Florida Casual' decor, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach combines the relaxed atmosphere of a beach resort with the amenities and services of a full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Lido Beach
Sarasota Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.