We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

While the hotel is in need of some updates (it's currently going through a renovation) and the decor was odd, the location can't be beat and the staff was great. Right across the street from the beach and a short walk to St. Armand's Circle. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Our room was sufficient, ac was great but it could have used a more thorough cleaning between guests. The beach is beautiful. The hotel is close to the public beach so it was crowded on the weekend. We would definitely consider returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views of the canal behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your praise of our special location and special team as you experienced during your July 2014 visit to our hotel. We are working hard to improve our hotel, especially our guest rooms and guest bathrooms. We look forward to sharing our new look in 2015
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    270
    128
    57
    28
See reviews for
179
269
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Very basic hotel in terms of amenities. Our A/C was ancient and couldn't be switched off, as the net curtain hung over the blower it flew all night like a ghost. Breakfast was poor quality but staff were very nice and helpful.
Tremendous location.
Except for the location, it is a forty Dollar per room hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks as to our wonderful location and team. We are commencing work to improve our guest rooms and guest room bathrooms. We look forward to showing off our new "face" in 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit to this hotel and we will be back.
It seems to be slowly going through some renovations but the rooms are still comfortable and it's a small price to pay for fab beach views and the location.
The beach is a stones throw away and the local bars and restaurants are all in stumbling distance.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments - we know there is work to be done to make our hotel facilities as special and unique as our location. We are taking those steps, and hope to reveal our new style by the end of the year -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is basic, but it is in excellent location , Lido Beach is amazing beach and have a lot good restaurants close!
It is a comfortable place to stay and the pool is very warm and so is the ocean.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your comment - we recognize that we need to move on from basic and become extraordinary! We are working to improve and look forward to great changes to come. We can't wait to show you our new style!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Pros: rooms look out onto Lido Beach and the Gulf; rooms are clean- new rugs; furniture is new; bathrooms are under construction and the hotel is getting a necessary face lift inside; pool is clean and well maintained. Pat at desk and staff are excellent- that is why I gave it a Very Good.
Cons- current baths are in need of face lift, elevator floors and rugs need to be cleaned, covered or replaced. Hallway rugs need to be better cleaned. Bar is getting a face lift soon in lobby.

Rooms are adequate - not any extras, but you are not paying an arm and a leg for rooms that have priceless views. View from restaurant is nice, food is ok.

If your looking for reasonable,price,,walking distance to shops and across from beach- good value. If your looking for high priced resort- not the place.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for the compliments of our very special location. We have one of the best on Lido Key. We have started work to improve our guest rooms and public areas, and look forward to showing off our new style by the end of the year. We welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I made a quick trip to visit some friends and we all stayed at this hotel. Our room had been remodeled but the bathroom was still outdated. The room was clean. There was no water in the vending machine on our floor for 2 days either. It is in a great location. You can walk to St. Armand's Circle which is nice and the beach across street is beautiful. Price was good with my AAA discount.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
We appreciate your feedback, and praise of our wonderful location. Our hotel is kept very clean, as we know that is of great importance to all our guests. We are working to become less basic, and have a property as special as our location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Second time here at the Holiday Inn Lido Beach with my family. We love this place! Check in was a breeze. Thank you Paul, great job! Major improvement to the rooms and restaurant. Highly satisfied with the upgrades made to the rooms. Spectacular view of the beach, ocean and sunset. The Sand Dollar Restaurant looks Great! Good food and Great service by Idella, thank you. Overall HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We love that you love us! Paul and Idella are exceptional service team members, and we will share your kind words with them. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Address: 233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a barrier island, off the coast of Sarasota, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach is just steps from the powder white sand of Lido Beach and only two blocks from over 140 upscale restaurants, shops and galleries on St. Armands Circle. Featuring a sophisticated, yet 'Florida Casual' decor, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach combines the relaxed atmosphere of a beach resort with the amenities and services of a full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Lido Beach
Sarasota Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.